Вы находитесь на странице: 1из 2

What Books Make Up the Bible?

Most modern versions of the Bible contain 66 books, 39 in the Old Testament and 27 in the
New Testament. Originally, the number of books in the Bible was 49 because the Jews divide
the 39 Old Testament books into 22 books by combining several books into one (e.g., they
combine the twelve Minor Prophets into one book). The New Testament canon has remained
stable at 27 books since early times. A complete list appears below.

Old Testament New Testament

I. The Law I. The Gospels and Acts

1. Genesis 1. Matthew

2. Exodus 2. Mark

3. Leviticus 3. Luke

4. Numbers 4. John

5. Deuteronomy 5. Acts

II. The Prophets II. The Epistles of Paul

6. Joshua-Judges 6. Romans

7. Book of Kingdoms (I & II

Samuel, I & II Kings, considered 7. I Corinthians
one book)

8. Isaiah 8. II Corinthians

9. Jeremiah 9. Galatians

10. Ezekiel 10. Ephesians

11. The Twelve (The "Minor"

11. Philippians
Prophets, considered one book)

a) Hosea 12. Colossians

b) Joel 13. I Thessalonians

c) Amos 14. II Thessalonians

d) Obadiah 15. Hebrews

e) Jonah 16. I Timothy

f) Micah 17. II Timothy

g) Nahum 18. Titus

h) Habakkuk 19. Philemon

i) Zephaniah III. General Epistles

j) Haggai 20. James

k) Zechariah 21. I Peter

l) Malachi 22. II Peter

III. The Writings 23. I John

12. Psalms 24. II John

13. Proverbs 25. III John

14. Job 26. Jude

15. Song of Solomon IV. Apocalypse

16. Ruth 27. Revelation

17. Lamentations

18. Ecclesiastes

19. Esther

20. Daniel

21. Ezra-Nehemiah (considered

one book)

22. Chronicles (considered one


The church of God does not accept the Apocrypha (the books of Esdras, Tobit, Judith, The
Wisdom of Solomon, Ecclesiasticus, the books of Maccabees, etc.) or any other so-called
apostolic or early church writings as canonical.

Additional Reading:
Why Study the Bible in the Space Age?
How Much Is the Bible Worth To You?
The Proof of the Bible