You are on page 1of 2


CENTURY (1401-1499)
IS421- MWF- 1:30-2:30 PM
Camacho, Alyssa
Espiritu, Mildred
Silviderio, Kym
Tega, Suzette

Peace of Thorn (1411)
The (First) Peace of Thorn was a peace treaty formally ending the PolishLithuanianTeutonic
War between allied Kingdom of Poland and Grand Duchy of Lithuania on one side, and the
Teutonic Knights on the other. It was signed on 1 February 1411 in Thorn (Toru), one of the
southernmost cities of the Monastic State of the Teutonic Knights. Unfortuantely, the Peace of
Thorn had a negative long-term impact on Prussia.
Treaty of Canterbury (1416)
The Treaty of Canterbury (15 August 1416) culminated diplomatic efforts between Henry V of
England and Sigismund and resulted in a defensive and offensive alliance against France. This,
in turn, led the way to resolution of the papal schism.
Treaty of Melno (1422)
The Treaty of Melno or Treaty of Lake Melno was a peace treaty ending the Gollub War. It was
signed on September 27, 1422, between theTeutonic Knights and an alliance of the Kingdom of
Poland and the Grand Duchy of Lithuania at Lake Melno. The treaty resolved territorial disputes
between the Knights and Lithuania regarding Samogitia.
Treaty of Arras (1435)
The congress gave rise to the Treaty of Arras, which was signed in 1435 and became an
important diplomatic achievement for the French in the closing years of the Hundred Years' War.
Treaty of Lodi (1454)
The Treaty of Lodi, also known as the Peace of Lodi was a peace agreement between Milan,
Naples, and Florence signed on April 9, 1454 at Lodi in Lombardy, on the banks of the Adda. It
established permanent boundaries between Milanese and Venetian territories in Northern Italy,
along the river Adda. Some scholars have argued that the Treaty provided a proto-Westphalian
model of an inter-city-state system (as opposed to an inter-nation-state system) following a
century of incessant warfare in Northern Italy. It functioned to temporarily institutionalize a
regional balance of power in which outright warfare gave way to diplomacy.
Second Peace of Thorn (1466)
The Second Peace of Thorn of 1466 was a peace treaty signed in the Hanseatic city of Thorn
(Toru) on 19 October 1466 between the Polish king Casimir IV Jagiellon on one side, and the
Teutonic Knights on the other. The treaty concluded the Thirteen Years' War (14541466) which
had begun in February 1454 with the revolt of the Prussian Confederation.
Treaty of Constantinople (1479)
The Treaty of Constantinople was signed on January 25, 1479, which officially ended the fifteen-
year war between the Republic of Venice and the Ottoman Empire. The agreement was
established as a result of the Ottomans having reached the outskirts of Venice.
Treaty of Grenada (1491)
The Treaty of Granada was signed and ratified on November 25, 1491 between Boabdil, the
sultan of Granada, and Ferdinand and Isabella, the King and Queen of Castile, Len, Aragon and
Sicily. It ended the Granada War which had started in 1482, culminating in the siege and battle
of Granada beginning in spring 1491. The treaty guaranteed a set of rights to the Moors,
including religious tolerance and fair treatment in return for their surrender and capitulation. The
Alhambra Decree of March 1492 revoked some protections provided to Granadan Muslims and
Peace of Pressburg (1491)
The second Peace of Pressburg (also known as the Treaty of Pressburg) is a peace treaty
concluded in Pressburg that brought a resolution to the earlier Austrian-Hungarian War (1477-
1488). It was signed on 7 November 1491 between Maximilian I, Holy Roman Emperor and
King Vladislaus II of Bohemia and Hungary.
Treaty of Tordesillas (1494)
The Treaty of Tordesillas signed at Tordesillas on 7 June 1494, divided the newly discovered
lands outside Europe between Portugal and Spain along a meridian 370 leagues west of the Cape
Verde islands. It was intended to resolve the dispute that had been created following the return of
Christopher Columbus and his crew. The lands to the east would belong to Portugal and the
lands to the west to Spain. The treaty was ratified by Spain, 2 July 1494 and by Portugal, 5
September 1494.