You are on page 1of 10

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

APPEALS

;g|gg

MMi^CHANGE, INC.

Ktf 27 7-016

No.

Petitioner,

RECEIVED
COPYRIGHT ROYALTY BOARD

Respondent.

16-1159
PETITION FOR REVIEW

Pursuant to Rule 15 of the Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure and 17 U.S.C. 803(d),

Petitioner SoundExchange, Inc. ("SoundExchange") hereby petitions the Court for review ofa
Determination ofthe Copyright Royalty Judges ("CRJs") issued on March 4, 2016, and

published in the Federal Register at 81 Fed. Reg. 26316 (May 2, 2016).' Acopy of the
Determination, titled "Determination ofRoyalty Rates and Terms for Ephemeral Recording and

Webcasting Digital Performance ofSound Recordings (Web IV)'' is attached to this petition.
Inthe Determination, the CRJs determined the rates and terms payable by nonexempt,

noninteractive transmission services under the Copyright Act, 17 U.S.C. 112 and 114, for the

period beginning January 1, 2016, and ending December 31, 2020. SoundExchange is an

aggrieved party that fully participated in the proceedings that led to the Determination and is
bound by the CRJs' Determination. SoundExchange seeks review on the grounds that the
Determination is contrary to law, clearly erroneous, arbitrary and capricious, an abuse of
1In the event this Court finds that review ofthe Determination lies through a notice ofappeal,
SoundExchange asks that this petition be construed as such a notice.

discretion, and not supported by substantial evidence. SoundExchange respectfully requests that
this Court hold unlawful, vacate, enjoin, set aside and/or remand the Determination, and grant
such further relief as may be deemed just and proper.

Venue is proper in this Court pursuant to 17 U.S.C. 803(d)(1).


Respectfully submitted,

By:

^h,

C. Colin Rushing (DC Bar 470621)

Benjamin J. Horwich (CA Bar 249090)

General Counsel

Rose Leda Ehler (CA Bar 296523)


MUNGER, TOLLES & OLSON LLP

SoundExchange, Inc.
733 10th Street, N.W.
10th Floor

560 Mission Street, 27th Floor


San Francisco, CA 94105-2907

Washington, D.C. 20001


(v) 202-640-5858
(f) 202-640-5883

Telephone: (415) 512-4000

crushing@soundexchange.com

Rose. Ehler@mto.com

Facsimile: (415) 512-4077


Ben.Horwich@mto.com

Of Counsel
Glenn D. Pomerantz (CA Bar 112503)

Kelly M. Klaus (CA Bar 161091)


Anjan Choudhury (DC Bar 497271)
Kuruvilla J. Olasa (CA Bar 281509)
Jennifer L. Bryant (CA Bar 293371)
MUNGER, TOLLES & OLSON LLP
355 S. Grand Avenue, 35th Floor

Los Angeles, CA 90071 -1560


Telephone: (213) 683-9100
Facsimile: (213) 687-3702
Glenn. Pomerantz@mto.com
Kelly.Klaus@mto.com

Anjan.Choudhury@mto.com
Kuruvilla.01asa@mto.com
Jennifer.Bryant@mto.com

Counselfor SoundExchange, Inc.

DATED: May 26, 2016

UNffiO SlWiS COUBXOPAPPiApS


FOR DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT
MAY 27 2016

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

.RECEIVED
SOUNDEXCHANGE, INC.
No.

Petitioner,

COPYRIGHT ROYALTY BOARD

16-1159

Respondent.

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Pursuant to D.C. Circuit Rule 26.1 and Federal Rule of Appellate Procedure 26.1,

Petitioner SoundExchange, Inc. ("SoundExchange") respectfully submits the following corporate


disclosure statement:

SoundExchange is an independent, incorporated, non-profit performance rights

organization, representing the owners ofsound-recording copyrights and performers ofthose


recordings. SoundExchange collects royalties paid pursuant to statutory licenses under Sections
112 and 114 ofthe Copyright Act, 17 U.S.C. 112, 114, which allow the public performance of
sound recordings via certain digital audio transmissions. SoundExchange distributes these

royalties to the artists who created the sound recordings and the owners ofthe sound recordings.
SoundExchange has not issued any shares ordebt securities to the public, and SoundExchange

has no parent companies. SoundExchange has no subsidiaries or affiliates that have issued any
shares ordebt securities to the public. No publicly-held company has a 10% orgreater ownership
interest in SoundExchange. Because SoundExchange is a trade association as defined in D.C.
Circuit Rule 26.1(b), it is not required to disclose the names of its members.

