Вы находитесь на странице: 1из 12

State of Wisconsin Government Accountability Board 212 E. Washington Ave. Madison, WI 53703

Michael Haas - Elections Division Administrator Ross Hein - Elections Supervisor

July 28, 2014

Dear Sirs,

Attached below is a written formal complaint submitted for your review. Links and photos mentioned in the complaint are included.

I have given this complaint a great deal of thought since the time it first came to my

attention. Recent information has prompted me to come forward to request an official GAB investigation.

The person alleged to have committed two different kinds of election fraud (to my understanding of state statutes) has been associated with both candidates running in the Republican primary for the 21st Senate district. This campaign has become very competitive and adversarial.

Because of the degree of divisiveness between these campaigns, I have decided that my complaint should remain anonymous for fear of retribution.

I am a life-long resident of Racine, WI. with knowledge of poll locations and functions in Racine. It is my hope that you will look into this matter with the same degree of seriousness as if I had attached my name to it.

If you have any questions or require further information, you may contact me at my email address: 53405racine@gmail.com

Thank you for your consideration.

STATE OF WISCONSIN

GOVERNMENT ACCOUNTABILITY BOARD

COMPLAINT FORM

State of Wisconsin Before the Government Accountability Board

Complainant(s) against Tamra L. Varebrook, Aubrey Willms Respondents, whose

address is 17300 Plank Road Union Grove, WI 53182 and 1414 Orchard Street Racine, WI 53405 (respectively). This complaint is under 12:13(1) (a),( b) and (h).

I allege that: Tamra L. Varebrook, who voted in the Presidential Preference & Spring Election of 2012 (April 3, 2013) in the city of Racine at the St. Edwards polling location, was not a qualified elector at that location and municipality and intentionally used a false residential address, which is a violation of Wisconsin State Statute 12:13(1)(a).

Further, I allege that Tamra L. Varebrook worked as a paid poll worker at the Humble Park Community Center polling location for the Spring Primary Election on February 21, 2012, in the city of Racine and was at the time, a resident of Union Grove. Tamra Varebrook misrepresented herself as a qualified elections inspector to the Clerk of the City of Racine, and to the Chief Inspector at the Humble Park polling location in violation of Wisconsin State Statute 12:13(1)(b).

I allege Tamra L. Varebrook voted at St. Edwards polling location on that same election

day (February 21, 2012) and was not a qualified elector in the city of Racine but instead

a resident of Union Grove, a violation of Wisconsin State Statute 12:13(1)(a).

I allege Aubrey Willms knew Tamra Varebrook was using her address as her legal voting

address and lied to protect Ms. Varebrook and herself from responsibility in violation of Wisconsin State Statute 12:13(1)(h).

Background

As a person familiar with the Humble Park polling place in the city of Racine on February 21, 2012, I recall poll workers remarking they did not know why Ms. Varebrook was employed at Humble Park because “she didn’t even live in the city.”

According to Tamra Varebrook’s pay receipt from the Racine Clerk’s office, she listed her address as 1414 Orchard Street Racine, Wisconsin 53405. (image 1.)

In 2012, poll workers were required to reside in the municipality of the poll they worked. (For example, as a resident of Racine, I would be prohibited from becoming a poll worker in Mt. Pleasant or Sturtevant.)

Such idle talk among workers would have been easily forgotten if Ms. Varebrook had not been featured in a local newspaper article on January 26, 2012 as a volunteer for Senator Van Wanggaard, checking recall signatures. Her established notoriety made her presence and comments about her residence more memorable than usual.

In early April, it was announced Ms. Varebrook was running for State Senate as a protest candidate on behalf of the Republican Party of Wisconsin. She did not work as a poll worker again at Humble Park in Racine.

According to VPA records (image 2.), Ms. Varebrook voted at St. Edwards polling location in Racine on April 3, 2012 (and in the city of Racine many times before). St. Edwards polling location would have been the correct location for a person living at 1414 Orchard St. in the city of Racine.

However, on the same day (April 3, 2012,) Tamra Varebrook announced her campaign for State Senate. A photograph (image 3.) of her nomination papers from the Mount Pleasant Patch on that date shows her address as 951 Main Street Apt. 202, Union Grove. (Official GAB records of Ms. Varebrook’s nomination papers will show the address clearer than the Patch photo where it it is slightly out of focus.)

When the Racine Journal Times published an article about her Senate candidacy (also on April 3 2012), the reporter indicated in the article she went to Ms. Varebrook’s address on record with the Racine City Clerk and the one she used for voting (1414 Orchard Street) and talked with a woman who answered the door, Aubrey Willms, who said Varebrook did live there but was not at home.

