Академический Документы
Профессиональный Документы
Культура Документы
Weak
Very weak
Greyhound
Total number of students: 600
Percentage of students ordering online on any given day: 30%
Average cost per meal of student: Rs 100
Monthly orders placed online: Rs 5,40,000
Assumption:
The survey done with a sample size of 10 students is representative of all students in the college
Data:
All data used in this calculation was derived through survey of 10 students
Wrong approach
Good
Bottom-up Approach
Footfall
Weekday:35000
Weekend:55000
Total Monthly footfall:1210000
Percentage of people shopping for lifestyle products of total shoppers:30%
Number of people entering Shopper Stop:363000
Conversion rate for modern retail:3%
People buying from Shoppers Stop: 10890
Average price of shopping cart: Rs 2500
Sales per month: Rs
4,90,05,000.00
Assumptions:
Shopping patterns of retail are similar to ecommerce
Average shopper shops for jeans/dress
Top-down approach
Revenue of Shopper Stop Ltd: Rs 3,855.41 (in crores)
Number of stores:70
Average revenue per store: Rs 55.07729 (in crores)
Sales per store per month :Rs 4.589774 (in crores)
Assumptions:
Revenue of stores are uniform
Data Sources
Footfall:http://mumbai.mallsmarket.com/malls/infiniti-mall-andheri-west
Ecommerce shopping pattern for various
categories:http://www.pwc.in/assets/pdfs/publications/2014/evolution-of-e-commerce-in-india.pdf
Conversion rate:http://retailstoreops.blogspot.in/2008/03/retailers-counting-on-conversion.html
Average price of commodities in mumbai:http://www.numbeo.com/cost-of-living/city_result.jsp?
country=India&city=Mumbai
Shopper Stop P&L statement:
http://www.moneycontrol.com/india/stockpricequote/retail/shoppersstop/SS51
Not convincing
Kachori Pakori
The Lunch and Dinner options available to the students of SPJIMR are Mess, Order Dabba (Tiffin Boxes),
Order Online and they can go out.Breakfast is generally done within the college campus, either at mess
or in bistro. Hence when SPJIMR students order online, they are either for lunch or for dinner. Moreover
the mess remains closed on wednesday night, when most of the people try other mentioned sources of
food. Hence we have decided to divide the number of orders in terms of how may lunch items were
ordered and how many dinner items were ordered.
Including PGP-2 and PGP-1 there are around 480 students inside the campus.(Ignoring students from
other streams)
The breakup is as follows
Lunch Items
Mess
Mon
260
Tue
260
Wed
260
Thu
150
Dabba
160
160
160
160
Online
30
30
30
140
Going Out
30
30
30
80
Total
480
480
480
480
Fri
Sat
Sun
260
260
100
160
160
160
30
30
100
30
30
120
480
480
480
Dabba
200
200
200
200
200
150
180
Online
110
110
130
110
110
60
110
Going Out
50
50
150
50
50
160
100
Total
480
480
480
480
480
480
480
mouthshut.com)
The andheri shoppers stop comes 5th with Malad at 4th place. If we divide equally we get = (50%of
60%of 70% of 226.125 crores)/7=6.78 crores.
As the andheri west ranks less than the median we are assuming that the the monthly revenue would be
less than the average. Hence we are assuming that rather than 14.2% the store would be contributing
close to 8% of the revenues. Hence the revenue by unitary method would be close to 3.79 crores per
month
Good
Regal recluse
Dividing eating habits as per duration of day:
Breakfast:
None
Lunch:
Normal working days
Only 10% of the students order online due to classes and schedules
Therefore: 5 X 0.1 X 600 X 150 = Rs. 45000
Thurday & Sunday
More people owing to holiday will prefer to order online
Therefore: 2 X 0.3 X 600 X 150 = Rs. 55000
Total orders in Lunch = Rs. 99,000/- ------ I
Dinner
Normal weekdays: more students will order online for dinner due to convenience of delivery unlike during
lunch hours
6 X 0.4 X 600 X 150 = 216000
Wednesday night : More people will order online since mess is closed
1 X 0.6 X 600 X 150 = 54000
Total Dinner Orders = Rs. 270000 ------- II
Total Weekly online orders: I + II
Rs. 3,69,000/Monthly online orders:
Rs 3,69,000/- X 4 = 1476000
ASSUMPTIONS
1. Total strength of Students at Spjimr = 600
2. Average order per person = Rs. 150
3. Girls hostel being closer to mess will prefer to eat in mess often, wherease boys will prefer other option
owing to the distance.
