Вы находитесь на странице: 1из 2

Jamini Astrology

Jaimini has become the second most widely used system of Vedic astrology in the world.
Jaiminis principles discussed in detail in the Brihat Parasara Hora Sastra. Technique used in
Jaimini astrology gives remarkable and specific predictions using distinctly different
The following are the major differences between Jaimini and Parasara astrology:
1. While Parasara astrology is most closely associated with the Vimsottari dasa system,
Jaimini uses sign mahadasa systems. Each uses different dasa sequences and is calculated
differently. These dasas are called Aries, Taurus, Gemini, etc. Chara, Sthira and Shoola
dasas are the best known, though approximately 44 systems are used. For example, Chara
is "movable" as its Sanskrit name implies and it signify major life changes as they occur.
Sthira is read for death and illness, etc.
2. Jaimini uses padas as indicators in the signs. The best way to explain a pada is to
illustrate it. Suppose we are looking for the marriage pada in a chart. The 7th house is the
marriage house. Let us assume you have a Scorpio ascendant, so Taurus is the 7th house.
The 7th ruler is therefore Venus and Venus placed in Aquarius in 4th house. This sign is ten
signs away from Taurus (7th house). Then count ten signs from Aquarius (4th house) to get
the pada for marriage matters. Thus, the sign Scorpio is the marriage indicator for this chart.
So issues connected with marriage and partnerships in general will reach fruition during the
mahadasa or bhuktis of Scorpio sign dasa.
3. Parasara astrology uses certain "natural" planetary karakas. For example, Venus is the
natural karaka for relationship and Mars is the karaka for siblings. However, in Jaimini
astrology, the karakas can be any planet and they depend on the degree of the planets.
There are seven Jaimini karakas. They are judged in terms of the planetary degree
placement, regardless of sign placement, from the planet in the highest degree to the lowest
The karakas are, starting with the planet of the highest degree and they are like this:
1. Atma Karaka (the planet holds highest degree) is the indicator of self. Atmakaraka planet
the Own self, considered the strongest planet of all seven graha, and significator of the Soul,
Self, physical appearance and vitality.
2. Amatya Karaka (the planets holds the 2nd highest degree) is the indicator of helper of
atma karaka. Significator of the hoard, collections of wealth, and career.
3. Bhadri Karaka (the planets holds the 3rd highest degree) is the indicator of siblings.
4. Matri Karaka (the planets holds the 4th highest degree) is the indicator of mother and
education, land property and peace.
5 Putra Karaka (the planets holds the 5th highest degree) is the indicator of childrens,
intelligence and creativity.
6. Gnati Karaka (the planets holds the 6th highest degree) is the indicator of of strife,
disease, dispute, Arguments, Strife and Service, conflict, and disease.
7. Stri or Dara Karaka (the planets holds the 7th lowest degree) is the indicator of partner
marriage, partnerships in general.

These a karakar are different in different people birth chart because they depend on
the degrees of the planets. These karakas are important in judging a chart, especially in
terms of career and spiritual potential, as indicated in both the Brihat Parasara Hora Sastra
and the Jaimini Sutram.
In order to know the soul evolution (spiritual development) of the person, note which sign the
Atma Karaka (planet in the highest degree in the birth chart) falls in in the Navamsa
(harmonic 9th chart). This Navamsa sign is extremely important. In Jaimini Astrology this
sign is referred to as the Karakamsa, and planets in this sign in the Navamsa chart are
supposed to show the style of spiritual practices. The Navamsa position of the Atma
Karaka planets falls in Navamsa chart called a Swamsa chart.