Вы находитесь на странице: 1из 2

05 January (Friday) Sankashti Chaturthi

Sakat Chauth

21:24
03 February (Saturday) Sankashti Chaturthi

21:09
05 March (Monday) Sankashti Chaturthi

21:49
03 April (Tuesday) Angarki Chaturthi

21:28
03 May (Thursday) Sankashti Chaturthi

22:00
02 June (Saturday) Sankashti Chaturthi

22:19
01 July (Sunday) Sankashti Chaturthi

21:41
31 July (Tuesday) Angarki Chaturthi

21:31
30 August (Thursday) Sankashti Chaturthi
Bahula Chaturthi

21:15
28 September (Friday) Sankashti Chaturthi

20:31
27 October (Saturday) Sankashti Chaturthi
Karwa Chauth

19:56
26 November (Monday) Sankashti Chaturthi

20:35
25 December (Tuesday) Angarki Chaturthi

20:30

Note - 24-hour clock with local time of Gurgaon & DST adjusted for all moonrise timings (if applicable)
Devotees of Lord Ganesha keep fast from sunrise to moonrise on Sankashti
Chaturthi. Sankashti means deliverance during troubled times. Lord Ganesha, the
supreme lord of intelligence, symbolizes the remover of all obstacles. Hence it is
believed that one can get rid of all obstacles by observing this fast.

The fast is supposed to be strict and only fruit, roots (the part of a plant which is
below ground) and vegetable products are supposed to be consumed. The staple
Indian diet on Sankashti Chaturthi includes Sabudana Khichadi, potato and
peanuts. Devotees break the fast at night after sighting of the moon.

In North India Sankashti Chaturthi during Magha month is known as Sakat


Chauth. Also Vinayaka Chaturthi during Bhadrapada month is known as Ganesha
Chaturthi. Ganesha Chaturthi is celebrated by Hindus all over the world as the
birthday of Lord Ganesha.

Sankashti Chaturthi is also known as Ganesh Sankatahara or Sankatahara


Chaturthi among Tamil Hindus.

Location based Sankashti Chaturthi Days

It is important to understand that fasting day for Sankashti Chaturthi might differ
for two cities even if those cities are within same Indian state. Fasting for Sankashti
Chaturthi depends on moonrise and it is observed on the day when there is
moonrise while Chaturthi Tithi is prevailing. Hence Sankashti Chaturthi fasting
might be observed on Tritiya Tithi i.e. one day before Chaturthi Tithi. As moonrise
time is different for all cities it is important to refer Hindu calendar like this website
which lists location based Sankashti Chaturthi days. As generating location based
dates are time consuming most sources ignore this fact and publish single list for all
Indian cities.