Наслаждайтесь миллионами электронных книг, аудиокниг, журналов и других видов контента в бесплатной пробной версии

Только $11.99 в месяц после пробной версии. Можно отменить в любое время.

Time Bomb
Time Bomb
Time Bomb
Аудиокнига7 часов

Time Bomb

Написано Joelle Charbonneau

Озвучено Nina Alvamar

Рейтинг: 3.5 из 5 звезд

3.5/5

()

Об этой аудиокниге

Seven students trapped in their school after a bomb goes off must fight to survive while also discovering who among them is the bomber in this provocative new thriller from the author of the New York Times best-selling Testing Trilogy. Perfect for fans of This Is Where It Ends.

A congressman's daughter who has to be perfect. A star quarterback with a secret. A guy who's tired of being ignored. A clarinet player who's done trying to fit in. An orphaned rebel who wants to teach someone a lesson. A guy who wants people to see him, not his religion.

They couldn't be more different, but before the morning's over, they'll all be trapped in a school that's been rocked by a bombing. When they hear that someone inside is the bomber, they'll also be looking to one another for answers.

Told from multiple perspectives, Time Bomb will keep listeners guessing about who the bomber could be—and what motivated such drastic action.

ЯзыкEnglish
ИздательRecorded Books Audio
Дата выпуска13 мар. 2018 г.
ISBN9781501994579
Автор

Joelle Charbonneau

Joelle Charbonneau has performed in opera and musical-theater productions across Chicagoland. She is the author of the New York Times and USA Today bestselling Testing trilogy and the bestselling Dividing Eden series, as well as two adult mystery series and several other books for young adult readers. Her YA books have appeared on the Indie Next List, YALSA’s Top Ten Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers, and state reading lists across the country. Joelle lives in the Chicago area with her husband and son. www.joellecharbonneau.com

Еще аудиокниги Joelle Charbonneau

Связано с Time Bomb

Похожие аудиокниги

Похожие статьи

Отзывы о Time Bomb

Рейтинг: 3.4727272727272727 из 5 звезд
3.5/5

55 оценок6 отзывов

Ваше мнение?

Нажмите, чтобы оценить

Отзыв должен содержать не менее 10 слов

  • Рейтинг: 4 из 5 звезд
    4/5
    The plot was good and definitely kept me guessing. I'd recommend this to anyone who likes a good dark and twisty book. Important to note that this book does have mention of suicide and I would not recommend it for people who have personally experienced a school bombing or bomb threat.
  • Рейтинг: 3 из 5 звезд
    3/5
    As school is about to begin, several students have come in early for a variety of reasons. All of them have brought a bag with them, and those bags contains the motivations behind their advance school visits. The different motives all relate to serious problems that they have had both at home and at school. While they are there, a bomb explodes. As the students come together and try to survive, fingers are pointed, questions are raised, and issues begin to boil over. Their survival will depend on whether or not they can overcome their contempt for each other and work together to survive.