4. Wednesday night also includes outing specially in groups hence not much increase in percentage
ordering online.
(Since Not all people with internet access will shop online)
Demographic Breakup of this 0.168 Billion Population as per age groups
Age
0-14
0.05208 Billion
15-64 0.10668 Billion
>65
0.00890 Billion
------------------------- I
Average Frequency of Online Buying per year:
0-14:
0.1
(Parents buying for them; very few cases in select well off families. Therefore occurrence is low)
15-64: 0.7
---------- ----------- II
(Higher in the younger age group and lower in older end of the age group. Also frequency of buy varies
depending on geography, income levels, Hence assume using weighted average a freq. of 0.7)
>65
Negligible
From I & II
Total Orders: 79884000
Orders directed to flipkart: 19,971,000.00 (Assuming a market share of 30% in total e-retail market)
Orders per Month Handled by Flipkart: 1,664,250.00
Good
Weak
Ok
Weak
B29
Number of students 600
people ordering online/phone(20%) 120
value of order 150
total value of orders daily 18000
monthly value 540000
people ordering tiffin(20%) 120
value of order 150
total value of orders daily 18000
monthly value 540000
Total value of orders 216000
Weak
weak
ok
Silent Assassins
All calculations have been done taking into account the fact that students have options such as mess
food, Vrindavan and going out and ordering on phone other than making online orders.
Since most people prefer to go out in a group of 4 or 5 people when they want to have outside food or
order on phone, we can safely assume that no person orders online food more than 3 times a month.
Because there are many who order online even less than a month, we take this value to be twice a
month.
These orders are made in groups of 2-3 people as these orders are expensive and a minimum bulk order
is required to avail discount or to avail home delivery. So, the average expenditure of a student on a
single online order is Rs.200.
Hence, the value of online order placed by a student in a month = 2*200 = Rs.400
Now, seeing the number of students across all courses:
PGDM = 500 students
PGPM = 120 students
PGCIM = 100 students
Order value across all students of SPJIMR = Rs.400*(500+120+100) = Rs.288000
Weak
These calculations have been done considering the fact that Flipkart is used by only those who have
access to internet and deliveries are made only to those who live in areas that are accessible to the
company.
Internet penetration in India = 11%*1.2 billion = 132 million.
Out of all those who use the internet approx. 10% people use the internet for retail shopping = 10%*132
million = 13.2 million. Assuming that almost one in every three such people visit Flipkart daily.
Number of people who visit the site daily = 13.2 million/3 = 4.4 million.
The industry average says that the conversion rate of such sites is around 1%. Considering Flipkart to be
the largest online retail shop and selling all kinds of products from clothes to handloom to electronics and
books, the conversion rate for Flipkart can be taken on a higher side, say 2%.
So, Number of people who make purchase every day = 2%*4.4 million = 88k.
So monthly orders = 30*88K = 2.64 million.
Out of the total orders we can say that 60% orders are of single item, while 40% orders are of multiple
items.
Single item orders = 60%*2.64 million= 1.584
million(1)
Multiple item orders = 40%*2.64 million = 1.056 million
All the multiple item orders can be divided in three categories:
a) From warehouse:
Most of the orders are from warehouse. Taking this number on a higher side as 75%, we can say that
some orders go in different packages and some go in a single package. Orders in different packages are
considered to be separate deliveries even if the address and recipients of the two packages are same.
Assuming, approximately 12-15% orders go in different packages.
Number of orders in different packages = 13%*(75%*1.056 million) = 103K approx.
Number of orders that go in a single package = 87%*(75%*1.056 million) = 689K approx.
b) From third party:
Assuming around 15% orders are from marketplace = 15%*1.056 million = 158.4K. All of these orders go
in separate packages.
c) Mixed orders:
The rest 10% orders are both from warehouse and marketplace. These should invariably go in separate
packages. So, number of orders = 10%*1.056 million = 105.6K.
