You are on page 1of 4

MILWAUKEE PROFESSIONALS ASSOCIATION LLC

414.610.1044

November 8, 2012

TO:

Governor Scott Walker

FROM:

State of Wisconsin MARY GLASS – Chair/CEO

RE:

MILWAUKEE PROFESSIONALS ASSOCIATION [MPA] WISCONSIN AFFORDABLE HEALTH CARE ACT BENCHMARK

- DEPRAVED INDIFFERENCE COMPLAINT

Governor Walker:

This Open Letter follows (2) requests for Commissioner Ted Nickel, WI Office of Commissioner of Insurance, to provide information about the status of our state’s movement on the mandated full implementation of the Affordable Health Care Act on January 1, 2014. My office has also asked for information from the WOCI to provide speakers and information to inform residential and commercial stakeholders of the city of Milwaukee, the largest city of Wisconsin. We have repeatedly been denied.

So that it is clear, we find the “stall” decision by you and failure to communicate by your staff, dangerously irresponsible, in violation with your Oath of Office and injurious to all Wisconsinites as well as our collective body of the United States. This a federal Health Care Plan for America – the sum of all its parts.

We have filed two (2) online complaints and have the denied requests for speakers and information for legal documentation. I might add, both you and Secretary Mike Huebsch, WI Department of Administration, have been forwarded a cc for each requests.

Visit – September 19, 2012

After 4 times of being turndown and at least two spirited conversations with JP Weiske, Legislative Liaison an Public Information Officer, Commissioner Nickel’s office confirmed Attorney Laura Brown’s visit, with strict limitations of dialog on September 19,

2012.

2

COMMISSIONER TED NICKEL – REQUEST “INSURANCE” STATUS REPORT FOR SEPTEMBER 30, 2012 BENCHMARK – AFORDABLE HEALTH CARE ACT – OCTOBER 19, 2012

Time is up

As the Governor of our state, you can no longer play hide-and- seek. Affordable Health Care is our federal law that we expect you to honor.

Deadline for Applications are due in 8 days.

Harm’s Way

Since you have engaged in “dragging-your-feet” to state position, state Exchange or partner- state Exchange, what have you done to jeopardize the federal- state assisted Exchange.

We need answers.

My office need speakers and information for our December 12, 2012 briefing as well as the 2013 Calendar we want to schedule.

You owe us transparency. You owe us compliance. You owe us information sharing and citizen participation for decision making in both the competitive “inside exchange and outside marketplace”.

So far, you and your administration have been obstructionist. Here is your chance to provide my office and the People of Wisconsin as much information as possible for informed decision making.

Request for Status I am re-submitting through this Open Letter, my office request for a STATUS Report, per the specific questions asked of Commissioner Ted Nickel.

Economic Development

You have talked about creating jobs and businesses, however, we in Milwaukee have not been on your radar. Ex-Secretary of Commerce Paul Jardin failed to respect invitations and requests from my office and so did you for the development of the Economic Development Corporation for Wisconsin.

The recent concerns regarding monies used for WEDC causes further concern about your administration.

The Affordable Health Care Law and President Obama’s focus for startups and business development we have identified for one of the approaches at the neighborhood level for creating economic engines.

3

COMMISSIONER TED NICKEL – REQUEST “INSURANCE” STATUS REPORT FOR SEPTEMBER 30, 2012 BENCHMARK – AFORDABLE HEALTH CARE ACT – OCTOBER 19, 2012

Here is a giant opportunity for the following departments to partner with us to create an IT/Information Technology infrastructure for neighborhood level businesses that will drive up job/career development; whether you decide to run the health exchange, partner health exchange or the state of Wisconsin is a federal-facilitated exchange.

The five (5) departments are:

  • WI Office of Commissioner of Insurance

  • WI Department of Health Services

  • WI Department of Workforce Development

  • WI Economic Development Corporation

  • WI Housing Economic Development Corporation

With Affordable Health Care Act in Mind,

3 COMMISSIONER TED NICKEL – REQUEST “INSURANCE” STATUS REPORT FOR SEPTEMBER 30, 2012 BENCHMARK – AFORDABLEwww.mpapublicpolicyreview.blogspot.com http://cncfnbamilwaukee.newsvine.com cc: U.S. Congresswoman Gwen Moore – 4 District U.S. Attorney General Supervisor Willie Johnson Jr. – Milwaukee County Secretary Kathleen Sebelius – USGovHHS Secretary Mike Huebsch – State Administration Secretary Dennis Smith – DHS Secretary Reggie Newsom – DWD JP Wieske – Communication – Office of Commissioner Attorney Laura Brown – Office Commissioner of Insurance Dr. Courtney Williams – HHS/CMS/CCIIO Attorney Leon Rodriguez – HHS Civil Rights Dr. Farzad Mostgashari – HHS IT Brian Webb – Manager, Health Policy & Legislation Josh Goldberg – Health Policy & Legislative Advisor Jolie Matthews – Senior Health & Life Policy Counsel Richard.wieka@wisconsin.gov Attachment: October 19, 2012 Online Complaint to your office. " id="pdf-obj-2-30" src="pdf-obj-2-30.jpg">

414.610.1044

_______________________

Mary Glass – Chair/CEO/Founder

Milwaukee Professionals Association [MPA]

cc:

U.S. Congresswoman Gwen Moore – 4 th District U.S. Attorney General Supervisor Willie Johnson Jr. – Milwaukee County Secretary Kathleen Sebelius – USGovHHS Secretary Mike Huebsch – State Administration Secretary Dennis Smith – DHS Secretary Reggie Newsom – DWD JP Wieske – Communication – Office of Commissioner Attorney Laura Brown – Office Commissioner of Insurance Dr. Courtney Williams – HHS/CMS/CCIIO Attorney Leon Rodriguez – HHS Civil Rights Dr. Farzad Mostgashari – HHS IT Brian Webb – Manager, Health Policy & Legislation Josh Goldberg – Health Policy & Legislative Advisor

Jolie Matthews – Senior Health & Life Policy Counsel

Attachment:

October 19, 2012 Online Complaint to your office.

4

COMMISSIONER TED NICKEL – REQUEST “INSURANCE” STATUS REPORT FOR SEPTEMBER 30, 2012 BENCHMARK – AFORDABLE HEALTH CARE ACT – OCTOBER 19, 2012

COPY OF COMMENTS on Online Complaint – WI Office of the Commissioner of Insurance

October 19, 2012

Subject: Depraved Indifference

Commissioner Ted Nickel has acted with an indifference that is detrimental to the citizenry of Wisconsin who by law are to receive full implementation of an exchange according to the Affordable Heath Care law.

He seems to be acting contradictory to his Oath of Office at a time when we, the People would expect him and staff to be most helpful and forthcoming with state-of-the- art information.

My office has received rebuff that should not have taken place - automatic decline for sharing information for the September 19, 2012 Information Briefing of the Affordable Health law - after 4 times of being told NO and refusing to take NO, my office received a yes fro JP Weiske for Attorney Laura Brown's visit to our first outreach to the public for information sharing about the Affordable Health Care law.

Our second request for October 24, 2012 – IT/Information Technology Briefing, came back with a patronizing statement that was offensive - "thanking us for being so energetic" - what does that mean? Instead of reaching out and working to ensure that the people are being notified, my office request for IT/Information Technology experts for our on-the-road visit to share - taking the message to the people.

We received another perfunctory and disingenuous statement to give the inference that the request was considered. The response from Commissioner Ted Nickel’s was:

We have submitted a longer version of our Complaint to Commissioner Nickel.