Вы находитесь на странице: 1из 10

1

Legendary and Legendary: Dark City FAQ, Clarifications, and Errata Version 3.0

Errata
Domino: Lucky Break Hero There should be a printed RECRUIT icon behind the top 0+ on
the side of the card. This is consistent with heroes that have the Versatile keyword. (For clarity,
compare this card to the other Domino cards.)
(http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/12968092#12968092) Devin Low

Emma Frost: Diamond Form Hero There should be a RECRUIT icon on her card that reads
0+.

Emma Frost: Shadowed Thoughts Hero Her ATTACK should read 2+ instead of 2.

Nick Fury: High Tech Weaponry Hero His ATTACK should read 2+ instead of 2.

Vertigo Marauders Villain Text box is a Fight effect, and should read: Fight: Each player
discards their hand then draws as many cards as they discarded.
(http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/12598741#12598741) J Brenner

Timing of Resolution of Fight Effects Page 13 Fight effects occur after defeating the enemies and
placing them in the Victory Pile, not before comparing Attack Totals as the rulebook states.
(http://boardgamegeek.com/article/10584472#10584472) Devin Low

FAQ
General Rules Questions
Q: Do card effects that refer to drawing extra cards include cards that you draw and then discard
or return to the deck? What about cards that are drawn to replace cards you are forced to discard,
such as Kingpins Master Strike? For example: If I use Gambit: Stack the Deck to draw two cards
and then return one to the top of my deck, does Wolverine: Berserker Rages superpower give me
+2 ATTACK for drawing two cards, or only +1 ATTACK because even though I drew two cards
initially, I had to put one of them back for a net of +1 card?

A: Yes. Cards that count how many extra cards you have drawn this turn don't care how many cards
you discarded or put back. They only care how many extra cards you have drawn this turn. In this
case, for example, Wolverine: Berserker Rage would gain +2 ATTACK because the player drew two
cards, even though he put one card back on top of his deck.
(http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/11404385#11404385) Devin Low
(http://boardgamegeek.com/article/12783849#12783849) Devin Low

Q: How many times can I Reveal a card from my hand for its ability? For Example: Captain
America: Diving Block says If you would gain a Wound, you may reveal this card and draw a card
instead.
2

A: You can reveal a card for its effect as many times per turn as its trigger occurs. In this example,
if you gain a Wound from a Master Strike at the beginning of your turn, then play a Hero that
requires you to gain a wound, then fight a villain in the City who causes you to gain a wound, you
may reveal Captain America: Diving Block and carry out the card draw for each of those
circumstances for a total of three times that turn.
(http://boardgamegeek.com/article/10625892#10625892) Devin Low

Q: If a card effect causes a player to gain/discard/draw more than 1 of a card or effect all at once,
can the players react to each instance of gaining/discarding/drawing that card or effect individually?

A: Yes. Example 1: If you are playing against the Scheme Unleash the Power of the Cosmic Cube
and draw the 7th Scheme Twist from the Villain Deck, which causes the effect Each player gains 3
Wounds, you can play Captain America: Diving Block, in response to each Wound individually,
and thus draw a total of three cards. Example 2: If you have played Jean Grey: Read Your
Thoughts, which states Whenever you rescue a Bystander this turn, you get +1RECRUIT, and
defeat the Mastermind Tactic Apocalypse: Immortal and Undefeated, which states If this is not the
final Mastermind Tactic, rescue six Bystanders, you gain +6RECRUIT, +1 for each Bystander
you rescued. (http://boardgamegeek.com/article/12783849#12783849) Devin Low
(http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/12785904#12785904) Devin Low

Q: If I prevent a discard from the top of my deck with an effect such as Ice Man: Impenetrable Ice
Wall, in what order do the cards return to the top of the deck?

