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Lecture13:Introductionto
ComputationalAdvertising(Part1)
ManishGupta
26th Sep2014
Slidesborrowed(andmodified)from
http://pierre.senellart.com/enseignement/20092010/inf396/4Recommandation/CompAdv.pdf
http://www.stanford.edu/class/msande239/
1
RecapofLecture12:AnalysisofMicroblogs
(Part2):LocationPrediction
LocationPredictionusingTweetContent
LocationPredictionusingSocialTies
ApplicationsofLocationPrediction
TodaysAgenda
IntroductiontoComputationalAdvertising
DisplayAds
TextualAds
Auctions
TodaysAgenda
IntroductiontoComputationalAdvertising
DisplayAds
TextualAds
Auctions
Introduction
WhyisComputationalAdvertisingImportant?
Multibilliondollarbusiness
Suppliesmostoftherevenueforsearchengines
Whydoesitwork?
massivescale,automated
learnfromthedata
Adtypes
Sponsoredsearchwhichservesadsinresponseto
searchqueries
Contentmatchwhichplacesadsonthirdpartypages
Displayadvertisingorbanneradsorgraphicalads
5
SponsoredSearchAd
ContextMatchAd
DisplayAd(BannerAd)
ComparisonofComputationalAdswithTraditional
Ads
Classical
Relativelyfewvenuesmagazines,billboards,newspapers,
handbills,TV,etc
Highcostpervenue($3MilforaSuperBowlTVad)
Nopersonalizationpossible
Targetingbythewisdomofadpeople
HardtomeasureROI
Computationalalmosttheexactopposite
Billionsofopportunities
Billionsofcreatives
Totallypersonalizable
Tinycostperopportunity
Muchmorequantifiable
ContextualAdBasics
Fourentities
ThepublisheristheownerofWeb
pagesonwhichadvertisingis
displayed.
Theadvertiserprovidesthesupplyof
ads.
Theadnetwork(exchange)isa
mediatorbetweentheadvertiserand
thepublisher,whoselectstheads
thatareputonthepages.
EndusersvisittheWebpagesofthe
publisherandinteractwiththeads.
Revenue models
CPM: Cost Per iMpression
CPC: Cost Per Click
CPV: Cost Per Visitor
CPA/CPT: Cost Per
Action/Transaction
Problems
Manualorautomatedreviewprocessto
ensurethatadvertisercontentisinfact
relevanttothetargetkeyword
Matchingadvertisercontenttouserqueries
astheyarereceived
Displayingadvertisercontentinsomerank
order
Gatheringdata,measuringclicks,charging
advertisersbasedonconsumerclicks,etc.
10
RevenueModels
UnderCPM:Revenue=N*CPM
UnderCPC:Revenue=N*CTR*CPC
CPCdependsonauctionmechanism
UnderCPA:Revenue=N*CTR*Conv.Rate*CPA
Revenuedependence
CPM:websitetraffic
CPC:+adrelevance
CPA:+landingpagequality
From1stto3rd:morerelevantforadvertisers,
biggerpricesandbids!
11
TodaysAgenda
IntroductiontoComputationalAdvertising
DisplayAds
TextualAds
Auctions
12
DisplayAds/BannerAds/GraphicalAds
Justpickads
graphicallydisplayed
mostlyforbrandawareness
revenuemodelistypicallyCPM
Adsaretargetedatparticulardemographics
GMadsonYahooautosshownto"malesabove55"
Mortgageadshownto"everybodyYahooFrontpage"
Bookaslotwellinadvance
"2MimpressionsinJannextyear"
impressionsguaranteedbytheadnetwork!
