Вы находитесь на странице: 1из 2

5/30/2014 What is a Defect Life Cycle or a Bug lifecycle in software testing?

- ISTQB Exam Certification

http://istqbexamcertification.com/what-is-a-defect-life-cycle/ 1/5
Home Fundamentals of testing What is a Defect Life Cycle or a Bug lifecycle in software
Popular Posts
17 items for your mobile application
development and testing checklist
What is Waterfall model? When to use
What are the Software Development
Life Cycle phases?
What is V-model? When to use it?
What is Spiral model? When to use it?
Agile model - When to use it?
ISTQB Certification Exam Study
1. Fundamentals of testing
What is Software testing?
Why is testing necessary?
Software testing objectives and purpose
What is Defect or bugs or faults?
What is a Failure?
From where do Defects and failures
When do defects arise?
What is the cost of defects?
Defect or Bug Life Cycle
What is the difference between Severity
and Priority?
Principles of testing
Fundamental test process
Psychology of testing
Independent testing- its benefits and
Software Quality
2. Testing throughout the testing
What is Verification?
What is Validation?
Capability Maturity Model (CMM-Levels)
Software Development Life Cycle
Software Development Life Cycle phases
Software Development Models
Waterfall model
Incremental model
Home ISTQB Certification 2014 ISTQB Exam Dates Privacy Policy Terms of Use Contact Us About Us Disclaimer
What is a Defect Life Cycle or a Bug
lifecycle in software testing?
posted on DECEMBER 13, 2011
Defect life cycle is a cycle which a defect goes through during its lifetime. It starts when
defect is found and ends when a defect is closed, after ensuring its not reproduced.
Defect life cycle is related to the bug found during testing.
The bug has different states in the Life Cycle. The Life cycle of the bug can be shown
diagrammatically as follows:
Bug or defect
l i fe cycl e
i ncl udes
fol l owi ng
steps or
1. New:
When a
defect is
logged and
posted for
the first
time. Its
state is
given as
2. Assi gned:
After the tester has posted the bug, the lead of the tester approves that the bug is
genuine and he assigns the bug to corresponding developer and the developer
team. Its state given as assigned.
3. Open: At this state the developer has started analyzing and working on the
defect fix.
4. Fi xed: When developer makes necessary code changes and verifies the changes
then he/she can make bug status as Fixed and the bug is passed to testing team.
5. Pendi ng retest: After fixing the defect the developer has given that particular
code for retesting to the tester. Here the testing is pending on the testers end.
5 tips to get the best mortgage rates (TopTipsNews)

7 18 Like
34 4 8
5/30/2014 What is a Defect Life Cycle or a Bug lifecycle in software testing? - ISTQB Exam Certification
http://istqbexamcertification.com/what-is-a-defect-life-cycle/ 2/5
RAD model
Agile model
Iterative model
Spiral model
Prototype Model
Software Testing Levels
Unit testing
Component testing
Integration testing
Big Bang integration testing
Incremental testing
Component integration testing
System integration testing
System testing
Acceptance testing
Alpha testing
Beta testing
Software Test Types
Functional testing
Non functional testing
Functionality testing
Reliability testing
Usability testing
Efficiency testing
Maintainability testing
Portability testing
Baseline testing
Compliance testing
Documentation testing
Endurance testing
Load testing
Performance testing
Compatibility testing
Security testing
Scalability testing
Volume testing
Stress testing
Difference between Volume, Load and
stress testing in software
Recovery testing
Internationalization testing and
Localization testing
Confirmation testing
Regression testing
Structural testing
Maintenance Testing
Impact analysis
3. Static Techniques
Test design techniques
Static test technique
What is static Testing?
Uses of Static Testing
Informal reviews
Hence its status is pending retest.
6. Retest: At this stage the tester do the retesting of the changed code which
developer has given to him to check whether the defect got fixed or not.
7. Veri fi ed: The tester tests the bug again after it got fixed by the developer. If the
bug is not present in the software, he approves that the bug is fixed and changes
the status to verified.
8. Reopen: If the bug still exists even after the bug is fixed by the developer, the
tester changes the status to reopened. The bug goes through the life cycle once
9. Cl osed: Once the bug is fixed, it is tested by the tester. If the tester feels that the
bug no longer exists in the software, he changes the status of the bug to closed.
This state means that the bug is fixed, tested and approved.
10. Dupl i cate: If the bug is repeated twice or the two bugs mention the same
concept of the bug, then one bug status is changed to duplicate.
11. Rej ected: If the developer feels that the bug is not genuine, he rejects the bug.
Then the state of the bug is changed to rejected.
12. Deferred: The bug, changed to deferred state means the bug is expected to be
fixed in next releases. The reasons for changing the bug to this state have many
factors. Some of them are priority of the bug may be low, lack of time for the
release or the bug may not have major effect on the software.
13. Not a bug: The state given as Not a bug if there is no change in the
functionality of the application. For an example: If customer asks for some change
in the look and field of the application like change of colour of some text then it is
not a bug but just some change in the looks of the application.

Related Topics -
What are the pri nci pl es of testi ng?
What i s confi gurati on management i n software testi ng?
What i s Portabi l i ty testi ng i n software?
What i s Confi rmati on testi ng i n software?
What are the rol es and responsi bi l i ti es of a Tester?

7 18 Like
TopTi psNews
Top 10 cities to visit in
the US
TopTi psNews
How to pay less of your
gas bill
TopTi psNews
Top 5 low-cost
paradisiac places to
34 4 8
You might enjoy reading