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Amount ($)
Selling Price 9.00
Less: Variable Cost
CD Package and Disk 1.25
c. $5,875,000 profit
(Direct Labor and
Material)
Songwriters Royalties 0.35
Recording Artist 1.00
Royalties
= [($525,000+$200,000)/.7111]/9.00 =
113,284 units
=100,000 units*(4+.5+.5) + .
4*(100,000*20) = $1,300,000
4
Per unit Variable cost = VC/total output 3. a. Rash: 250,000 units and $500,000 in
sales
= $1,300,000/100,000 units = $13 each unit Red: 200,000 units and $200,000 in sales
Unit contribution = sales price-variable cost
=$20-$13 = $7
= ($125,000+$5,000+$10,000+$35,000)/7=
25,000 units
=$29,285.71/100,000*100 = 29.29%
5
$150,000 = .60*R
Increase in sales=R*2
Increase in sales=250,000*2=$500,000
$150,000 = .75*r
Increase in sales=r*2
Increase in sales=200,000*1=$200,000
b. Calculation for:
$.36-$.18-$.06-$.20/5=$.08
6. Max Leonard should add the new 6. Analysis of adding DC6900-X model to
existing line
Model X line because profit would
Scenario A: Contribution with existing line
increase by $363,000,000 from the models DC6900-Omega and DC6900-Alpha
existing Omega and Alpha product with reduction amount from potential
addition of new model (Omega = 30%
lines. reduction from 500,000 units and Alpha=
20% reduction from 500,000 units)
b. Net
Year Cash Flow a. Discount b. Discounted
present value
Factor Cash Flow
is positive so
0 ($17,500,000) =[1/(1+.20)^0] ($17,500,000)
the
= 1.00
1 $ 6,100,000 =[1/(1+.20)^1] $5,081,300 company
=.833 should
2 $ 7,400,000 =[1/(1+.20)^2] $ 5,135,600 develop
=.694 product.
3 $7,000,000 =[1/(1+.20)^3] $4,053,000
=.579
4 $ 5,500,000 =[1/(1+.20)^4] $2,651,000
=.482
c. Net ($579,100)
Present
Value
8. a. The a. Discount factor= 1/(1+discount rate)^year being determined from 0-4 CLV=cash
b. Discounted Cash Flow = Cash flow*discount factor
customer margin per
c. Net present value = sum of all discounted cash flows form year 0-4
lifetime value
customer*[1/ (1+interest rate-retention rate)]
is
Cash margin per customer = Monthly fee-
$85.36 a month
variable cost-loyalty fee
$85.36=($19.95-$.50-$.50-$.20(additional
loyalty per month per customer))*[1/(1+.01-
r)]
4.55=1/(1+.01-r)
4.55=1/1.01-r
1/4.55 = 1.01-r
r= 1.01-(1/4.55)= .7902
e. Freight Expenses
General and Admin. Expenses:
Manufacturing Overhead
Administrative Salaries b. Pro Forma income statement of Home
f. Other Administrative Office Systems with $20,000,000 annual
Expense sales
g. Net Profit before Tex
Table 2: Home
a. Cost of Goods sold= 40% of sales force expenditure*sales Office
directors Systems
budget for salaries and
fringe benefits for both corporations was $7.5 million
b. Gross margin = Sales- cost of goods sold Sales
a. Less: Cost of Goods Sold
c. =15% of sales on Home Office Systems=$25 million*.15
d. =Production and Media placement costs + productionb. Gross Margin
costs+ advertising allowance= $300,000+
$100,000+ $.05*25 million Marketing Expenses:
e. Freight expenses = 8% of sales=.08*$ 25million c. Sales Expenses $3,000,0
f. =Administrative overhead+(Sales*percent of directd.material
Advertising/Sales Promotion
and labor costs from sales)= $1,400,0
$300,000+($25,000,000*.50) e. Freight Expenses $1,600,0
General
g. Net Profit = Gross Margin-Marketing expenses-general andand Admin.
admin. Expenses:
expenses
Manufacturing Overhead $600,000
Administrative Salaries $250,000
f. Other Administrative $10,300,
Overhead
g. Net Profit before Tex
a. Cost of Goods sold= 40% of sales force expenditure*sale
fringe benefits for both corporations was $7.5 million
b. Gross margin = Sales- cost of goods sold
c. =15% of sales on Home Office Systems=$20 million*.15
d. =Production and Media placement costs + production co
$100,000+ $.05*20 million
e. Freight expenses = 8% of sales=.08*$ 20million
f. =Administrative overhead+(Sales*percent of direct mate
$300,000+($20,000,000*.50)
g. Net Profit = Gross Margin-Marketing expenses-general a
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9. c. Home Office Sales would need to 9. c. Dollar sales required for Home Office
Systems to break-even:
reach $20,681,818.18in sales to
break even.
Table 3: Fixed Total
Costs
Sales Force $3,000,000
Allocation
Manufacturing $600,000
Overhead
Administrativ $300,000
e Overhead
Production
and Media
Costs:
Trade and $300,000
Promotion
Advertising $100,000
Administrativ $250,000
e Salaries
Total $4,550,000
15