13
DisplayAdsProblems
Twotypesofonlinegraphicaladvertising
Guaranteeddelivery(GD)
Performancegraphicaladvertising(nonguaranteeddelivery,
NGD)
Guaranteeddelivery
Contractbookedbasedontargetingattributesofanimpression:
age,income,location,
Eachcontracthasadurationandadesirednumberof
impressions
IssuesinGD
Contractpricing
Trafficforecasting
Optimalimpressionallocationtotheactivecontracts
Demographicsoverlap
Howmuchwilladvertiserswanteachdemographic
14
PerformanceofDisplayAds
Graphicaladscanalsobeplacedbasedon
performanceCPM/CPC/CPA
OptimizationProblemDefinition=MaxCTR
Matchingapproaches
Reactive:exploretheplacementofaparticularadon
differentpages;foreachpageobserveachievedCTR;once
theCTRsarelearned,givenpage,picktheadwithhighest
observedCTR
Predictive:generatefeaturesfortheadusingrelatedads
(sameadvertiser),landingpage,oradvertisermetadata
predictperformancebasedonpageandadfeatures
Hybrid:(1)and(2)arecomplementaryandcanbe
combined
15
TodaysAgenda
IntroductiontoComputationalAdvertising
DisplayAds
TextualAds
Auctions
16
TextualAds:ContentMatchandSponsoredSearch
Ads
Contentmatch
Pickadsbymatchingthemtocontent
Theuserintentisunclear
Sponsoredsearch
Givenasearchquery
Pickadsbymatchingthemtothequery
Userdeclaresherintention
QueryisshortandlessnoisythanContentMatch
17
AnatomyofaSponsoredSearchAd
18
TextualAdSchema
19
MainIssues
Givenaquery
Selectthetopkadstobeshownonthekslotsin
ordertomaximizetotalexpectedrevenue
Whataffectsthetotalrevenue
Relevanceoftheadtothequery
Bidsontheads
Userexperienceonthelandingpage(adquality)
20
SelectinganAd
Eachparticipanthasitsownutility
AdvertiserswantROIandvolume
Userwantsrelevance
Publisherwantsrevenueperimpressions/search
Adnetworkwantsrevenueandgrowth
Adselection:optimizeforagoalthatbalancestheutilitiesofthefour
participants
IRbasedAdRelevanceComputation
Useasearchenginetomatchadstocontext
Adsarethedocuments
Context(userqueryorwebpagecontent)arethequery
Problem:wordmatchesmightnotalwayswork
Needtoextracttopicalinformation
Bidvalueforad(usuallysecondpriceauctionisused)
Machinelearningfromclicks
EstimateCTR=Pr(click|ad,query,user)
AdAdsimilarity&collaborativefiltering
21
AdSelectionApproaches
Exactmatch
Theadsbidphrasematchesthequery
Needquerynormalization
Cannotbidonallfeasiblequeries
Broadmatch:translatethequeryintobidphrases
Theadplatformfindsgoodadsforagivenquery(the
advertiserdidnotbidonthatspecifickeyword,but
thequeryisdeemedofinteresttotheadvertiser)
Pricingcanbemisleading
SignificantportionofthetraffichasnobidsL
22
QueryRewriting
Rewritetheuserquery into
Useexactmatchtoselectadsfor
Offlinevs online
Offlinecanbedoneonlyforqueriesthatrepeatoften
Online
UsingSearchlogs(frequentrewritesfromquerylogs)
Forrarequeriesofflinenotpracticalorsimplydoesnotwork
Lotlesstimetodoanalysis(afewms)
insertions:gamecodes>videogamecodes
substitutions:johnwayne bust>johnwayne statue
deletions:skateboardingpics>skateboarding
spellcorrection:realeastate >realestate
specialization:jobs>marineemployment
UsingClicks
SimRank onbipartitegraphofqueriesandads
Edgeweightscouldbe#clicksfor(ad,query)pairorCTR
Iterativecomputation
Twoqueriesaresimilariftheyareconnectedtosimilarads
Twoadsaresimilariftheyareconnectedtosimilarqueries
pc
10
20
camera
Digital
camera
5 30
7
Bestbuy.
com
15
Teleflora.
com
tv
16
flower
Hp.com
15
Orchids.
com
SimilarQueries
Camera DigitalCamera
pc camera
pc digitalcamera
tv camera
tv digitalcamera
pctv
23
AdRelevancebyOnlineLearning
Offline(batched)learning
Learnedfromhistoricaldata
Slowresponsetoemergingpatterns
Initialbiasesnevercorrected
ifthesystemnevershowedgolfclassesforiPoditcan
neverlearnifthismatchingisgood.
