Найдите свой следующий любимый аудиокнига

Станьте участником сегодня и слушайте бесплатно в течение 30 дней
Man of the Year:  A Novel

Man of the Year: A Novel


Man of the Year: A Novel

оценки:
4/5 (33 оценки)
Длина:
10 hours
Издатель:
Издано:
Jun 11, 2019
ISBN:
9781508292852
Формат:
Аудиокнига

Описание

Beware the man of the year. You may praise him, resent him, even want to be him: but beneath the elegant trappings that define him, danger looms. Caroline Louise Walker’s stunning debut novel, for fans of Herman Koch’s The Dinner and Shari Lapena’s The Couple Next Door, delves into the increasingly paranoid mind of a man whose life as the most upstanding of citizens hides a relentlessly dark heart.

Dr. Robert Hart, Sag Harbor’s just-named man of the year, is the envy of his friends and neighbors. His medical practice is thriving. He has a beautiful old house, a beautiful new wife, and a beautiful boat docked in the village marina. Even his wayward son, Jonah, is back on track, doing well at school, finally worthy of his father’s attentions. So when Jonah’s troubled college roommate, Nick, needs a place to stay for the summer, Hart and his wife generously offer him their guest house. A win-win: Jonah will have someone to hang with, and his father can bask in the warm glow of his own generosity.

But when he begins to notice his new houseguest getting a little too close to his wife, the good doctor’s veneer begins to crack. All the little lies Robert tells — harmless falsehoods meant to protect everything he holds dear — begin to mount. Before long, he’s embroiled in a desperate downward spiral, destroying the lives that stand in his way. It’s only the women in his life — his devoted office manager, his friends, his wife — who can clearly see the truth.

Biting and timely, Man of the Year races along at an electric pace, with a wicked twist you won’t see coming.

Издатель:
Издано:
Jun 11, 2019
ISBN:
9781508292852
Формат:
Аудиокнига

Об авторе


Связано с Man of the Year

Похоже на «Аудиокниги»