Out of all multiple item orders, number of orders that go in separate packages will thus be = 103K
+158.4K +105.6K = 367K.
All multiple item orders would be delivered in 3 packets average. The real numbers can be more than or
less than 3. So number of deliveries handled = 3*367K = 1.1 million.
Hence, total number of deliveries handled by Flipkart in a month = 1.1 million + 689K + 1.584 million =
3.373 million. Good
Population of Mumbai is 20 million. There are around 25 different areas in the city.
So, population of Andheri West can be estimated as =20million/25 = 800K.
Seeing that the population comprises of the working age people, students and old age population, where
some visit Infinity Mall more often than others, we assume that on an average every person visits the mall
once a month.
Being one of the largest retail chains in India and catering to needs of both genders (clothing,
accessories, cosmetics, shoes, perfumery, etc.), we assume that all those who visit the mall definitely go
to Shoppers Stop once.
During regular months (when there is no sale going on), out of all those who visit, around 10% might
result in shopping. The average basket size of these shoppers can be taken as Rs.2000.
Hence, the revenue shoppers stop earned per month = Rs.2000*(10%*800K) = Rs.160 million.
The Store has end of season sales twice a year in July and January,
Assuming that the conversion rate during this time increases to, say, 12% and the basket size increases
to approx. Rs.4000.
During this time, the revenue is Rs.4000*(12%*800k) = Rs.384 million
So, total revenue for 12 months = 160*10 + 384*2 = 1600+768 = Rs.2368 million.
Average monthly revenue = Rs.2368/12 months = Rs.197.33 million
Weak
Team guess
Answer : 6,21,120
Total number of students = 647
which includes PGP1(227), PGP2(230), PGPM(130),and PGCIM(60)
Let us assume that a student orders food online twice every week and the value of one order is Rs 120
Thus average monthly value = 647*8*120 = 6,21,120
Weak
Weak
Answer: Rs 96,30,000
We follow the number of customers in the billing counter per hour approach at shopper's stop which
depends on the time period of the day and whether it is a weekend or a weekday.
In a week day , number of people in the billing counter per hour for different time period of the day :
11 a.m. - 1 p.m. = 5/hour
1 p.m. - 4 p.m. = 15/hour
4 p.m. - 7 p.m. = 20/hour
7 p.m - 10 p.m = 25/hour
Total customers /weekday = 190people/day
In a week day , number of people in the billing counter per hour for different time of the day :
11 a.m. - 2 p.m. = 20/hour
2 p.m. - 6 p.m. = 25/hour
Wrong approach
Square one
Total monthly online order value is
366141
8.the proportion of these restaurants which encourage online order is based on the experience
9. As pointed out people usually prefer taking lunch in the places nearby college on weekday. So the no of
people ordering dinner is 4 time the no of people ordering lunch or ordering anytime
10.It is assumed that on an average 40% of the time student take dinner at mess.
Ok
1
0.25
0.5 0.2
2630750 263075
Good
Ok +
APP50
Step-1: Assumptions
1) Assuming students of only PGDM course i.e PGP-1 and PGP-2 for the calculation.
2) Value of orders is calculated as total value of order without any discount.
3) The value of orders is calculated taking the situation ceteris paribus, that means assuming no change
in discount coupons on McD and Foodpanda.
4) Including orders from desktop websites as well as from mobile apps.
OK
Step-1: Assumptions
1) If multiple products ordered by the same customer than counting it as multiple orders.
2) Assuming flipkart delivers all over India
3) Taking deliveries from all sellers like WS retails, techno etc.
Out of this returns around 50% returns will be made for exchange of product. So, total number of more
deliveries for exchanges = 50% of 7120 = 3500 per day
Total number of deliveries handled by flipkart in a day = 97000+3500 = 100500 deliveries per day
Total number of deliveries handled by flipkart in a month = 100500*30 = 3015000 deliveries per day
So, flipkart handles around 30 lakh 15 thousand deliveries per month.