OnlineLearning
combineexploitationwithexploration
pickadsthataregoodaccordingtocurrentmodel
pickadsthatincreaseyourknowledgeaboutthe
entirespaceofads
24
OnlineContentMatching
WebadvertisingfortwotypesofWebpages
Staticpage(Offline):Matchingofadscanbebasedon
prioranalysisoftheirentirecontent
Workswellforstaticcontentpagesthataredisplayed
repeatedly
Dynamicpage(Online):Adsneedtobematchedto
thepagewhileitisbeingservedtotheenduser.Thus,
limitingtheamountoftimeallottedforitscontent
analysis.
Whenauserviewsapage,theadselection
enginehasonlyacouplehundredmillisecondsto
providetheads.
25
CollaborativeFilteringConnection
TraditionalIRbasedonfixedqueryresultrelevance
Ads:RankbyCTRprobability
ContinuousCTRfeedbackforeach(query,ad)pair
Learnthebestmatchbetweenauserinagivencontext
andasuitableadvertisement
Dataissparse,inordertogetthebestmatch,weneed
tofindsimilarads,pages,andusers
Makeuseofdyadicinteractionsystems
(recommendationsystems)
Notedyadisapair:(user,movie),(user,ad),etc.
Predictresponsetounknowndyadsusingcollaborative
fitering
26
SponsoredSearch(BigPicture)
Adscorpus=Bidphrases+Title+URL+landingpage
Adquery=Searchkeywords+context(location,userprofile,search
history)
SponsoredSearch:Context=Websearchresults
Contentmatch,banners:Context=Publisherpage
Adsearchissimilartowebsearchbutwiththesedifferences
Addatabaseissmaller
Addatabaseentriesaresmall
RankingdependsalsoonbidsandCTRs
Thequery(currentpage)canbemuchlargerthanthetarget
document
Findingthebesttextualadisaninformationretrievalproblemwith
multiple,possiblecontradictoryutilityfunctions
27
InteractionsinSponsoredSearch
Advertisers
Submitadsassociatedtocertainbidphrases
Bidforposition
PayCPC
Users
Makequeriestosearchengine,expressingsomeintent
Searchengine
Executesqueryagainstwebcorpus+otherdatasources
Executesqueryagainsttheadcorpus
DisplaysaSearchResultsPage(SERP)=integrationofweb
results,otherdata,andads
28
CPCCosts
29
BudgetandOtherFactors
Advertiserscanspecifybudgets
Budgetscanbeimplementedasfollows
Spenditquicklytilloutofmoney
Spenditslowlytillendofday
Spenditasthesearchengineseesfit
Spenditonacertaindemographyofusersonly
Therearesometimesreserveprices=minimum
costtobeshownonagivenkw(dependsonkw)
Therearesometimesminimumbids=
minimumbidrequiredtoparticipateinaction
(coulddependonadvertiserandkeyword)
30
ThreeProblemsforaSearchEngine
Adretrieval
Matchtoquery/context
Orderingtheads
Pricingonaclickthrough
31
TodaysAgenda
IntroductiontoComputationalAdvertising
DisplayAds
TextualAds
Auctions
32
ShortIntroductiontoGameTheory
Setofplayers.
Asetofstrategiesavailabletothoseplayers(eachhasits
ownset)
Aspecificationofpayoffsforeachplayerforeach
combinationofstrategies.
Eachplayerspayoffdependsonthestrategychosenby
everyotherplayer!
Dominantstrategy
Strategy=acompletedefinitionofhowaplayerwillplaya
game.
StrategyX(foraplayer)dominatesanotherstrategyYifforall
choicesbyotherplayer(s),XyieldsatleastasmuchpayoffasY.
StrategyXisdominantifitdominatesallotherstrategies.
33
NashEquilibrium
Nashequilibrium=choiceofstrategiesinwhicheachplayer
isassumedtoknowtheequilibriumstrategiesoftheother
players,andnoplayerhasanythingtogainbychanginghis
ownstrategyunilaterally.