A: The cards remain in the same order they were revealed. For example, if you defeat the
Mastermind Tactic Stryfe: Psychic Torment, which states Look at the top five cards of your deck.
Put one in your hand and discard the rest, you first put one of the cards in your hand, then reveal
Ice Man to prevent the discard and return the remaining 4 cards to the top of your deck in the order
you drew them. (http://boardgamegeek.com/article/12783849#12783849) Devin Low

Q: If a Schemes Special Rules and a Masterminds Always Leads effects conflict, which one
takes priority? For example, if I am playing Dr. Doom, who Always Leads the Doombot Legion with
the Organized Crime Wave, which says I have to use Maggia Goons as one of the Henchmen
groups, and the setup only says to use one Henchmen group, which group do I use?

A: The Scheme always takes priority over the Always Leads ability on Masterminds. So in this
case, for example, if you were playing with 1, 2, or 3 players to defeat Dr. Dooms Organized Crime
Wave you would only use the Maggia Goons. If you were playing with 4 or 5 players you would then
use both Doombot Legion and Maggia Goons, and would not randomly select a different Henchmen
group. (http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/12653573#12653573) Devin Low

Q: If I have multiple copies of a card with a Focus ability in play does paying the Focus cost of one
of those cards trigger the effect for all of them, or does paying a Focus cost just trigger the ability
once no matter how many copies of that card I have in play?
3

A: You can play the Focus effect individually for each card you play, but you cant pay once and
trigger all of the copies of a Focus effect. For Example: If you play 3 copies of Invisible Woman:
Disappearing Act, which has the ability Focus 2 RECRUIT You may KO a card from your hand
or discard pile. Each time you pay 2 RECRUIT for this effect you only get to KO one card from
your hand or discard pile, not three. (http://boardgamegeek.com/article/13781938#13781938)
Devin Low

Q: If a card effect tells me to reveal a card from my hand, deck, discard pile, etc. and doesnt tell me
where to put the card after revealing it where do I put the revealed card?

A: Unless the effect tells you to put the revealed card somewhere else, you return the card to
wherever it was revealed from. For Example: Gambit: High Stakes Jackpot says Reveal the top
card of your deck. You get +ATTACK equal to that cards cost. After you reveal the top card of your
deck and add its cost to Gambits ATTACK you return the revealed card to the top of your deck
because the card does not say to put it anywhere else.
(http://boardgamegeek.com/article/10950713#10950713) Devin Low

Q: If the players play the last card from the Villain Deck (assuming it does not fulfill an Evil Wins
condition of the current scheme) and then defeat the final Mastermind Tactic that turn does the game
end in a draw or do the players pull off a last turn victory?

A: The players achieve a last turn victory. Playing the last card from the Villain deck means that at
the end of that turn the game will end in a draw unless the players can pull off a victory before the
end of the turn, which defeating the final Mastermind Tactic triggers immediately.
(http://boardgamegeek.com/article/11047741#11047741) Devin Low

Q: When I reveal cards for one Enemys Cosmic Threat to reduce its attack can I use those same
cards for another Enemys Cosmic Threat as well?

A: Yes. Revealing cards for Cosmic Threat does not use them up or otherwise prevent you from
revealing the same cards for a different Enemys Cosmic Threat. For Example: If you have two
Instinct Heroes in your hand and there are two copies of Morg in the City, you may reveal your two
Instinct Heroes to activate the Cosmic Threat on each Morg individually, subtracting 6 from each of
their ATTACK values. (http://boardgamegeek.com/article/13781725#13781725) Devin Low

Q: If a card effect says to put a card into your hand, is that considered drawing a card for
interaction with other cards, for example cards that ask if you have drawn a card that turn?

A: No. Put a card in your hand is not the same as Draw a card for cards that ask if you have
drawn cards. For Example: Spider-Man: The Amazing Spider-Man says to Reveal the top three
cards of your deck. Put any that cost 2 or less into your hand. Wolverine: Berserker Rage says
Draw three cards. [INSTINCT]: You get +1 for each extra card youve drawn this turn. If you
play The Amazing Spider-Man, resulting in putting two cards into your hand, then any [INSTINCT]
Hero (without card draw), then Berserker Rage, you only get +3 ATTACK for Berserker Rage for
4

the three cards drawn by its own text since the 2 cards from The Amazing Spider-Man were not
considered drawn. (http://boardgamegeek.com/article/14664653#14664653) Devin Low

Heroes
Q: If I play Bishop: Firepower from the Future to discard cards from the top of my deck and one
or more of those cards has card text that says When a card effect causes you to discard this card,
does the discarded cards effect go off?