The report also noted there was a Van Wanggaard campaign sign in the yard. A small, but odd detail for someone who had just announced she was running against Wanggaard.

I have recently learned that Aubrey Willms is Tamra Varebrook’s niece (image 4.) and the home located at 1414 Orchard Street, is owned by the father of Varebrook’s child, Rick Grooms, a longtime resident of Union Grove (image 4.).

Tamra Varebrook voted in the city of Racine on April 3, 2012 as an elector of that municipality and announced and began circulating official nomination papers for office using an address in Union Grove all on the same day.

Additionally, I have learned that Tamra Varebrook filed (image 6.) with the Wisconsin Campaign Finance System as a candidate on March 30, 2012 listing a Union Grove PO Box and Union Grove bank address (image 7.) days before the April election in which she voted in Racine.

At least two media articles which date back to 2008 and 2010, describe Tamra Varebrook as a Union Grove resident which include a photograph of her and one of her daughter. (In 2008, Varebrook voted in Racine at the polling location associated with the Orchard Street address even though she reported to the media she lived in Union Grove the same year.) (image 8.)

Ms. Varebrook’s daughter has attended Union Grove public schools for many years. According to various news releases and honor roll listings in the press, Amber Varebrook has attended Union Grove public schools continuously since at least 2008.

● In January 2008, Amber Varebrook is identified as a Union Grove Elementary School Student in the Racine Journal Times.

● December 2009, Amber Varebrook is identified as a Union Grove Elementary School Student in the Journal Times.

● In August 2010, Amber Varebrook is listed as an honor roll student at Union Grove Elementary School in the Journal Times.

● In December 2011, Amber Varebrook is identified as a Union Grove Elementary School student in the Journal Times.

● In February 2012, Amber Varebrook is identified as a Union Grove Elementary School Student. (Note: this is for the first half of the school year when Ms. Varebrook listed her residence as Racine to the Racine Clerk’s office for the purpose of becoming a poll worker.)

● In April 2012, Amber Varebrook is identified as a Union Grove Elementary School Student which also includes the time in which Tamra Varebrook indicated her residence was Racine.

● In July 2013 and November, Amber Varebrook is identified as a Union Grove Elementary School Student for the 2012-13 school year in the Journal Times.

In April 2013, Tamra Varebrook was featured in several news articles about a complaint she filed over an assignment given to her daughter as an eighth grader at Union Grove Elementary School. She is described again as a Union Grove resident.

Summary

I have come to believe that Tamra Varebrook has not lived in Racine for many years,

and continued to use the Racine address on Orchard Street to vote and pose as a qualified poll worker because she knew the owner of the house, its current tenants and had lived there a decade prior (according to WI Circuit Court Case Access, in 2004).

Tamra Varebrook has a long public record as a resident of Union Grove and virtually none in Racine except for her voting record at a home owned by a man from a previous relationship - who also does not live there.

Having learned of Aubrey Willms family connection to Tamra Varebrook at that address,

I find it highly possible Ms. Willms would have been willing to cover for her Aunt’s use of her address and place of residence.

I believe Tamra Varebrook may committed election fraud, which is a serious offense. I am asking the GAB to look carefully into this matter.

Individuals who may have additional information:

Christine Hauck (Friends of Tamra, Treasurer) 951 Main Street Union Grove, WI 53182

Rick Grooms (Owner of Orchard St. house) 650 Elliott Drive Union Grove, WI 53182

Aubrey Willms (niece) 1414 Orchard Avenue Racine, WI 53405

Janice Johnson Martin City of Racine Clerk

262/636-9171

Images

1. Copy of Racine poll worker paycheck from Feb. 21, 2012

Images 1. Copy of Racine poll worker paycheck from Feb. 21, 2012

2. Tamra Varebrook Voter History

2. Tamra Varebrook Voter History

3. Mt. Pleasant Patch photo of Varebrook’s nomination paper with Union Grove address from April 3, 2012.

3. Mt. Pleasant Patch photo of Varebrook’s nomination paper with Union Grove address from April 3,

4. Aubrey Willms Facebook Page.

4. Aubrey Willms Facebook Page.

5.

2013 Tax Assessment 1414 Orchard Street Racine, WI

5. 2013 Tax Assessment 1414 Orchard Street Racine, WI 6. Detail of candidate filing from March

6. Detail of candidate filing from March 2012.

5. 2013 Tax Assessment 1414 Orchard Street Racine, WI 6. Detail of candidate filing from March

7.

Detail of candidate bank address from March, 2012.

7. Detail of candidate bank address from March, 2012. 8. 2008 detail of Varebrook’s voting history.

8. 2008 detail of Varebrook’s voting history.

7. Detail of candidate bank address from March, 2012. 8. 2008 detail of Varebrook’s voting history.