Good +
Step 1: Assumptions
1. Visitors to the mall are people from Andheri West, Lokhandwala and Versova areas.
2. The value calculated is the actual bill amount which is paid by the customers after any applicable
discount
3. Number of people visiting each floor reduces gradually as we move from ground floor to 3rd floor.
4. All the people who visit the 3rd floor enter Shoppers Stop
Step 2: Division Of Calculation
1. Considering visitors only of Infinity mall.
2. Visitors on weekdays and weekends
3. Visitors with and without intention of shopping
4. Orders from different categories of products
5. Average value of order in each category
Step 3: Calculations
The total population of Mumbai (approx.) = 1 crore.
People living in Andheri West, Lokhandwala and Versova = 10% of 1 crore = 10 lakh
Assume there are 5 malls in the nearby locality. Infinity is the biggest mall out of these and 30% of the
mall-going people come to Infinity on a weekday.
Number of people going to Shoppers stop on weekdays and weekends will be calculated separately.
Weekdays
Assuming 10% of these people visit the malls per day on weekdays= 10% of 10 lakh = 1 lakh
Average footfall = 30% of total visitors to the malls per day
= 30% of 1 lakh = 30,000
People with intention of shopping for product categories available at Shoppers Stop = 30% of 30000
= 9000
People without intention of shopping = 30000-9000=21000
Taking the churn rate of 20 % (i.e. at each increase in the levels/floor, number of people visiting that floor
is reduced by 20%)
Visitors at 1st floor = 0.8x9000=7200
Visitors at 2nd floor = 0.8x7200=5760
Visitors at 3rd floor = 0.8x5760=4608
Even out of the 21000 people who do not intend to shop, we assume that 2% wander into the store
i.e. 0.02*21000 = 420
Total no people visiting the Store on a Weekday = 4608 + 420 = 5028 = 5000 approx.
From this we calculate the approximate number of families visiting the store. With an average of 3
members per family, number of visiting families = 5000/3 = 1600 approx
Weekend
Assuming 15% of people visit the malls per day on weekend= 15% of 10 lakh = 1.5 lakh
Average footfall at Infinity= 33% of total visitors to the malls per day
= 33% of 1.5 lakh = 50,000
(We are taking 33% because Infinity also houses Cinemax due to which proportion of visitors to the mall
increases)
People with intention of shopping for product categories available at Shoppers Stop = 30% of 5000
= 15000
= 12,60,00,000
Average Monthly Revenue of Shoppers Stop store is approx. 12.6 crores
Good +
OK
Ok
Answer: 9 Crore
Assumption: Primary catchment of Shoppers Stop are the people residing in Andheri West and Andheri
East
Sum of Population of Andheri East and West Wards is about 15,00,000 as per census
Assumption: Affluence (people who can afford going to the mall for shopping, food, etc) is about 30%
Therefore, people who would go the mall for shopping, etc. is= 30%*15,00,000=4,50,000
Assumption: People would go to the mall twice in a month
Therefore, total visits per month= 9,00,000
Of these people who would actually go for shopping=40% i.e. about 3,60,000
Assumption: Of the people who would go to mall for shopping, about 20% would go to Shoppers Stop
Therefore, people going to Shoppers Stop for shopping= 20%*3,60,000 which is about 72,000 people
Assumption: Conversion rate (people who would land up buying)=50%
Therefore, number of people who would shop= 50%*72,000 which is 36,000
Assumption: Average realization per person= Rs. 2,500
Average revenue per month for Shoppers Stop= Number of people who shop in a month* Average
realization
Therefore, Average revenue= 36,000*2,500 which is 90,000,000 (9 crore)
Ok
Blah Blah
Value: Rs 424800
Lets divide our discussion into various batches:
PGP-1
Strength:240
Month-1
In the initial month most of the students had their dinner within campus or went outside to see mumbai.
So we can assume that on an avg only a handful of student would have ordered from outside. Consider
this to be 5% daily for dinner. That would be only 12 people daily. Please note people would have known
only vrindavan and mauja which would cost around 80 rupees everyday. Also note only a handful people
would have ordered lunch. We can assume 5 people to order lunch. And the average order would be 80
per head.