Respectfully submitted,

By:

1s^<

C. Colin Rushing (DC Bar 470621)

Benjamin J. Horwich (CA Bar 249090)

General Counsel

Rose Leda Ehler (CA Bar 296523)


MUNGER, TOLLES & OLSON LLP

SoundExchange, Inc.
733 10th Street, N.W.
10th Floor

Washington, D.C. 20001


(v) 202-640-5858
(0202-640-5883
crushing@soundexchange.com

560 Mission Street, 27th Floor


San Francisco, CA 94105-2907

Telephone: (415) 512-4000


Facsimile: (415) 512-4077
Ben.Horwich@mto.com
Rose.Ehler@mto.com

Of Counsel

Glenn D. Pomerantz (CA Bar 112503)


Kelly M. Klaus (CA Bar 161091)

Anjan Choudhury (DC Bar 497271)


Kuruvilla J. 01asa(CA Bar 281509)
Jennifer L. Bryant (CA Bar 293371)
MUNGER, TOLLES & OLSON LLP
355 S. Grand Avenue, 35th Floor

Los Angeles, CA 90071-1560


Telephone:(213) 683-9100
Facsimile: (213) 687-3702
Glenn.Pomerantz@mto.com
Kelly.Klaus@mto.com

Anjan.Choudhury@mto.com
Kuruvilla.01asa@mto.com
Jennifer.Bryant@mto.com

Counselfor SoundExchange, Inc.

DATED: May 26,2016

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

Pursuant to Rule 15(c) of the Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, I, Kuruvilla J. Olasa,

hereby certify that copies ofthe foregoing were sent via First Class mail on the 27th ofMay,
2016 to the following:

George D. Johnson, an individual

Kurt Hanson

AccuRadio, LLC
65 E. Wacker Place, Suite 930

d.b.a. Geo Music Group

Chicago, IL 60601
kurt@accuradio.com
Telephone:
(312)284-2440
Facsimile:
(312)284-2450

Nashville, TN 37203

AccuRadio, LLC

23 Music Square East, Suite 204


E-mail: george@georgeiohnson.coni
Telephone:
(615)242-9999

George D. Johnson (GEO), an individual and


digital sound recording copyright creator d.b.a.
Geo Music Group

Kevin Blair

Donna K. Schneider

Brian Gantman

Associate General Counsel, Litigation & IP

Educational Media Foundation


5700 West Oaks Boulevard

iHeartMedia, Inc.

Rocklin,CA95765

San Antonio, TX 78209

kblair@kloveairl .com
bgantman@kloveair 1.com

Telephone:

(210)832-3468

Telephone:

(916)251-1600

Facsimile:

(210)832-3127

Facsimile:

(916)251-1731

iHeartMedia, Inc.

200 E. Basse Rd.

DonnaSchneider@iheaitmedia.com

Educational Media Foundation


Frederick Kass

Intercollegiate Broadcasting System, Inc. (IBS)


367 Windsor Highway
New Windsor, NY 12553-7900
ibs@ibsradio.oift
ibshq@aol.com

Telephone:

(845)565-0003

Facsimile:

(845) 565-7446

Intercollegiate Broadcasting System, Inc. (IBS)

Russ Hauth, Executive Director


Harv Hendrickson, Chairman

3003 Snelling Avenue, North


Saint Paul, MN 55113
russh@salem.ee

hphendricksonftTi.unwsp.edu
Telephone: (651)631-5000
Facsimile:
(651)631-5086
National Religious Broadcasters
Noncommercial Music License Committee

(NRBNMLC)

Gregory A. Lewis

Patrick Donnelly

National Public Radio, Inc.

Sirius XM Radio, Inc.


1221 Avenue of the Americas

1111 North Capital Street, NE


Washington, DC 20002
glewis@npr.org
Telephone:
(202)513-2050
Facsimile:
(202)513-3021
National Public Radio, Inc. (NPR)

36th Floor

New York, NY 10020

patiick.donnellv@siriusxm.com
Telephone:
(212)584-5100
Facsimile:

(212)584-5200

Sirius XM Radio Inc.

Cynthia Greer

Christopher Harrison

Sirius XM Radio, Inc.

Pandora Media, Inc.


2101 Webster Street, Suite 1650
Oakland, CA 94612

1500 Eckington Place, NE


Washington, DC 20002
cvnthia.ftreer@siriusxm.com
Telephone:
(202)380-1476
Facsimile:
(202)380-4592

charrison@pandoia.com

Telephone:

(510)858-3049

Facsimile:

(510)451-4286

Sirius XM Radio Inc.

Pandora Media, Inc.