A: Yes. You first complete Bishops card text completely, including the Superpower, then complete
the effects of any discarded cards. You may still complete the effects of these cards even if you chose
to KO them since they were discarded first before being KOd.
(http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/12653802#12653802) Devin Low

Q: If I play Ice Man: Impenetrable Ice Wall in response to cards with effects that require me to
discard then/and draw cards, do I still draw the cards if I prevent the discard with Ice Mans
ability?

A: Yes. For example, if you play Ice Man in response to Kingpins Master Strike ability, which
states Each player reveals a [MARVEL KNIGHTS] Hero or discards their hand and draws 5
cards, you prevent the discard of your hand and still draw the 5 cards.
(http://boardgamegeek.com/article/12783849#12783849) Devin Low

Q: If I play Professor X: Mind Control on a Killbot Villain in the Scheme Replace Earths
Leaders with Killbots, what does the Killbot Villain become when Professor Xs ability places it into
the players deck? What about on a Demon Queen card in the Scheme Transform Citizens into
Demons?

A: A Killbot Villain becomes a grey Hero with no text and 0 ATTACK. A Demon Queen becomes
a grey Hero with no text and ATTACK equal to the ATTACK literally printed on the Jean Grey
card. (http://boardgamegeek.com/article/12783849#12783849) Devin Low

Q: Does Rogue: Copy Powers keep the X-Men Affiliation when it copies another card, or does it
simply gain the new Team Affiliation and lose the X-Men Affiliation while it is in play as the copy?

A: She becomes a copy of the card in every way, including the new Affiliation, except that she
retains the COVERT icon. This means that unless she copied another X-Men card, she would no
longer be an X-Men card for things such as Superpowers, being able to defeat The Blob, or for
defending against Magnetos Master Strike, but would be whatever the new affiliation is for similar
effects and Superpowers. (http://boardgamegeek.com/article/10616303#10616303) Devin Low

Q: If I play Thor: God of Thunder, can I use some of my RECRUIT Points for ATTACK and
some for RECRUIT, or must I choose one or the other?
5

A: You may split up your RECRUIT Points however you wish between RECRUIT and ATTACK.
(http://boardgamegeek.com/article/10619431#10619431) Devin Low

Q: Can cards that allow you to do something instead of gaining a card such as a Wound, a
Bystander, or a SHIELD Officer, still use their instead of ability even if the relevant stack of cards
is empty?

A: Yes. For example, Colossus: Invulnerability states If you would gain a Wound, you may
discard this card instead. If you do, draw two cards. In this case, if the Wound stack were empty, a
player can still play Colossus for his ability, discarding it and drawing two cards.
(http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/12967365#12967365) Devin Low

Q: Domino: Specialized Ammunition states You may discard a card from your hand. If that card
had a RECRUIT icon , you get +4 RECRUIT. If that card had an ATTACK icon, you get +4
ATTACK. If I discard a card that has both a RECRUIT and an ATTACK icon, do I get both +4
ATTACK and +4 RECRUIT, or do I have to choose one?

A: You get both. This card is intentionally designed to work well with other Domino cards, but also
works well with cards such as Thor: Surge of Power, for example.
(http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/12968092#12968092) Devin Low

Masterminds
Q: Does a player get to play another turn if they defeat the Dr. Doom: Secrets of Time Travel
Tactic and it is the final Tactic card?

A: Yes. Further, the players have already won by defeating the fourth Mastermind Tactic so any
effect that would cause evil to win during the extra turn is too late: the Heroes have already won. For
example, while playing a game with the Portals to the Dark Dimension a player defeats Secrets of
Time Travel as the final tactic to play another turn. During that extra turn, the card drawn from the
Villain Deck is the Seventh Scheme Twist, which would normally cause evil to win the game, but
since this extra turn occurs after the final Mastermind Tactic is defeated the Heroes still won the
game. (http://boardgamegeek.com/article/12783849#12783849) Devin Low

Schemes
Q: If I am playing the X-Cutioners Song Scheme and there is a Villain that captures heroes in the
City when the Scheme Twist effect, which states to KO all heroes captured by enemies, occurs,
what happens to that Villains statistics that were affected by the captured hero?

