Вы находитесь на странице: 1из 2

Ravichandran Ashwin ( pronunciation (helpinfo); born 17 September 1986) is an Indian

international cricketer. An all-rounder who bats right-handed and bowls right-arm off break,

Ashwin plays for Tamil Nadu in domestic cricket and the Rising Pune Supergiants in the IPL. He

is the fastest Indian bowler to reach the 50-, 100-, 150-, 200-, and 250-wicket mark in Test

cricket.[1][2]In 2016, he became the only Indian after Rahul Dravid and Sachin Tendulkar to win

the ICC Cricketer of the Year award.

Having achieved little success as an opening batsman at junior-level cricket, Ashwin dropped

down the order and turned into an off break bowler. He made his first-class debut for Tamil Nadu

in December 2006, and captained the team the following season. But it was not until the 2010

Indian Premier League in which he played for the Chennai Super Kings, that he came into the

limelight with his economical bowling and earned his maiden international call-up in the limited-

overs formats in June 2010. He was the leading wicket-taker and player of the tournament of

the 2010 Champions League Twenty20 in South Africa. He was also part of the Indian squad that

won the 2011 Cricket World Cup. Later that year, he made his Test debut against West Indies

and became the seventh Indian to take a five-wicket haul on Test debut. He took two five-wicket

hauls and scored a century in that series and won the player of the series award.

Ashwin continued to succeed in the subcontinent but proved to be less effective in other places

like Australia and England. In a home Test series against Australia in 2013, he took 29 wickets,

the most by any Indian bowler in a four-match Test series. The same year, he took his 100th

Test wicket in his 18th match, becoming the fastest Indian bowler to the milestone and the

fastest in the world in over 80 years. In November 2015, he became fastest Indian to 150 wickets

as well during his 5 wicket haul against South Africa at Mohali.[3] In September 2016, he became

the fastest Indian and second overall to get 200 wickets by dismissing Kane Williamson in India's

500th test match.[4]

Ashwin is the only bowler of recent times apart from Sri Lanka's Ajantha Mendis to bowl

the carrom ball. With four centuries in his Test career so far, Ashwin has earned the reputation of

being a bowling all-rounder. He was a recipient of the Arjuna Award in 2014 and the BCCI's
international cricketer of the year for the 201213 season.He also won the ICC Cricketer of the

year 2016along with ICC Test Cricketer of the year 2016 in December, 2016.

In his 45th test match, against Bangladesh on 12 February 2017, Ashwin became the fastest

player to pick up 250 Test wickets, bettering Dennis Lillee, who had achieved the landmark in 48