David Oxenford

WILKINSON BARKER KNAUER, LLP

Jeffrey J. Jarmuth
Law Offices of Jeffrey J. Jarmuth

1800 M Street, NW, Suite 800N

34 E. Elm Street

Washington, DC 20036
doxenford@wbklaw.com
Telephone:
(202) 383-3337
Facsimile:
(202)783-5851

Counselfor Educational Media Foundation and

Chicago, IL 60611-1016

Telephone:

(312)335-9933

Facsimile:

(312)822-1010

Jeff.iarmuth@iarmuthlawoffices.com
Counselfor AccuRadio, LLC

National Association ofBroadcasters (NAB)


William Malone

Bruce Joseph, Karyn Ablin

40 Cobbler's Green

Michael Sturm, Jillian Volkmar

205 Main Street

WILEY REIN LLP

New Canaan, CT 06840

1776 K Street, NW

Malone@ieee.org

Washington, DC 20006
bjoseph@wilevrein.com

Telephone:

(203) 966-4770

Counselfor Harvard Radio Broadcasting Co.,


Inc. (WHRB) and Intercollegiate Broadcasting
System, Inc. (IBS)

kablin@wilevrein.com
msturm@wilevrein.com
JVolkmar@vvilevrein.com

Telephone:

(202)719-7000

Facsimile:

(202)719-7049

Counselfor National Association ofBroadcasters


(NAB)

Kenneth L. Steinthal, Joseph R. Wetzel


Ethan Davis

KING & SPALDING LLP

101 Second Street, Suite 2300


San Francisco, CA 94105
ksteinthal@kslaw.com

Mark Hansen, John Thorne

Evan Leo, Scott Angstreich, Kevin Miller, Caitlin


Hall, Igor Helman, Leslie Pope, Matthew Huppert
KELLOGG, HUBER, HANSEN, TODD,
EVANS & FIGEL, P.L.L.C.
1615 M Street, NW, Suite 400

jwetzel@kslaw.com
edavis@kslaw.com

Washington, DC 20036

Telephone:
(415)318-1200
Facsimile:
(415)318-1300
Counselfor National Public Radio, Inc. (NPR)

Jthorne@khhte.com

Mhansen@khhte.com
eleo@khhte.com

sangstreich@jkhhte.com
kmiller@khhte.com
chall@khhte.com
ihelman@khhte.com

R. Bruce Rich, Todd Larson

Sabrina Perelman, Benjamin E. Marks


WEIL, GOTSHAL & MANGES LLP

lpope@khhte.com
mhuppert@khhte.com
Telephone:
(202) 326-7900
Facsimile:
(202) 326-7999
Counsel iHeartMedia, Inc.
Karyn Ablin
Jennifer Elgin

767 Fifth Avenue

WILEY REIN LLP


1776KSt.N.W.

New York, NY 10153

Washington, DC 20006

r.bruce.rich@weil.com
todd. larsou@ vvei 1.com

kablin@vvilevrein.com
ielgiii@vvilevrein.coin

sabrina.perelman@weil.com

Telephone:

(202)719-7000

benjamin.marks@vveil.com
Telephone:
(212)310-8170

Facsimile:

(202)719-7049

Counselfor National Religious Broadcasters

Facsimile:
(212)310-8007
Counselfor Pandora Media, Inc.

Noncommercial Music License Committee


(NRBNMLC)

Jacob B. Ebin

Gary R. Greenstein

WEIL, GOTSHAL & MANGES LLP


767 Fifth Avenue

New York, NY 10153

iacob.ebin@vveil.com

Telephone:

(212)310-8516

WILSON SONSINI GOODRICH & ROSATI


1700 K Street, NW, 5th Floor
Washington, DC 20006

gfti-eenstein@wsgr.com
Telephone:
(202)973-8849

Facsimile:
(212)310-8007
Counselfor Pandora Media Inc.

Facsimile:
(202) 973-8899
Counselfor PandoraMedia Inc.

Paul Fakler

Martin F. Cunniff
Jackson D. Toof

Arent Fox LLP

1675 Broadway
New York, NY 10019

Paul.Fakler@arentfox.com

Telephone: (212) 484-3900


Fax:(212)484-3990

Counselfor Sirius XMRadio Inc.

Arent Fox LLP

1717 K Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006-5344


Mailin.Cunniff@areiUfox.com
Jackson. Toofaiarentfox.com

Telephone: (202)857-6000
Fax: (202) 857-6395
Counselfor SiriusXMRadio Inc.

Catherine Gellis

Antonio E. Lewis

P.O. Box 2477

Sausalito, CA 94966

King & Spalding, LLP


100 N. Tryon Street, Suite 3900

cathv@cgcounsel.com

Charlotte, NC 28202

Telephone:
(202) 642-2849
Counselfor College Broadcasters Inc. (CBI)

Tel: 704-503-2583

Fax: 704-503-2622
E-Mail: alevvis@kslavv.com

Counselfor National Public Radio, Inc. (NPR)


Steven R. Englund

David Golden
CONSTANTINE CANNON LLP

Jenner & Block LLP

1001 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Suite 1300N

1099 New York Ave., N.W.

Washington, DC 20004
dgolden@constantinecannon.com
Telephone:
(202) 204-3500
Facsimile:
(202)204-3501

Tel.: 202-639-6000
Fax:201-639-6066

Counselfor College Broadcasters Inc. (CBI)

Washington, D.C. 20001

E-Mail: senglund@ienner.com
Counselfor SoundExchange, Inc.