Purestrategy=deterministicdefinitionofhowaplayerwill
playagame
Mixedstrategy=anassignmentofprobabilitiestoeach
purestrategytheplayersthrowcoinstopickthestrategy
theyfollow
AgamecouldhavemanyNashequilibria ornone,ifplayers
mustfollowpurestrategies.
Nashtheorem:Ineverynplayergameinwhichevery
playerhasfinitelymanypurestrategiesthereexistsasetof
mixedstrategiesthatformsaNashequilibrium.
34
GameTheoryforAds
Advertisersmakebids(theirmoves)
Advertiserseekattentionandvolume prefer
higherpositions
Enginesorderadsandpriceclicksaccordingto
somerulesknowntoallbidders
Thebidderscanallkeepreactingtoeach
other
35
TypesofAuctions
Firstpricesealedbid
Biddersplacetheirbidinasealedenvelope
Simultaneouslygivethemtotheauctioneer.
Highestbidderwins,payshisbid.
Secondpricesealedbidauctions(Vickrey auctions)
Biddersplacetheirbidinasealedenvelope
Simultaneouslygivethemtotheauctioneer.
Highestbidderwins,payspriceequaltothesecondhighestbid.
OpenAscendingbidauctions(Englishauctions)
Priceissteadilyraisedbytheauctioneer
Biddersdropoutoncethepricebecomestoohigh.
Eventuallythereisonlyonebidderwhowinstheauctionatthecurrentprice.
OpenDescendingbidauctions(Dutchauctions)
Pricestartsatinfinityandissteadilyloweredbytheauctioneer
Thefirstbiddertoacceptthecurrentprice,wins
Paysthecurrentprice.
36
SecondPriceAuction(Vickrey Auction)
Allbuyerssubmittheirbidsprivately
Buyerwiththehighestbidwins;paystheprice
ofthesecondhighestbid
37
Truthfulness(IncentiveCompatibility)ofVickrey
Auction
Anauctionmechanismistruthful,ifthedominantstrategyforevery
playeristotruthfullybidtheirownvalue.
Tellingthetruthisoptimalinsecondprice(Vickrey)auction
Supposeyourvaluefortheitemis$100;ifyouwin,yournetgain
(loss)is$100price
Ifyoubidmorethan$100
Youincreaseyourchancesofwinningatprice>$100
Youdonotimproveyourchanceofwinningfor<$100
Ifyoubidlessthan$100
Youreduceyourchancesofwinningatprice<$100
Thereisnoeffectonthepriceyoupayifyoudowin
Dominantoptimalstrategy:bid$100
Key:Thepriceyoupayisoutofyourcontrol
Vickreys NobelPrizedueinlargeparttothisresult!
38
VickreyClarkGroves(VCG)
GeneralizationofVickrey
Worksforarbitrarynumberofgoods,includingallowing
combinationbids
Auctionprocedure:
Collectbids
Allocategoodstomaximizetotalsocialvalue(goodsgotothosewho
claimtovaluethemmost)=maximumweightedmatching
Payments:Eachbidderbpayshisexternality=(maxTSVwithoutbs
participation)(maxTSVforeveryoneelsewhenbparticipates)
NB:(maxTSVforeveryoneelsewhenbparticipates)=maxweighted
matchingwithoutb&withoutbsitems.
Incentivecompatible(truthful)=allthebiddersdobestwhenthey
bidtheirtruevaluei.e.revealtheirprivateinformation
39
VCGExample
MaxmatchingwithoutAlicedoesnotdependonherbids
MaxmatchingwithoutAliceandherassignedappledoesnotdependonherbids
PricepaidbyAliceforherappledoesnotdependonherbid
Shouldnotbidmorethanhervaluemightpaytoomuch!
Shouldnotbidlessmightnotgetit!
