Найдите свой следующий любимый аудиокнига

Станьте участником сегодня и слушайте бесплатно в течение 30 дней
The Black Kids

The Black Kids

Написано Christina Hammonds Reed

Озвучено Kiersey Clemons


The Black Kids

Написано Christina Hammonds Reed

Озвучено Kiersey Clemons

оценки:
4/5 (161 оценки)
Длина:
8 hours
Издатель:
Издано:
Aug 4, 2020
ISBN:
9781797112213
Формат:
Аудиокнига

Также доступно как...

Также доступно как книгеКниге

Также доступно как...

Также доступно как книгеКниге

Описание

A New York Times bestseller
A William C. Morris Award Finalist

“Should be required reading in every classroom.” —Nic Stone, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin
“A true love letter to Los Angeles.” —Brandy Colbert, award-winning author of Little & Lion
“A brilliantly poetic take on one of the most defining moments in Black American history.” —Tiffany D. Jackson, author of Grown and Monday’s Not Coming


Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel explores issues of race, class, and violence through the eyes of a wealthy black teenager whose family gets caught in the vortex of the 1992 Rodney King Riots.

Los Angeles, 1992

Ashley Bennett and her friends are living the charmed life. It’s the end of senior year and they’re spending more time at the beach than in the classroom. They can already feel the sunny days and endless possibilities of summer.

Everything changes one afternoon in April, when four LAPD officers are acquitted after beating a black man named Rodney King half to death. Suddenly, Ashley’s not just one of the girls. She’s one of the black kids.

As violent protests engulf LA and the city burns, Ashley tries to continue on as if life were normal. Even as her self-destructive sister gets dangerously involved in the riots. Even as the model black family façade her wealthy and prominent parents have built starts to crumble. Even as her best friends help spread a rumor that could completely derail the future of her classmate and fellow black kid, LaShawn Johnson.

With her world splintering around her, Ashley, along with the rest of LA, is left to question who is the us? And who is the them?
Издатель:
Издано:
Aug 4, 2020
ISBN:
9781797112213
Формат:
Аудиокнига

Также доступно как...

Также доступно как книгеКниге

Об авторе

Christina Hammonds Reed holds an MFA from the University of Southern California’s School of Cinematic Arts. A native of the Los Angeles area, her work has previously appeared in the Santa Monica Review and One Teen Story. Her first novel, The Black Kids, was a New York Times bestseller and William C. Morris Award Finalist.


Связано с The Black Kids

Похожие Аудиокниги


Обзоры

Что люди думают о The Black Kids

4.2
161 оценки / 10 Обзоры
Ваше мнение?
Рейтинг: 0 из 5 звезд

Отзывы читателей

  • (4/5)
    This book was a lot more about being a teen and coping with issues of family, friendship, race, identity and belonging than it was about the historical aspects of the setting. The main character wasn't always likeable, but the book was enjoyable nonetheless.
  • (2/5)
    For some reason it was just slow, I couldn't get into it
  • (5/5)
    A great coming of age story that centers on the black experience during justice unrest in 1992 during the Rodney King riots. Very relevant to today’s racial and social justice climate. It would be a great addition to the education curriculum to have these necessary discussions. Warning: the audiobook is of poor quality when listened to with my iPhone but was clear when I used my laptop. Very strange.
  • (5/5)
    Ok update......Im listening on my computer and....PERFECT!!! I take back my last review!!!! I love it!!!
  • (5/5)
    Awesome book. I could really relate to the main character, Ash. Growing up in a white world and not knowing how to feel amidst the chaos and riots after cops who killed a black man are not held accountable for it.
  • (5/5)
    A glimpse into the life of a black teenager and what it means in the world. Juggling being a teenager and black. Highly recommend for white ppl to read.
  • (4/5)

    1 person found this helpful

    I was a senior in high school in southern CA, just like the main character, Ashley. This book took me back to the 90’s in an instant. It reminded me of The Hate U Give, west coast version set in the 90’s. I enjoyed the characters. The book was entertaining with the right amount of education on various forms of racism.

    1 person found this helpful

  • (1/5)

    1 person found this helpful

    Maybe is my app but this audiobook is messed up. Cant understand anything c?

    1 person found this helpful

  • (5/5)

    1 person found this helpful

    Stunning! The cover is beautiful and this story really shines a light on interracial friendships, relationships, culture, language and race.

    1 person found this helpful

  • (5/5)

    1 person found this helpful

    i already know this is a great book and i haven’t even finished it yet

    1 person found this helpful