David Rahn

Brendan Collins

Custom Channels.net, LLC


2569 Park Lane, Suite 104

Triton Digital, Inc.


15303 Ventura Blvd., Suite 1500
Los Angeles, CA 91403

Lafayette, CO 80026
Telephone: (303) 588-2824

Telephone: (818) 528-8867

Email: dave@customchannels.net
Custom Channels.net, LLC

Email: brendan.collins@tritondigital.com

Gary Greenstein

Nick Krawczyk

WILSON SONSINI GOODRICH &

Chief Executive & Creative Officer

ROSATI

CMN, Inc.

1700 K Street, NW, 5thFloor

7201 Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 780


Bethesda, MD 20814

Washington, DC 20006
Telephone: (202) 973-8849
Fax:(202)973-8899
Email: ggreenstein@lwsgr.com

Triton Digital, Inc.

Telephone: (202) 223-0846


Email: nick@crvstalmedianetworks.com
CMN, Inc.

Counselfor CMN, Inc., 8tracks, Inc., and


Feed Media, Inc.
David Porter

Thomas Cheney

Chief Executive Officer

idobi Network LLC


1941 Vermont Avenue NW

8tracks, Inc.

Telephone: (415)948-4216

Washington, DC 20001
Telephone: (202) 297-6977
Email: tonT@iidobi.com

Email: dp@8tracks.com

idobi Network LLC

51 Sharon Street

San Francisco, CA 94114

8tracks, Inc.

Rusty Hodge

James Duffett-Smith

SomaFM.com LLC

Jared Grusd

2180 Bryant Street, Suite 208

Spotify USA Inc.

San Francisco, CA 94110

Telephone: (415) 552-7662

45 W. 18th Street, 7th Floor


New York, NY 10011

Email: rustv@somaliri.com

Telephone: (917) 565-3894

SomaFM.com LLC

Fax:(917)207-3543
Email: iames@ispotifv.com

jared@spotifv.com
Spotify USA Inc.
Ari Shohat

Digitally Imported, Inc.


3457 Ringsby Court, Suite 212
Denver, CO 80216

Telephone: (303) 997-2202


Fax:(303)997-1058
Email: ari@di.fin
Digitally Imported, Inc.

Lisa Widup
Robert Windom

Apple Inc.
1 Infinite Loop

Cupertino, CA 95014
Telephone: (408) 974-4954
Fax:(408)974-9105
Email: lwidup@apple.com
windom@apple.conn

Apple Inc.
Kenneth Steinthal

Lee Knife

Joseph Wetzel

Digital Media Association

KING & SPALING LLP

1050 17th Street, NW

101 Second Street, Suite 2300


San Francisco, CA 94105

Washington, DC 20036
Telephone: (202) 639-9509

Telephone: (415) 318-1200

Fax: (202) 639-9504


Email: lknife@digmedia.org

Fax:(415)318-1300
Email: ksteinthal.@ikslaw.com
ivvetzel @kslaw.com
Counselfor Beats Music, LLC,
Amazon.com, Inc., and Rhapsody

Digital Media Association (DiMA)

International, Inc.
William Colitre

Jeff Yasuda

Music Reports, Inc.

Feed Media, Inc.

21122 Erwin Street

3979 Freedom Circle, Suite 610


Santa Clara, CA 95054

Woodland Hills, CA 91367

Telephone: (818)558-1400

Telephone: (650) 479-4881

Fax:(818)558-3484
Email: Bcolitre@MusicReports.com
Music Reports, Inc.

Fax:(415)449-6947
Email: jeff@feed.fm
Feed Media, Inc.

Jay Cohen, Esq.

Dale M. Cendali, Esq.

Darren W. Johnson, Esq.

Kirkland & Ellis LLP

Amy E. Gold, Esq.

601 Lexington Avenue


New York, NY 10022

PAUL, WEISS, R1FKIND,


WHARTON & GARRISON LLP
1285 Avenue of the Americas
New York, NY 10019

Phone:(212)373-3000
Fax:(212)757-3990
Emai 1: javcohen@paiilweiss.com

Phone:(212)446-4800
Fax:(212)446-4900
Email: dale.cendali@kirkland.com

CounselforApple Inc. and Beats Music, LLC

diohnson@paulweiss.com

agold@paulweiss.com

Counselfor National Music Publishers'


Association, Inc. (NMPA)

I^xm^jULu Al
Kuruvilla J. Olasa