Total: 30(80*12 + 80*5)
Other Months:
Now around 50 people have a dedicated mess coupon. It would be safe to assume that they will never
order from outside but they can order not more than twice in a month. The average Cost would be around
70 rupees for these.The remaining 190 students will either go out or order or will try their luck with
mess :). Let us assume 30 people go to mess. 20 eat outside the remaining 140 will order. Of these there
is dabba supply of 100 dabbas in cams being ordered. The maximum dabbas ordered are from Uttam
which takes 50% of the total supply. 50 dabbas are ordered from there which cost around 70, 35 dabbas
from Aditya which cost around 65 and remaining would cost 80. But please note there are people who will
share these dabbas. Let us consider 10 people share this.
Total cost so far: 50*70 + 35*65 +15*80
There are still 30 people who will have to order from outside. Out of these 10 will wait for midnight
canteen to open and other 20 would prefer to eat something good. Which would be either from biryani
house or mauja or anywhere else. That would cost around 120. But some might use some coupon and
would get it for 60. Taking a 50-50 possibility in this
Total cost so far: 50*70 + 35*65 +15*80 + 120*10 + 60*10
One day in a week is a holiday for mess. The mess will be closed and everyone has to order. So all 240
will have to eat outside or order from outside. The ones which order from outside will continue to do so.
50*70 + 35*65 +15*80 + 120*10 + 60*10
Now 80 people will have to see for food options. Most of them would like to go out and have it. 50%
people would eat outside. Of these 40 people 50% would again wait for night canteen to open. The
remaining 20 people would order either dabba or from outside but would like to keep their average budget
to 70. Total spending will be
50*70 + 35*65 +15*80 + 120*10 + 60*10 + 20*70 + 10*70
Total: 9*(4*(50*70 + 35*65 +15*80 + 120*10 + 60*10 + 20*70 + 10*70) + 26(50*70 + 35*65 +15*80 +
120*10 + 60*10)) + 30(80*12 + 80*5)
Excluded one month for DOCC and other holidays like diwali
PGP-2
Total Strength:240
Lets divide the life of PGP-2 in two halves pre autumns and post autumns.
Pre Autumns:
Under this scenario we believe PGP-2 would follow the same distribution as PGP-1 because they too
would like to spend most of the time in campus
3*(4*(50*70 + 35*65 +15*80 + 120*10 + 60*10 + 20*70 + 10*70) + 26(50*70 + 35*65 +15*80 + 120*10 +
60*10))
During Autumns:
There are a few people who stay in campus during interns. We can assume these to be 30 people. We
can assume of these 10% order dabba. These 10 people would order a dabba of approx 70 rupees for 2
months.
10*70*60
Post Intern:
Of the 240 people only handful eat in mess. We can assume them to be 30 people. 210 people have to
arrange for their food. Its the time that they would like to enjoy and would normally go out. Out of 210
people 70% would eat outside,63 people would have arrange for their food. However there are few
prefers dabba. Of these 63 people, 30 people would go for dabba. Average order is 70 rupees. Remaining
15 would wait for night canteen and rest 18 would go for something good like 100 rupees on average
=(30*70 + 18*100)7*30
Other Courses Available
Other students from PGCIM, PGPM, FMB etc also form part of our students group. These would be
around 80 people in campus. OF these FMB hardly calls for tiffin. PGCIM does order tiffin at times and we
can assume just 15% people order dabba. However other programs do order food from outside. Around
20% order from outside with an approx order of Rs110
Total: 12*30*(16*110+12*70)
Ok
Weak
Value: Rs 57774805.33
Lets divide our entire discussion on 2 grounds. A month with a sale and a month without a sale.
Month Of Sale
This is again divided as per weekend and weekday
WeekEnd
On a weekend we can assume almost 5000 people visit shopperstop. It has been noted the number of
men is normally more in shopperstop than woman. We divide the public in 3000 men to 2000 women. Of
these only 40% population is married. Which is 40% of women that is equal to 800 couples. Of these 800
couples only 30% will have kids, that would mean 240 couples.
Single men: 2200
Single Female: 1200
Married men and Female: 800
MArried men and female with kids: 240
The single men have a poor purchasing power and normally don't plan their visits. Hence are more
unlikely to buy stuff. I have considered them buying has a probability of 50% during sale however single
women is more likely to buy and can have a probability of 70%. But a married couple will have even a
higher probability to buy merchandise with a probability of 85% in sales.