A: The statistics revert to the printed values on the card. Any bonuses gained that were dependent
upon the KOd Hero are lost. For example, if Dracula (ATTACK=3+), who states Ambush:
Dracula captures the top card of the Hero Deck. Dracula gets +ATTACK equal to that cards
COST, is in the city, and he has captured Black Widow: Dangerous Rescue (COST=3), his attack
6

is 6. Once the Scheme Twist effect of X-Cutioners Song occurs, Black Widow is KOd and Dracula
reverts to his printed ATTACK of 3+. Note: Draculas captured Hero bonus per his Ambush text
only occurs when he is first played from the Villain Deck. If he captures a Hero by any other
means it is not via his Ambush effect so he does not gain the Ambushs attack bonus.
(http://boardgamegeek.com/article/12783849#12783849) Devin Low

Q: In the Scheme Replace Earths Leaders with Killbots, once the Killbots are in your Victory pile
do they count as Bystanders, Killbot Villains, or both?
A: They count as Bystanders once they are in your Victory Pile, but are Killbot Villains in all other
locations and at all other times.
(http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/10726335#10726335) Devin Low

Q: In the Scheme Replace Earths Leaders with Killbots, if you defeat one of the Unique
Bystanders from the Dark City expansion, are they considered destroyed or rescued for the purpose
of setting off their special abilities?

A: The Killbots are destroyed, never rescued, but still become Bystanders again once they are in your
Victory Pile. (http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/13043659#13043659) Devin Low

Q: In the Scheme Portals to the Dark Dimension, for Schemes 2-6 it says to Put the Dark Portal
in the leftmost city space that doesnt yet have a Dark Portal. What do I do if some city spaces have
been destroyed by Galactus Master Strike?

A: The city spaces affected by Galactus Master Strike no longer exist, so you place the Dark Portal
in the leftmost city space that has not been destroyed by Galactus. If all non-destroyed city spaces
already have a Dark Portal on them, then place any Scheme Twists that occur in the KO pile. The
Evil Wins condition for Portals to the Dark Dimension does not change, and still occurs when the
seventh Scheme Twist occurs. (http://boardgamegeek.com/article/14521556#14521556) Devin
Low

Q: When playing the Scheme Pull Reality into the Negative Zone, when Twists 2, 4, and 6 are in
effect do Focus abilities cost ATTACK instead of RECRUIT, or does the Scheme only affect actual
purchases from HQ and fights against enemies?

A: The Schemes effects only affect purchasing Heroes and fighting Enemies. Focus effects still
cost RECRUIT to use as normal. (http://boardgamegeek.com/article/13781818#13781818) Devin
Low

Villains
Q: Are Henchmen cards Villains?
A: Yes. They all say Henchmen Villain underneath their card title.
(http://boardgamegeek.com/article/12735235#12735235) Devin Low
7

Q: If Chimera is drawn from the Villain Deck while fighting against the Scheme Replace Earths
Leaders with Killbots, does her Ambush ability, which states Reveal the top three cards of the
Villain Deck, Chimera captures all the Bystander cards you revealed, count the Killbot Villains as
Bystander cards?

A: No. The Bystanders are considered Killbot Villain cards while in the Villain Deck, not
Bystander cards, so Chimeras Ambush ability does not affect Killbot Villains.
(http://boardgamegeek.com/article/12783849#12783849) Devin Low

Q: If Mystique escapes, does she go to the Escaped Villains pile or is she placed solely as a
Scheme Twist?

A: She never goes to the Escaped Villains pile. As soon as she escapes, and after resolving any
other escape effects (KOing a Hero from HQ, discarding a card if she had a Bystander) she becomes
a Scheme Twist card in every way, and goes wherever the Scheme instructs you to place Scheme
Twists (default is the KO Pile). (http://boardgamegeek.com/article/10639890#10639890) J Brenner
and (http://boardgamegeek.com/article/12735170#12735170) Devin Low

Q: If Reignfire escapes, does he go to the Escaped Villains pile or is he placed solely as a Master
Strike?

