Вы находитесь на странице: 1из 3


r Subhagodaya Stuti Some Important Concepts of r Vidy

(No IAST fonts are used in this article)
Sri Subhagodaya Stuti was written by Sri Gaudapadacharya, Sriguru of Sri Adi Shakaracharya.
Subhaga means Sri Maha Tripurasundari. Praise of Sri Maha Tripuradundari is known as
Subhagodaya Stuti. This text is totally based on Samayachara method of Srividyopasana. In this
work, the author has differentiated Samayachara and Kaulachara. There are total fifty two verses
in this work. Some of the important points of this Stuti are translated and given in this present
1. Meaning of paravsata: As per vaidikachara, there are 26 tattwa-s. Sadasiva is 25 th tattwa and
26th is the para tattwa which is with Sadasiva and is known as Saadakhya kala. In sahasrara Sri
Devi stays with Siva and that state is called as paravasta.
2. As per Subhagodaya, Rudra grandhi is above Swadhishtana chakra, Vishnu grandhi is above
Anahata Chakra and Brahma grandhi is above Ajna Chakra.
Note: This order is not in agreement with Sri Lalitha Sahasranama. As per Sri Lalita
Sahasranama, Order is Brahma grandhi is above Muladhara, Vishnu grandhi is above Manipur
and Rudra grandhi is above Ajna.
3. States of Kundalini: As per Taittireeyaranya (Aruna patha), kundalini has three states. They are
1) Kaumara 2) Yoshid and 3) Pativrata. Sahasra dala padma is in centre of Sricharka. This
sahasra dala padma is known as Hiranmayakosa. This is Bindu sthana. A ray of light (jyoti) is
present around this bindu. A sadhaka has to move the kundalini to this Bindu sthana. While
kundalini starts its journey to this point it will cross all above given states ie. Kaumara, Yoshida
and Pativrata. Kaumara state is the state where kundalani is in sleeping mode at Muladhara.
Yoshida state is the state when it crosses Vishnu grandhi at Anahata. Pativrata state is the state
when kundalini reaches Sahasra and stay with her console Siva. This place is also known as
Chandra mandala. From here she bless the sadhaka with Amrita dhara. (Flow of amrita). At this
stage, Sridevi and Siva unite and show no difference between them i.e. only one state that is
Sadakhya kala. Hence, kundalini is known as Mahakala Bhujagi.
4. Place of Bindu in Srichakra: Bindu sthana is known as Kula Griha (Kula house). Also
known as Sudha sindhu. This is the living place of Srimatha. For Samayacharis, sudha sindhu is
sahasrara and for Kaulacharis sudha sindhu is Muladhara. Hence, for Kaulachari, bindu will be
in innermost triangle of Srichakra but for Samayacharis bindu is out of the innermost triangle
and is in sqaure which is above the innermost triangle. It is said that, worshipping bindu in
trikona is Avaidika i.e. agaisnt Vedachara.
5. Some samayacharis say that, there is avyakta (=not visible) triangle in square which is
resemblence of Rakti, in that there is bindu.

6. Rays of Agni, Surya and Chandra: There are 108 rays of Agni, 116 rays of Surya and 136 rays
of Chandra. All these put together 360 rays which form as Hayana(=year). Placement of these
rays in shat chakras is as follows:


Rudra grandhi, Agni

Vishnu grandhi, Surya
Brahma grandhi, Soma

These rays emanate from Srimata and form as avarana devatas. Hence, technically speaking
there is no difference between Srimata and all other avana devatas.
Note: This could be the one of the reason for worshipping Srimahatripurasundari in each
avarana puja of Srichakra puja.
7. Nada has four states. They are para, pasyanti, madhyama and vaikhari. These four states can
be contemplated with Srichakra. Innermost triangle (=Sarva Sidhiprada charka) is Para, Pasyanti
is Astakona (Sarva Rogahara chakra), Dasara dwaya (Sarva Rakshakara chakra and
Sarvardhasadhaka chakra) are Madhyama and Chaturdasara (Sarva Saubhagyadayaka) is
Vaikhari. Thats why Srichakra is also known as Nada.
8. Trimekhala (= Three circles in Srichakra): There are three cicles in Srichakra. Generally, they
are between Bhupura and Sarvasaparipuraka chakra. But as per Subhgodayastuti, They are like
Two circles at outside and inside of Sarvasankshobhana chakra i.e. 3rd avarana, and
One at outside of 2nd avarana i.e.Sarvasaparipurka chakra.
Above is as per Samayachara. As per Kaulachara, three circles are between Bhupura and
Sarvasaparipuraka chakra.
9. Srividyopasana can be practiced by anyone without any restrictions of caste, creed and sex.
Persons who worship Indra, tattwas etc without knowing and worshipping Srividya, they will be
bound with yama pasa and enter into Andha-tamisra lokas.
10. There are Seventy seven (77=64+8+5) tantras which promulgate Srividya. Out of these
seventy seven, 64 are based on Vama and Kaulachara. These tantras will give materialistic
advantages but not give moksha. These are against Veda achara. Hence these are not to be
practiced espectially by Dwijas.
Chandrakala vidyas are eight tantras. They are 1) Chandrakala 2) Jyotsnavati 3) Kalanidhi 4)
Kularnavamu 5) Kuleswari 6) Bhuvaneswari 7) Barhasptyamu 8) Durvasamatamu. All four
varnas i.e.Brahmana, Kshatriya, Vaisya and Sudra have authority to practice these tantras. But,
first three varnas have to practice in Dakshina marga and others have to practice in Vama marga.

Since these tantras have both Dakshina and Vama marga, they are known as Misrma tantras and
should be avoided.
Last five tantras are known as Subhagama panchakaas. They are as per Vaidika marga. Vasista,
Sanaka, Suka, Sanandana and Sanatkumara have promulgated these Vaidika marga tantras.
Samayachara follows these agamas. These agamas are as per Vedas and hence Samayachara
11. Rishi and Chandas: Initially, Srividya was practiced by twelve sadhakas. One of such
sadhaka is Manmadha. This Manmadha has opened pancha dasakshari varnas to lokas. Hence he
is mantra drashta and is Rishi of this Srividya. Taittereeya brahmana and aaranyakaas have
pronounched that Rishi of Srividya is Manmadha. This pancha dasakshari is to be practiced in
Gayatri chandas.
12. When and how this vidya is to be practiced?: Srividya is to be practiced during night time
only. This is because, as per taittireeya samhita, kundalini will be activated during night time
only. During that time madhu (sudha) will flood from Chandra mandala. Hence, Srividya is to be
practiced during night time only.
Fifteen Chandra kala-s are there in Ajna Chakra. Sodasi kala is at Bindu sthana which is at
Sahasrara. Hence Sahasrara is known as chandra mandala where Chandra bimba is present. This
sahasrara is filled with moon light. During amavasya (=No moon day) this Sodasi kala is without
Chandra bimba and is unable to cause flow of Sudha. For Samayacharis, square above the
innermost triangle is Chandra Mandala/Sahasrara where bindu is present. Hence, on amavasya
day one should not practice Srividya.
As per samayachara, bahya puja should not be practiced. One should not enter Srimannagaram
(Srichakra) by reciting Rishi and Chandas. In internal worship, there is no Rishi and Chandas.
This internal worship will lead the Sadhaka to become Srimata himself. Bahya puja is prohibitted
for Trivarna-s i.e.Brahmana, Kshatriya and Vaishya.
Note: Here it is important to remember SriLalitaRahasya Nama Antarmukhasamardhya,
bahirmukha sudurlubha