When it comes to buying cloths single men in sales would spend around 2000 rupees. But of these 2200
men some will belong to very high class family would spend in either case. They will for just 5% of the
population which will be 110 and they can spend around 8000 on all itesm on offer. and single female to
purchase around 3000. But females might also invest in leather bag and makeup kit but that would be
only niche segment. We can assume of the 1200 females who come only 10% are from filthy rich families.
These 120 female would spend around 10,000 on an avg which will include make up cloths footwear and
may be jewellery.
Total so far: (2000*2090 + 110*8000)*.5 +(1080*3000+ 120*10000)*.7
Now we consider families with kids. These family have a planned visit and will buy stuff with a probability
of .85. They will have a high expenditure as the average purchase per family will be 5000. But some of
these families might be so rich that they will buy their kids cloths and other merchandise from store itself
that may also be due to convenience. Hence of the 240 people we can assume they buy kids wear of avg
price 800 with a probability of 60%. And the 800 families with high purchasing power will form 10% who
will spend 15k on themselves.
Total So Far: (2000*2090 + 110*8000)*.5 +(1080*3000+ 120*10000)*.7 + .85(240*.6*800 + 80*15000 +
720*5000)
WeekDays:
On a weekday there is little footfall. We can consider a footfall of 700 people this time. Of these 700 we
can expect only 40 couples to turn up. So the remaining 620 people will be single men and women. single
men/women will follow the same ratio of 3:2. Men = 142*3 Female = 142*2
Since its a sale the purchasing power and the probability of buying will hold the same for everyone as
mentioned up.
Single Male: 426 --- (2000*405 + 8000*21)*.5
Single Female: 284 --- (256 * 3000 + 28*10000)*.7
Married people with/without kids (We are assuming families with kid will be only 10% on this population as
they would like to take rest after a day work--.85(4*.6*800 + 4*15000 + 36*5000)
Final on WeekDay: (2000*405 + 8000*21)*.5 + (256 * 3000 + 28*10000)*.7 + .85(4*.6*800 + 4*15000 +
36*5000)
Total Month revenue during sale: 8* ((2000*2090 + 110*8000)*.5 +(1080*3000+ 120*10000)*.7) +
22*((2000*405 + 8000*21)*.5 + (256 * 3000 + 28*10000)*.7 + .85(4*.6*800 + 4*15000 + 36*5000))
Ok +
Devavrat
Assuming there are at least 1000 students at a given time in the campus including PGDM, PGPM
During lunch, assuming half of the students dont have the last class in the morning, as PGP2, PGPM are
in placements, assuming the floating student population and with at least one PGP1 section having a free
session, and order online.
Assuming 50% of this 500 place order online and rest place order on phone at vrindavan.
For the rest 50 % i.e. 250 students, assuming an order value of 300 per head through food panda,
dominos, McD or any other online food portal, the order value is 250 * 300 = 75000
During night assuming the number of students who place order online as 30% of total population, order
value per day is .3* 1000* 300 = 90000
During the Wednesday nights where the mess is unavailable, assuming 70% order online, the order
amounts to .7 *1000* 300 = 210000
On an average monthly order value = 4*210000 + 26 * ( 75000 + 90000) = 51,30,000
Weak
Out of 1.2 billion Indian population, assuming 20 % are internet users ie 24 cr.
Assuming flipkart has 3 crores registered customers. Further assuming 40 % of them visit on a daily basis
i.e 1.2 crores.
Of the 12 crs, assuming 50 % places an order that is 60 lakh orders per day.
Assuming 70 % of the order from the tier 1 cities where In-a-Day Guarantee (50 cities) and Same-DayGuarantee (13 cities) is available, 20 % from tier two where order is delivered in a week and 10% orders
from tier 3 and 4 cities where the order may take 2 weeks or more to deliver.
Based on the above assumptions, the total number of deliveries in a month is approximately,
= .7 * 60 + .2 * 60 + .5 * 60 ( assuming 5% of tier 3 and 4 orders gets delivered in the month under
consideration)
= 57 lakh orders in a month on an average across India.