A: He never goes to the Escaped Villains pile. As soon as he escapes, and after resolving any other
escape effects (KOing a Hero from HQ, discarding a card if he had a Bystander) he becomes a
Master Strike card in every way, and goes wherever the Scheme instructs you to place Master Strikes
(default is the KO Pile). See Mystique above.
(http://boardgamegeek.com/article/12735170#12735170) Devin Low

Q: If Mystique becomes a Scheme Twist during the Scheme Steal the Weaponized Plutonium and
is subsequently shuffled back into the Villain deck, does she become a Scheme Twist when revealed
from the Villain Deck going forward, or does she revert back to a Villain?

A: Cards do not have memory that would allow Mystique to remain as a Scheme Twist while in the
Villain deck, so she reverts back to a Villain card until such time as she escapes again.
(http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/12905148#12905148) Devin Low

Q: If I defeat two copies of Dr. Octopus in one turn, do I still only draw up to 8 cards? Also, if I
get to draw Extra cards at the end of my turn from other card effects, do I still get to draw those extra
cards after drawing up to 8 cards for Dr. Octopus?

A: Yes, Dr. Octopus essentially changes your standard card draw at the end of that turn from
whatever it is supposed to be (6 normally, but 5 for the Gimpy Hand variant) to 8. Any other effects
that allow you to draw extra cards allow you to draw those extra cards after drawing up to your hand
size (on turns where you defeat one or more Dr. Octopus, this is 8).
(http://boardgamegeek.com/article/14671378#14671378) Devin Low
8

Q: Magneto: Electromagnetic Bubble says Fight: Choose one of your X-Men Heroes. When
you draw a new hand of cards at the end of this turn, add that Hero to your hand as a seventh card. If
a card effect or rules variant changes your base card draw at the end of the turn, do you still add that
card to your hand if the card wouldnt be your seventh card?

A: Yes. It should really just say add that Hero to your hand as an extra card.
(http://boardgamegeek.com/article/14671378#14671378) Devin Low

Clarifications
Printed statistics on cards: When a card effect checks for a printed statistic, it always means
that it looks for statistics literally printed on the card, not any other statistics a card may have gained
from Scheme or other game instructions. Example 1: Punisher: Hail of Bullets states Reveal the
top card of the Villain Deck. If Its a Villain, you get +ATTACK equal to its printed VP. If you are
playing the Scheme Replace Earths Leaders with Killbots, and reveal a Killbot Villain while
resolving Punishers card effect, Punisher gets +1 ATTACK, since a Bystander card has 1VP
printed on it. Example 2: If you are playing the Scheme Transform Citizens into Demons and reveal
a Demon Queen while resolving Punishers card effect, Punisher gets +0 ATTACK, since a Jean
Grey card does not have a VP value printed on it.
(http://boardgamegeek.com/article/12783849#12783849) Devin Low

Priority of Card Effects: If two card effects conflict with each other, the most recent card effect that
came into play takes priority. For example, you are playing a game versus Mephisto, who states that
Whenever a player gains a wound, put it on top of that players deck, and then you play
Deadpool: Random Acts of Unkindness, who states You may gain a Wound to your hand. Then
each player passes a card from their hand to the player on their left. Deadpools effect came into
play most recently, so his ability takes priority and the Wound gained from Deadpool goes directly to
your hand. (http://boardgamegeek.com/article/12783849#12783849) Devin Low

Whenever [A] happens this turn, do [B].: When a card effect uses this format, it refers to any of
effect [A] that happens after the card with that text is played. It does not look backward to before the
card was played. For example, if you rescue 2 Bystanders by fighting a Villain in the city, then play
Jean Grey Mind Over Matter, then defeat another Villain with 2 more Bystanders, you would draw
2 cards, one for each of the 2 Bystanders you rescued after you played Jean Grey, but would not
draw cards for the 2 Bystanders you rescued before playing Jean Grey.
(http://boardgamegeek.com/article/12735069#12735069) Devin Low

