Вы находитесь на странице: 1из 5

Rasis (signs)

In the quick overview, we learnt that the zodiac of 360 is divided into 12
equal parts of 30. We learnt these are called rasis (signs). We learnt the
definition of rasis. Different rasis have different properties and they stand for
different things. We will learn them in this small chapter.

Characteristics of Rasis

Limbs of Vishnu
The whole zodiac is nothing but a manifestation of Lord Vishnus body. Aries
is the head. Taurus is the face. Gemini is the arms. Cancer is the heart. Leo is
the stomach. Virgo is the hip. Libra is the space below navel. Scorpio is the
private parts. Sagittarius is the thighs. Capricorn is the knees. Aquarius is the
ankles. Pisces is the feet.

These are the limbs that rasis in the natural zodiac stand for. Because we are
all part of the Supreme energy governing this world, the above mapping
applies to us too. For example, we should pay attention to Leo for analyzing
stomach problems and to Pisces for analyzing problems related to feet and
so on.

Odd and Even

Ar, Ge, Le, Li, Sg and Aq are called odd rasis or vishama rasis or oja
rasis. They are also known as male rasis.

Ta, Cn, Vi, Sc, Cp and Pi are called even rasis or sama rasis or yugma
rasis. They are also known as female rasis.

This division is used in some dasas and in the determination of the sex of

Odd-footed and Even-footed

Ar, Ta, Ge, Li, Sc and Sg are called odd-footed rasis or vishamapada
rasis or ojapada rasis.

Cn, Le, Vi, Cp, Aq and Pi are called even-footed rasis or samapada rasis
or or yugmapada rasis.

This division is used in some dasas.

Movable, Fixed and Dual

Ar, Cn, Li and Cp are known as chara rasis or movable rasis. They are
ruled by Brahma, the Creator. Their nature is to move and to be dynamic.
Ta, Le, Sc and Aq are known as sthira rasis or fixed rasis. They are ruled
by Shiva, the Destroyer. Their nature is to be stable and constant.

Ge, Vi, Sg and Pi are known as dwiswabhava rasis or dual rasis. They
are ruled by Vishnu, the Sustainer.They are stable sometimes and dynamic

Rasis & Five Elements

According to Hindu philosophy, this world is made up of 5 elements fire,

water, air, earth and ether. Water is a substance with a flexible state. Air is a
substance with a varying state. Earth is a substance with a constant and
solid state. Fire is a substance that transforms the state of things. Ether is
something that is present everywhere.

For example, suppose one has a good memory and remembers something he
learnt 10 years back. It involves a skill of earthy nature. Suppose a poets
imagination creates a nice poem that appeals to ones aesthetic sense. This
involves watery skills. Suppose one is in a bad mood and his mind is
wandering aimlessly. This shows airy state of the mind. These 5 elements are
behind every material substance, every action, every thought, every emotion
and every happening in this universe.


Ar, Le and Sg are called agni rasis or fiery rasis.


Ta, Vi and Cp are called bhoo rasis or earthy rasis.


Ge, Li and Aq are called vaayu rasis or airy rasis.


Cn, Sc and Pi are called jala rasis or watery rasis.


The 5th element of aakaasa or ether is present in every rasi.

Let us see how these may be used. For example, the 5th house in ones chart
shows ones emotional nature. The 5th house in a fiery sign may show a
normally angry, aggressive or determined person. The 5th house in an earthy
sign may show a balanced, logical and stable person. The 5th house in an

airy sign may show someone with unstable and wandering emotions. The 5th
house in a watery sign may show one with an imaginative and creative mind.

Indications of Rasis

Aries: Dynamic, enterprising, valiant, ruddy, head, forests, large forehead,

hasty, impulsive, restless, thick eyebrows, leadership, overbearing, dry, lean,

Taurus: Beautiful, face, stable, sluggish, loyal, meadows, plains, luxury halls,
dining halls, eating places, fine teeth, large eyes, luxurious, faithful, thick
hair, stout.

Gemini: Chest, garden, communication, journalism, schools, colleges, study

rooms, cables, telephone, newspapers, tall, well-built, prominent cheeks,
thick hair, broad chest, curious, learned, jovial.

Cancer: Heart, breast, watery fields, rivers, canals, kitchen, food, attractive,
small build, emotional, deeply attached, mother-like, sensitive.

Leo: Stomach, digestion, navel, mountains, forests, caves, deserts, palaces,

parks, forts, boilers, steel factories, thin, dry, hot, royal, self-pride, insolent,

Virgo: Hip, appendix, lush gardens, fields, orchards, libraries, bookstores,

farms, intelligent, sharp, orator, nervous, physically weak, discretion,

Libra: Groins, Businessmen, markets, trade centers, banks, hotels,

amusement parks, entertainment, toilets, cosmetics, balanced, wise, good

Scorpio: Private parts, holes, deep caves, mines, garrages, small build, dusky
complexion, bright eyes, secretive, scheming, occult, best friend or a worst
enemy, peevish, sensitive.

Sagittarius: Thighs, royal, attorneys, government offices, aircraft, falling,

sparse hair, muscular, deep eyes, uproght, honest, genial, gambler.

Capricorn: Knees, marsh lands, watery places, alligators, beasts, bushes,

slender buils, long neck, prominent teeth, witty, perfectionist, patient,
organizer, cautious, secretive, pragmatic.

Aquarius: Ankles, charity, philosophy, tall, bony, small eyes, mountain spring,
places with water, ill-formed teeth, coarse hair, hard-working, stoic, honest.

Pisces: Feet, oceans, seas, prisons, hospitals, hermitages, short, plump, large
eyes, large eyebrows, lazy, emotional, timid, honest, irresolute, talkative,