Weak
Assuming, on an average 3000 visit infinity mall, average that includes the holidays, discount seasons,
weekends and other occasions.
Assuming at least 50% of it, i.e. 3000*.5 = 1500 visits the Shoppers stop
Applying per the 1% rule, 89% visit and may buy between 0 and 1000, assuming an average of 500. So
revenue from this stream is 1500*0.89*500 = 667500
10% buy about 1000 to 5000. Assuming an average purchase of 2500. Revenue contributed by this
segment is 1500*.0.1*2500 = 375000
1% contributes to the major shopping ranging from 5000 to upper limits. Assuming an average shopping
of 8000. Revenue contribution by this segment is 1500*.01*8000 = 120000
Total revenue per day = 120000+667500+375000 = 1162500
Average sales per month is = 30 * 1162500 = 3,48,75,000
Approximately 3.5 crores.
Weak
X&Y
PGP 1 students : 227
PGP 2 students : 232
PGPM : 105
PGCIM : 36
FMB : Not applicable since they do not eat from online order, they inevitably go out to have food in large
groups.
No. of days off for people in SPJIMR in a week is 2 days (Thursday and Sunday)
People go out mostly on Thursdays (dinner), Sundays (dinner) and the night before i.e. Wednesday
nights and Saturday nights. So online order of food is less than other days during lunch and dinner time.
Also people go out more in the night for dinner than in daytime for lunch.
On days other than Thursday (lunch and dinner), Sunday (lunch and dinner) Wednesday (dinner) and
Saturday (dinner)
Assumptions
20% of SPJIMR students orders online for all other meals (diner only). Generally lunch is not taken into
consideration for those days since students have class weekdays and choose to have lunch from mess or
brick and mortar restaurants and college canteens. Average order value is Rs. 120/- per person. No. of
meals is 3 (dinner of Monday, Tuesday and Friday). So total value is (No. of students * 20% * Average
Order Value * No. of Meals) = (600*0.2*120*3) = Rs. 43200.
During Thursday lunch and Sunday lunch, people order more from online than going out to a long way to
mess. So we assume 30% of the batch orders online and orders for worth Rs 150/- per person. So total
value is Rs (600*0.3*150*2) = Rs 54000.
Lastly dinner on Wednesdays, Thursdays, Saturday and Sunday, people eat out more than order online.
But those who orders online order eateries worth more than normal days. So we assume only 10% of the
SPJIMR students orders food from online but average order size is Rs. 200/- per person. So total value is
Rs. (600*0.1*200*4) = Rs 48000.
So total Weekly order of food is 145200. Thus monthly online order of food is (145200*30)/7 = Rs.
622285.
OK
Gross Annual Merchandise value for Flipkart= $1.25 Billion (approx)
Avg. exchange rate in 2014-15= Rs.62 per $
OK
OK
Population of India = 125 cr
Internet penetration = 15-16%
Total internet users in India = 20 cr (approx.)
Around 10% of the total internet users shop online = 2 cr
Top online sellers are Flipkart,Amazon,Snapdeal,Myntra,Jabong and several other small players.
Of all these Flipkart has around 25% of the market share.
Hence , approx. 25% of 2 cr = 50L shoppers buy from Flipkart in a year( ignoring the abrupt peak of
demand during Big Billion Day and heavy discounts).
Assuming an average of 15 orders per customer per year, Flipkart handles around 15*50L = 7.5cr orders
per year i.e. approx. 62.5 lakh orders per month.
Alternative solution:
Going by the data from the Analytics sites ,total traffic for Flipkart per day = 2.5 lakh per day
Bounce rate of flipkart.com = 18%
Hence no. of orders per day for Flipkart = 2.5*(1-0.18) =2 lakh orders per day
Therefore , no of orders per month = 2*30 = 60 lakh orders per month
Ans - 13,92,000
Assumptions 1. Total Dabbas ordered from various sources = 120 so they won't be taken into consideration.
2. Total Pizzas and other online food orders ordered per day = 180
0
as Shoppers stop is not there on the third floor of the Infinity Mall in Andheri West :P