Makes you discard and Causes you to discard: Devin has clarified that these two wordings
are functionally equivalent, and that the less confusing Causes you to discard has been
implemented in Dark City (so presumably also going forward). This means that even if you choose to
discard a card that says makes you discard, the effect still occurs. For Example, if you play Angel:
Drop Off a Friend and then choose to discard Cyclops: Unending Energy to trigger Angels card
text, you could then return Cyclops to your hand.
(http://boardgamegeek.com/article/12735015#12735015) Devin Low
9

Discard a card: When a card says discard a card, the discarded card must be a card from your
hand unless the effect specifies to discard from somewhere else (e.g. discard a card from the top of
your deck). (http://boardgamegeek.com/article/12735227#12735227) Devin Low

Wounds Cost: Wounds have a Cost of 0.


(http://boardgamegeek.com/article/10615857#10615857) Devin Low and Dark City Rule Sheet

Replacement Effects and Timing: Cards that use the framework Whenever A would happen, you
may do B instead" are the only effects that can occur in the middle of another card effect.
(http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/12653802#12653802) Devin Low

Secret Invasion of the Skrull Shapeshifters and Hero card text ATTACK bonuses: When you
add a Hero card to the City space as a Skrull Villain, you only use the cards COST, ignoring any
card text on the Hero Card. For example, Gambit: High Stakes Jackpot has 4+ ATTACK and states
that you Reveal the top card of your deck. You get +ATTACK equal to that cards COST. You
ignore this cards text and printed ATTACK while it is a Skrull Villain, and it simply has 9
ATTACK (7 COST + 2 ATTACK) because of the Secret Invasion card text.
(http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/11324767#11324767) Devin Low

Multiple Versions of Heroes: You can have two of the same Hero in a game if there are multiple
versions. (i.e. X-Force Wolverine and X-Men Wolverine could both be chosen as Heroes in a game.)
(http://boardgamegeek.com/article/12213612#12213612) J Brenner

When does the game end? It depends on whether you are using the Final Showdown rules or not. If
you are not using the Final Showdown rules, the game ends immediately after you follow through
with the text on the final defeated Mastermind Tactic. If you are using the Final Showdown rules, the
player who defeated the last Mastermind Tactic finishes his turn as normal, then the Final Showdown
occurs. (http://boardgamegeek.com/article/10773569#10773569) Devin Low

Solo games and Player to your right/left: In a solo game, if a card refers to the player to your right
or left, the card effect occurs on you instead. The imagery here is of a round table, around which the
card checks for a player to your right/left until it ultimately lands on yourself.
(http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/12967259#12967259) Devin Low

Interacting with your deck when you have no deck: If a card tells you to interact with your
deck in any way (KO, draw, reveal, look at, etc.) and your deck is empty or becomes empty
while resolving its text and you still need to interact with more cards from your deck,
immediately reshuffle your discard pile and continue carrying out the effect. If you do not have
any cards in your discard pile either (all your cards are in your hand or in play) then you would not
have any cards on which to carry out the effect.
(http://boardgamegeek.com/article/14669026#14669026) and
(http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/12910208#12910208) Devin Low

You never have to play every card in your hand during your turn: You can choose not to play
the cards in your hand during your turn, but you do still have to discard them at the end of your turn.
(http://boardgamegeek.com/article/10965277#10965277) Devin Low
10

Superpowers are not optional if their prerequisites have been played: Unless a Superpower says
May in front of its ability, if you have already played the appropriate prerequisite cards to trigger a
Superpower, that Superpower will go off when the card is played.
(http://boardgamegeek.com/article/14664852#14664852) Devin Low

The Scoring section on Page 20 of the Rulebook only applies to Solo Games: On Page 20 of
the Rulebook, the section titled Scoring is meant to be applied only during Solo games. In
Multiplayer games the players are competing against each other so subtracting from each score
equally would be meaningless. (http://boardgamegeek.com/article/14664918#14664918) Devin
Low