    Time Bomb takes a look at what makes high school grueling for so many students. Throughout the story we try to figure out what is in each of the bags and how the items inside relate to the students. The mystery that is teased is whether or not any of the students have something to do with the bombing. The plot is very well thought out, but I found it hard to feel a connection with the characters. Overall, this is an interesting story that I would recommend for YA not middle grade due to the amount of violence and mayhem to which the students are subjected.
  • Рейтинг: 4 из 5 звезд
    4/5
    It is a week before school starts for the year. Freshman students are at the school to get identification cards. A few others are there for various reasons when the first bomb explodes. As the school starts to crumble survivors on the second and third floors are trapped and the school is on fire. Seven students manage to congregate in a classroom on the third floor awaiting rescue. We find the quarterback football star, Ms. Perfect, who is a Senator’s daughter, the tattooed bad boy who very seldom even comes to school, an overweight and bullied girl who is an outsider, another cool football player who has recently come out to his family as gay as well as being mixed race, and finallly a a Muslim boy who deals with the teasing and racial stereotypes from the students. As time progresses we meet each student and find out that they are all dealing with something. When it is made known that one of the students in the school is one of the bombers, it is hard to determine which one it is. They all have issues, they all seem to be on some kind of a mission, yet they all seem to want to get out of the school alive. The story takes place over a few hours with the point of view changing among the six characters by chapter. during a time a few students were in their school when bombs began to explode. It changes the point of view between six main characters that are each still alive and struggling with how to get out of the school. I read this book over a day as I wanted to find out which of these characters was involved in this sinister activity. With all the violence in schools today and people being urged to report behaviour that could become dangerous to others, this book shows us that is not always easy to do. A well written story that leaves you thinking. The publisher generously provided me with a copy of this book via Netgalley.
  • Рейтинг: 5 из 5 звезд
    5/5
    This realistic fiction novel is a 2019 Lone Star selection.Do you really see people? Can you look at someone and know him or her? Do our choices of dress, makeup, hair reveal our true identity? This novel is about what we see, what we want to see, what we want to ignore, what we want to judge, and what we want to pretend isn’t real. Do we face ourselves or run from ourselves and difficult situations? Do you stand for anything bigger than yourself?Cast of characters:Diana: the daughter of a United States Senator who is trying to pass School Safety legislation that is very controversial. Her father spends more time with his work than with her, not really seeing her. She knows, however, what is expected of her. Always say the right thing. Appear successful and people will assume you are successful. Rashid: a Muslim whose religion says that he can’t cut his beard, so people treat him differently. They only see a Muslim and think he’s weird. They don’t bother to talk to him. Z: his mother has just died and he’s being evicted from their apartment. People see a troubled kid and assume it’s always him when something happens. He hates school and everyone there. No one seems to like him except Kaitlin, who refuses to let him anger push her away.Tad: a good football player who has come out as gay. His parents can’t see the truth and keep thinking he’ll grow out of it. He had a brief moment with the star football player, Frankie, and is angry that he won’t return messages. Tad believes Frankie needs to acknowledge what happened.Cas: an unseen girl. No one notices her; those who do notice her, have abused her. She’s starting over at this school, but things are no different. What’s the point of fighting and trying to be a part of society when it doesn’t want you?Frankie: the football star who wants Tad to quit texting. He’s a star and Tad needs to know that the fling is over and Frankie’s not gay. He wants Tad to move on. He’s a prankster who never gets in trouble because of his athletic abilities. He sees himself as a winner. He’s not a bad guy and likes to protect people from trouble.The cast is all at school in the summer doing whatever they feel in necessary that day. A bomb explodes at 12:03 p.m. Our cast is caught in the school unable to get out. They are all in separate areas of the building. Each chapter focuses on a different character, so you get the story from all points of view. Each person finds out what it takes to survive and what it takes to help each other. As they struggle to escape, more bombs detonate keeping first responders from entering and helping. Then, they find out a second bomber is in the building. It’s one of them.This terrifying novel shows that we don’t know each other at all because we don’t see each other. We focus on ourselves and judge others. Every character feels misunderstood, unseen in his/her own way. What kind of desperation does it take to bomb a school and kill people randomly? This novel is not for everyone. It’s thought-provoking. It’s also hopeful--you see the beauty of the human spirit and humanity. It’s hard to put down.
  • Рейтинг: 3 из 5 звезд
    3/5
    Six students are trapped in their school after a bomb goes off, and must fight to survive while discovering who among them is the bomber.
  • Рейтинг: 4 из 5 звезд
    4/5
    This was an extremely fast read for me; I flew through ‘Time Bomb’ in a matter of hours, and it almost felt like I was following a similar clock to the one that was ticking away in the book. Six exceedingly different students, not unlike seen with the setup in the movie ‘The Breakfast Club’, find themselves trapped together because of the horrific circumstance of someone having set off bombs at their school (although, conveniently, school isn't quite in session yet, so there aren’t mass casualties). The wrecked and damaged school that has them stuck inside, suspicious of each other, is a reminder of all the problems that schools represent for schoolchildren today: the gun debate because of the mass shootings inside schools, bullying, kids and their constant need to live up to certain standards, whether it’s their own or others’, unchecked mental illness, prejudice of others based on appearances...and by bringing ALL of this up in the teens’ conversations and through their own perspectives, Charbonneau makes the novel about more than just the bombs going off at this high school. The different stereotypes that the kids all fit into, serve to remind us that, right up until the end, when we find out ‘whodunnit’ all these kids are essentially ticking ‘time bombs’ waiting to go off. If not then, they could at some point. I think it’s easy to focus on the event of the bombs in this book, and kind of ignore that it’s all emblematic of the tumultuouness of teenagehood. While ‘Time Bomb’ held my attention all the way through, I think this all could have been delved into in a more concrete way, because there were a lot of open doors to explore the hard issues that these teens were going through. Overall though, it’s a definite page-turner as far as the story and action go, with a surprise twist at the end.