ThusVCGleadstotruthfulness
40
Howdoesthesponsoredsearchauctionwork
Searchengines
runkeywordauctionstosellavailableinventoryofad
positions
Advertisers
submitbidswhichindicatetheirwillingnesstopayper
click
forexample,bidof$1.75perclickforthekeywordlaptop
Thesearchengineorderstheadsindescending
order
Bidisakeydeterminantofadposition
OtherfactorssuchasCTRarealsofactoredin
41
UniqueFeaturesoftheMarketforInternetAds
Biddingtakesplacecontinuously
Thesearchengineseffectivelysellflows
(clicks/hour)
Notunlikeelectricitymarketsunusedcapacity
iswasted
Ontheotherhand,userutilitymightbe
impairedbyexcessiveadvertisement
42
"Unit"ofAdvertisement
Advertiser'sperspective:transactionisa"unit"
Pricingmodel:paypertransaction(CPT/CPA)
Searchengine'sperspective:exposureisa"unit"
(CPM)
Pricingmodel:payperexposure
Middleground:clickisa"unit"
Pricingmodel:payperclick(CPC)
Allthreepricingmodelsarewidelyused
Payperclickdominatessponsoredsearch
43
GeneralizedFirstPriceAuctions
1997auctionrevolutionbyOverture(thenGoTo.com,createdat
Idealab)
Payperclickforaparticularkeyword
Initiallycrazyidea,meanttocombatsearchspam
Searchenginedestinationthatranksresultsbasedonwhoiswilling
topaythemost
Withalgorithmicsearchenginesoutthere,whowoulduseit
Commercialwebsiteswould!(Muchbetterthantodependon
ranking!)
Results
Linksarrangedindescendingorderofbids
Payyourbid(Firstprice)
OverturebecameaplatformforYahoo!andMSNImperfect
mechanism:unstableduetodynamicnatureoftheenvironment
Problem:GFPisunstablebecausebidscanbeadjusteddynamically
44
ExampleonGFP
Twoslotsandthreebidders
adinfirstslot:200clicksperhour
adinsecondslot:100.
Bidders1,2,and3havevalues:$10,$4,and$2
Ifbidder2bids$2.01,tomakesurehegetsaslot
Bidder1willnotwanttobidmorethan$2.02
Bidder1getsthetopspot,butthenbidder2will
wanttorevisehisbidto$2.03togetthetopspot
Bidder1willinturnraisehisbidto$2.04,andso
on.
45
GeneralizedSecondpriceAuctions
GeneralizedSecondPrice(GSP)Auctions
2002GSPimplementedbyGoogle
Yahoo!/OvertureandothersswitchedtoGSP
Twowayofgeneralizing:
Bidranking:Ordertheadsbytheirbids.Renameadssoadi endsin
positioni.BidderinpositionIpaysbid(i+1).
Revenueranking:Ordertheadsbyexpectedrevenueinpositioni
assumingmaximumbids,thatisbyb(i)*ctr(i).
Renameadssoadi endsinpositioni.
Bidderinpositioni paysbid(i+1)*ctr(i+1)/ctr(i)
Notethatbidderi payslessthanbid(i)sincebid(i)*ctr(i)>bid(i+1)*ctr(i+1)
IfallCTRsarethesame,revenuerankingisthesameasbidranking!
CTRcanbeestimatedforanadvertiserbasedonclickhistory
46
GSPExample
SameexampleunderGSPmechanismwithbidranking
Twoslotsandthreebidders.
Firstslot200clicksperhourregardlessofad
Secondslotgets100regardlessofad
Bidders1,2,and3havevaluesperclickof$10,$4,and$2,
respectively.
Ifalladvertisersbidtruthfully,thenbidsare$10,$4,
$2.
Paymentsforslotoneandtwoare$4and$2perclick.
Totalpaymentofbidder1is$800=$1200payoff
Totalpaymentofbidder2is$200=$200payoff
Inthisexampletruthtellingisanequilibriumbecauseno
biddercanbenefitbychanginghisbid.
47
IsGSPaVCG?
