Найдите свой следующий любимый аудиокнига

Станьте участником сегодня и слушайте бесплатно в течение 30 дней
The Black Flamingo

The Black Flamingo

Написано Dean Atta

Озвучено Dean Atta


The Black Flamingo

Написано Dean Atta

Озвучено Dean Atta

оценки:
4.5/5 (761 оценки)
Длина:
3 hours
Издатель:
Издано:
May 26, 2020
ISBN:
9780063003934
Формат:
Аудиокнига

Описание

Stonewall Book Award Winner!

A fierce coming-of-age verse novel about identity and the power of drag, written and narrated by acclaimed UK poet and performer Dean Atta. Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Jason Reynolds, and Kacen Callender.

Michael is a mixed-race gay teen growing up in London. All his life, he's navigated what it means to be Greek-Cypriot and Jamaican—but never quite feeling Greek or Black enough.

As he gets older, Michael's coming out is only the start of learning who he is and where he fits in. When he discovers the Drag Society, he finally finds where he belongs—and the Black Flamingo is born.

Told with raw honesty, insight, and lyricism, this debut explores the layers of identity that make us who we are—and allow us to shine.

Издатель:
Издано:
May 26, 2020
ISBN:
9780063003934
Формат:
Аудиокнига

Об авторе

Dean Atta’s poems deal with themes of race, gender, and identity. He regularly performs across the UK and internationally and his work has been shortlisted for the Polari First Book Prize and appeared on MTV and BET. The Black Flamingo is his debut YA novel. You can find him online at www.deanatta.com.


Связано с The Black Flamingo

Похожие Аудиокниги


Обзоры

Что люди думают о The Black Flamingo

4.5
761 оценки / 34 Обзоры
Ваше мнение?
Рейтинг: 0 из 5 звезд

Отзывы читателей

  • (5/5)
    This book is exquisite and Michael is a beautiful character. His journey of self discovery is an enlightening, emotional, fun and very well written.
    The discussion around gender, race and identity is important and central to the main plot of the book. A brilliant execution of growth, self discovery, pain, acceptance, self love and rebirth.
    Absolutely recommend if you're in the market for black, queer literature. This book will teach you to check your privilege and think before you speak, as well.
  • (5/5)
    Absolutly amazing!!! It's the first young adult queer book I've read by a non greek speaking author that has a greek element and I loved it so much.
  • (3/5)
    This book was a
    N easy read. Sometimes slow and little action .
  • (5/5)
    Amazing narration and amazing memoir. I felt like I could see his life completely.
  • (4/5)
    This is so good and deserves all the attention and love that it's getting right now. There are so many emotions going through me right now that I have trouble putting them into words... The story, the messages and the Black Flamingo are absolutely amazing and I enjoyed every second of it!
  • (5/5)
    4.5 stars - a fascinating coming of age and coming out novel, this was absolutely beautiful to listen to as read by the author. Atta didn't shy away from the main character making the same kinds of mistakes that were done to him, and it made Michael seem so much more authentic - for example, a close friend makes a homophobic comment to Michael that he calls out, but then later he is called out by a different friend for some of his own internalized racism, when it comes to who he is attracted to.
    It was lovely to see him grow from child to adult, and how perspectives and reactions differed. I loved that his mom seemed mostly supportive, but sometimes stumbled, and the same for his best-friend. I think this just had such realistically unperfect but trying characters.
  • (5/5)
    Wow. Absolutely incredible. This was beautiful and should be a must read for everyone.
  • (4/5)
    The story is really good and the narration by Dean Atta is fantastic. So if you’re wondering if you should give the audio version of this book a chance, I highly recommend that you try it!
  • (5/5)
    Beautiful book, wonderfully narrated. Everyone should read it. Think I'd like to buy a copy because of the lovely poems. I've heard there are illustrations too.
  • (5/5)
    Beautifully written. Poetic and authentic. Loved it! The story presents a few hypocrisies one may encounter in society but the characters are beautifully fleshed out. It does not feel contrived. Even the poems belong in this book. It chooses to be itself. Unique and self loving ?
  • (4/5)
    A very touching and inspiring story, especially for someone who might be in a similar situation as the main character, or even one of the side characters. An amazing read
  • (5/5)
    Remember that you have the right to be proud. Remember you have the right to be you.
  • (5/5)
    This is SO powerful! Loved every second of it. Looking forward to read more of the author.
  • (5/5)
    wonderful read! I loved it! Dean Atta does an exquisite job of letting the reader into his life as he discovers who he really is!
  • (4/5)
    The simple writing, issues disscused about race and identity. Also, Family loving you no matter what you choose to be. I loved that Micheal came out, found himself and didn't have to hide under any mask. Totally wonderful and would absolutely recommend.
  • (5/5)
    oh my goodness this is absolute light. Loved this story so much!
  • (5/5)
    it was amazing. so so beautiful. i'm so glad i was able to listen to it. i will definitely buy my own copy. totally recommend!
  • (5/5)
    I absolutely loved this book. Be true to yourself. Be you at all times, especially when everyone is looking. If they don’t like it, then that’s their problem, not
  • (5/5)
    OMG this was such wondeful read it has heart and soul a story about discovering who you are in a world that wants to classify or conform you into a mold. It is beautifully written and that prologue was so emotional!
  • (4/5)
    Beautiful writen and read. Everyone should give this book a listen!
  • (5/5)
    amazing! this books is a gem and the audiobook is incredible.
  • (5/5)
    I loved the mix of story and poetry.

    Far too often stories about queer people are all about the struggles they have because of not being accepted and that is the focus of the story. This is all about a kid who happens to be queer, has the struggles of acceptance and fitting in but it's more about the journey of self discovery and owning who they are as a person. I kept waiting for the horror, the terrible thing that happens to black, queer people and it never came. Not to say that he didn't struggle with being black and queer but he also struggled with family, friends, fitting in, love, school, and other things that people just experience.
  • (5/5)
    Absolutely wonderful book and the narration is spectacular! Highly recommend!
  • (5/5)
    I have so much to say, but I will leave you with the opening of my blog post on the book:

    Meet Michael Angeli. Born in London on October 31, 1999, he is the mixed-race child of a Greek-Cypriot mother and a Jamaican father who abandoned the family when Michael was a newborn.

    When I picked up The Black Flamingo this morning. I had no idea how much Michael's journey of discovery and acceptance was going to move me as a reader. I had no idea how many times I would stop reading this book and marvel at its writing, reflect on his experience, and compare it to mine.


    Read more at: https://rainbowbookworm.blogspot.com/2020/05/BlackFlamingo.html
    Check out my Boostagram post: Rainbow.Bookworm
  • (5/5)
    This powerful story told in verse chronicles important moments of Michael’s life. As the story is told from childhood through his college experience, it weaves the tale of a boy figuring out his sexuality as well as his own sense of self. This is a really important story that you should definitely read! The audiobook is narrated by the author, which is definitely the format I recommend.
  • (5/5)
    Wow that was a fantastic audiobook! I absolutely loved it.
  • (5/5)
    Dean gets in your head, with his voice, and stays.
  • (5/5)
    Empowering and sweet coming of age story. You'll want to hug the main character and erupt in applause throughout the whole book.
  • (5/5)
    A powerful book about a boy figuring out his identity every step of the way.
  • (5/5)
    This is one of the best poetry books there is. I knew before I started that this is going to be an experience and I was not disappointed. I love how the innocence and self-discovery were tied together in this coming of age story. It doesn't only talk about identity, it also bravely talks about current issues -- Gender, Sexuality and Racism. I can't wait for others to pick this up!