Обзоры

Что люди думают о Man of the Year

3.9
33 оценки / 8 Обзоры
Ваше мнение?
Рейтинг: 0 из 5 звезд

Отзывы читателей

  • (5/5)
    Definitely not a thriller. But so good! The writing is descriptive and the narrator is great. The book itself reads like the most delicious summer beach read, but yet has substance and gravitas.
  • (5/5)
    I thought this book was so well written, the narrators were great and even though there were a few plot twists throughout, more than a few parts made me laugh out loud. The main character is something else for sure!
  • (5/5)
    Unexpected climax and when I thought everything was revealed I was surprised more than one once! This book was a mixture of many genres. I'd say this is a kind of story which when it's told, no one really gets the point, however when you hear the whole story, it makes you think about life.
  • (5/5)
    Man Of The YearByCaroline Louise WalkerWhat it's all about...Oh my...Bobby...surgeon and man of the year...begins to have doubts about his wife’s fidelity. After all...this wouldn’t be the first time. Married for ten years to the lovely Elizabeth...an adultorous affair between the two of them is exactly how they met. But now...with his son’s handsome young friend living in his guest house...Elizabeth’s invitation by the way...he senses that something disloyal is going on in his marriage! My thoughts after reading this book...Such yummy stuff going on with Bobby. Most of the time I wanted to shake him. Is he seeing things that aren’t there? Or is there an affair going on right under his nose? He questions everything...tissues in waste cans, toilet seats left up...phone messages...are these all signs of Elizabeth’s infidelity? What I loved best...I loved the way the author profiled different characters in this book. Seeing their take on things that were happening was very interesting. Bobby falling apart? Kind of amusing...then the true hidden personas of Jonah, Bobby and Elizabeth. Does anyone know the truth about what happened and what is happening? What potential readers might want to know...Prepare to be surprised and shocked as you dive into this incredibly engrossing book! I received this book from the publisher through NetGalley. It was my choice to read and review it.
  • (3/5)
    This is a slow pacing psychological thriller. The beginning was fine if not a little jumbled but this was cleared up fairly quickly. The middle is where the "heart" of the story lays. Then there is the ending. It is where all of the secrets were revealed but it felt a bit rushed. When I read the reveal, I did have a moment of "ah ha". Ok, I did not really see that coming. Always a good result of a psychological thriller. Yet, I was a bit disappointed in the fact that Robert's reaction to Nick was more reserved. I thought for a man who seemed to have a lot going for him with a successful career and a family that he would have gone off the deep end with rage over someone honing in on his space. Despite some bumps along the way and the slow pacing, I did like this book. I would read another book from this author. Fans of these types of books may want to give this book a try.
  • (4/5)
    I'm not sure how to classify this book. There were a lot of surprise twists but I wouldn't consider it suspenseful or a thriller. It was more a family drama and a character study of some highly self absorbed people. It was interesting and very well written. The only thing I didn't care for were the few random chapters from a couple of very minor characters - I don't know that they were at all necessary and didn't really add to the story. I look forward to reading more by Caroline Louise Walker. I won an ARC of this book from Goodreads.
  • (3/5)
    I received an ARC of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This did not affect my opinion of the book or my review itself.Dr. Robert Hart seems to have the perfect life. He's even just been named Man of the Year for Sag Harbor. But when he takes in his son's best friend, Dr. Hart begins to see that there are cracks in the world he's built.This book kept me turning pages. From the start, I could tell that something big was going to happen, and Walker had me wanting to find out more.There were also some great twists near the end that really surprised me, something I always appreciate. I really like when the author makes me rethink all of what I've read in the book before.I thought it was a really clever decision to have the book interspersed with chapters from the women's points of view. This broke up what could have felt like a monologue from Dr. Hart, and provided important insight into the story.The last chapter really bugged me. I didn't feel it was necessary, and rather than adding another twist, I felt it took away from the power behind the twists that had already come-and it made things a little confusing.I also found the characters as a whole really unlikable. I think this was the point, but it stopped me from being as invested in the book as I would have liked.This was a good book with potential to be a great one. There were some choices that just didn't work for me.
  • (4/5)
    Man of the Year is Caroline Louise Walker's debut novel.Dr. Robert Hart has it all - his practice is doing well, beautiful home in Sag Harbor, a boat in the marina, a gorgeous younger wife - and he's just been named man of the year. His son Jonah was struggling but his college roomate Nick seems to have helped him find his way. So when his wife asks Nick to spend the summer with them, he can't say no. Nick can have the guest cottage of course.But how Robert envisioned the summer doesn't seem to be quite what's happening. He's sure that Nick is hitting on his wife - and that she is welcoming his advances. And so, the good doctor decides to (subtly) confirm and correct this issue. And so he lies. (about what I'm not going to say as I don't want to provide a spoiler) And that one lie leads to another - and another and .....The first half of the book is told through the good doctor's voice. He is most definitely an unlikable character. He's the definition of supercilious - arrogant, smug and more. In the second half of the book, the supporting players are given a voice. Now, I'd like to say that they were the opposite of Robert, but they weren't. There was just something off about all of them. And I found all of them unlikable as well. Kudos to Walker for her characterizations.Walker does a wonderful job manipulating the reader's perceptions along the way to a wonderful last gotcha. Do we believe Robert's view of what's happening? Are the supporting players telling the truth? The unraveling of Bobby Hart is an accident you can't help but rubberneck.I chose to listen to Man of the Year. The lead role was voiced by George Newbern, one of my favourite narrators. He has a wonderfully expressive voice that perfectly suited my mental image of this character. Disdainful and condescending. He has interpreted the role perfectly. I really enjoy a full cast of readers rather than just one. Man of the Year employed three other readers to tell this tale - Cassandra Campbell, Michael Crouch and Gabra Zackman. Again, the voices matched the script. Softer for the wife and office assistant and younger, more innocent voices for Jonah and Nick. I've said it before and I'll say it again - I find I become so much more immersed in a story when I listen. Walker is a talented writer and I will be curious to see what she pens next.