GSPisnotVCG GSPhasnodominant
strategies
Truthtellingisgenerallynotanequilibrium
Withonlyoneslot,VCGandGSPareidentical
Withseveralslots,themechanismsare
different
GSPchargesbidderi thebidofbidderi+1(In
practice+$0.01)
VCGchargesbidderi forhisexternality
48
TruthtellingisnotadominantstrategyunderGSP
Proof:Examplewiththreebiddersandtwoslots
Perclickvaluesare$10,$4,and$2
CTR'sare200and199
(Assumealladsareequallyattractive)
Ifallbidtruthfullybidder1bids$10andpays$4
sohispayoffis
($10$4)*200=$1200
Ifbidder1bids$3(andpays$2)hispayoffis:
($10$2)*199=$1592>$1200
49
SameExampleusingVCG
LetuscomputeVCGpaymentsfortheexampleconsideredbefore.
Twoslotsandthreebidders.
Firstslot200clicksperhour
Secondslotgets100.
Bidders1,2,and3havevaluesperclickof$10,$4,and$2,respectively.
Thesecondbidder'spaymentis$200,asbefore(externality
imposedon3wholoses$200=valueforhimoftheslothedoes
notget!)
However,thepaymentofthefirstadvertiserisnow$600
$200fortheexternalitythatheimposesonbidder3(byforcinghim
outofposition2)+
$400fortheexternalitythatheimposesonbidder2(bymovinghim
fromposition1toposition2andthuscausinghimtolose(200
100)=100clicksperhour).
Notethatinthisexample,revenuesunderVCGarelowerthan
undertruthtellingequilibriumofGSP!
50
NashEquilibriumforGSP
Locallyenvyfreeequilibrium
Fixedpointwherebiddersdontwanttomoveup
ordown
Biddersfirstchoosetheoptimalpositionfor
them:positioni
Withinrangeofbidsthatlandthemin
positioni,bidderchoosespointofindifference
betweenstayingincurrentpositionand
swappingupwithbidderinpositioni1
51
Whatdowehave?
GFPisnotstable
ChoosebetweenGSPandVCG
GSPisnottruthful
VCGistruthfulandstablebutnotreallyused(revenue?)
AdaptationofVCG
Thehigherthebid,thebettertheposition
ThelastbiddertogetaslotpayssameasGSP
Totalpaymentofbidderinpositioni underVCG,p(i)
isexpectednumberofclicksatpositioni
isbidof highestbidder
52
TakeawayMessages
ComputationalAdvertisingisanewgrowing
fieldwithlotsofinterestingproblems.
Twomaintypesofadsaredisplayadsand
textualads.
Westudiedinterestingproblemsindisplaying
graphicadsandtextualads.
Finally,wediscussedvariousauction
mechanismslikeGFP,GSP,VCGandan
adaptationofVCG
53
FurtherReading
AlgorithmicChallengesinOnlineAdvertising,Deepak
AgrawalandDeepayan Chakrabarti.CIKM2008Tutorial
ComputationalAdvertisingcourse@Stanford:
http://www.stanford.edu/class/msande239/
Edelman,Ostrovsky,andSchwarz,InternetAdvertising
andtheGeneralizedSecondPriceAuction,2005
Varian,PositionAuctions,2006
Lahaie,Pennock,Saberi,Vohra,SponsoredSearch,
Chapter28inAlgorithmicGameTheory,Cambridge
UniversityPress,2007
54
PreviewofLecture14:ComputationalAdvertising
(Part2):ContextualAdvertising
Contextualadvertisingbasics
Adselectionincontextualadvertising
PhraseExtractionforContextualAdvertising
IRmethodsforcontentmatchadretrieval
HolisticviewatthepageinContextual
Advertising
Whentoadvertise
Searchbasedadselectionforsponsoredsearch
Predictingclicks
55
Disclaimers
Thiscourserepresentsopinionsoftheinstructor
only.ItdoesnotreflectviewsofMicrosoftorany
otherentity(exceptofauthorsfromwhomthe
slideshavebeenborrowed).
Algorithms,techniques,features,etc mentioned
heremightormightnotbeinusebyMicrosoftor
anyothercompany.
Lotofmaterialcoveredinthiscourseisborrowed
fromslidesacrossmanyuniversitiesand
conferencetutorials.Thesearegratefully
acknowledged.
56
Thanks!
57