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What is a project?
A project is a specific, finite task to be accomplished in order to generate cash flows. It is a proposal for
capital investment to develop facilities to provide goods and services. The proposal may be for setting up a
new unit, for expansion or improvement of existing facilities. The project however has to be amenable for
Feasibility Study
After ensuring that a project idea is suitable for implementation, a detailed feasibility study
giving additional information on financing, breakdown of cost of capital and cash flow is
prepared. The feasibility study should contain all technical and economic data that are
essential for the evaluation of the project.
1. Before dealing with any specific aspect, feasibility study should public policy with respect to the
industry. For example, to evaluate the prospects for investing in the telecom market, a firm should
consider the following aspects of the New Telecom Policy:
• Cable networks will be allowed to provide data and voice services subject to licensing. Inter
connectivity between cable and basic service provider allowed.
• Domestic monopoly of DoT for long distance calls will end by January 1, 2000.
• For giving the licenses, almost 72 % weightage will be given to license fees, 15 % for rural
development, 10% for network rollout and 3% for indigenisation.
2. It should specify output and alternative techniques of production in terms of process choice and ecology
friendliness, choice of raw material and choice of plant size.
3. The feasibility study, after listing and describing alternative locations, should specify a site after
necessary investigation.
4. The study should include a layout plan along with a list of buildings, structures and yard facilities by
type, size and cost.
5. Major and auxiliary equipment by type, size and cost along with specification of sources of supply for
equipment and process know-how has to be listed.
6. The study has to identify supply sources and present estimates, costs for transportation, services, water
supply and power. The quality and dependence of raw materials and their source of supply have to be
investigated and presented in the feasibility study.
7. The feasibility study should include financial data. It should cover preliminary estimates of sales
revenue, capital costs and operating costs for different alternatives along with their profitability.
Feasibility study should present estimates of working capital requirement to operate the unit at a viable
level.
8. An essential part of the feasibility study is the schedule of implementation and estimates of expenditure
during construction.
The feasibility study is followed by project report firming up all the technical aspects such as location,
factory lay-out specifications and process techniques design. In a way, project report is a detailed plan of
follow-up of project through various stages of implementation.
Chapter 2 - Market Appraisal
Introduction
Analysis of demand for the product proposed to be manufactured requires collection of data and preparation of estimates. Market
appraisal involves:
• Preparing a description of the product, its major uses, scope of the market, possible competition from
substitutes, special features of the product proposed to be manufactured in regard to quality and price which
would result in consumer preference for the product in relation to competitive products
• Estimating existing and future demand and supply of the products proposed to be manufactured
• Assessing likely competition in future and special features of the product which may enable it to meet
competition.
Identifying export possibilities and compiling comparative data on manufacturing costs.
The CIF and FOB prices and landed cost of the proposed product have to stated.
It is also necessary to identify principal customers and state particulars of any firm arrangements entered into
with them. Selling arrangements contemplated in terms of direct sales or through distributors or dealers have
to be classified.
After collection of the data, the existing position has to be assessed to ascertain whether unsatisfied demand
exists. Since cash projections are to be made, possible future changes in the volume and pattern of supply and
demand have to be estimated. This would help in assessing the long term prospects of the unit.
Estimation of demand requires the determination of the total demand for a product and the share that can be
captured by the unit through appropriate marketing strategies.
Regression Approach
In regression approach the factors influencing the variables that are to be forecast have to be identified. In
this method we have the dependent variable and the explanatory or independent variable. The dependent
variable is the one subject to forecasting. The explanatory variables are those which cause changes in the
dependent variable. If rate of inflation is to be forecast, the independent variables may be money supply, per
capita availability of food grains and rate of monetisation of the economy. Specification or identification of
factors is crucial in forecasting by regression approach. In multiple regression we have more than one
explanatory variable.
The regression coefficients should have the right sign arid be statistically significant. The actual value of
dependent variable and the estimated value should be close to each other for the sample period. This is
2
reflected in the value of R , the square of the multiple correlation coefficient
The trend is a catch all approach. It takes into account the impact of all variables influencing the dependent
variable. In trend method the need for independently forecasting the explanatory variable does not arise, as
the values of 't' at a future period are known. In the case of regression the explanatory variables have to be
forecast independently.
The main advantage of regression method is that it enables the estimation of turning points, whereas the trend
method cannot predict the turning points. Regression method is more accurate than the trend method because
it takes into account causal factors. In actual practice forecasts by both methods may be attempted.
End-Use Method
In this method the users of the product proposed to be manufactured, are identified. An intensive study of the
past and present situation and a thorough assessment of the future prospects of the various end user industries
is made to determine the expected levels of production for the various end user industries. A study of the
consumption norms for each end user industry in respect of the product for which forecasts are needed is also
made. However, provision should be made for changes in the norms as a result of technological change or
emergence of substitute products.
The end use approach enables customer industry-wise demand forecasts and it is easy to evaluate any
discrepancy in the forecasts with the actual value. The method is appropriate for intermediate industrial
products such as steel and caustic soda.
Demand projections and estimates are made by agencies of government as well as industry associations.
Among the government agencies, the Directorate General of Technical Development and the Planning
Commission may be mentioned. Several associations of manufacturers make estimates. In regard to small
scale sector, the Development Commissioner for Small Scale Industries, the National Small Industries
Corporation and the Small Industries Services Institute provide valuable market information about projects
and products.
Several private consultants undertake market surveys for a fee.
Chapter 3 - Technical Appraisal
Location - While it is easy to enumerate desirable factors to be taken into account while determining
location, in practice various constraints dictate location away from the ideal one. The ideal factors are, of
course, proximity to the market and inputs, preferably where well developed infrastructure exists. In some
industries effluent disposal facility is necessary. Pollution control restricts the use of steam boilers while
power scarcity restricts the installation of induction furnaces, which are environment friendly. Antipollution
regulations may also force the choice of large size plants to curtail noise pollution or to install anti- vibration
equipment with adverse impact on costs.
Interdependence or the Parameters or Project - Finally, the technical appraisal of the individual project
may be supplemented by a supplementary review of the project in terms of interdependence of the basic
parameters of the project which are, plant size, location and technology. A small integrated paper plant using
bagasse, paddy husk or straw without need to recover process chemicals may be more viable than large
integrated paper mill requiring forest based raw material, water and effluent disposal system. Sometimes
undependable supply of basic inputs could spell disaster. Several mini steel plants set up in a big way in '7Os
were out of business as a result of lack of steel scrap from imports, which was due to foreign exchange crisis.
The implementation of the project has cost and time over-run implications. The scheduling of construction
and the identification of potential causes of delay form an important part of the technical aspects of the
project appraisal. The schedule of construction depends mainly on the speed of civil construction works,
delivery period of equipment, as well as the efficiency of the management to tie up various ends in a
coordinated and speedy manner. Since an overrun In the pre-commissioning time invariably leads to overrun
in cost and consequential problems, it is important that timing of construction is realistically planned. For all
main physical elements of the projects, from project concept, obtaining Government approvals, tying- up
financial arrangements, engineering design, land acquisition, building construction, procurement of
equipment, its erection and testing to final commissioning, there must be realistic time schedules and a
coherent arrangement, which leads to the completion of the project on most economical basis. Use of
scheduling techniques like PERT and CPM and proper adherence to them is an essential aspect to be insisted
upon in technical appraisal.
Project Charts and Layouts - Project charts and layouts have to be prepared to define the scope of the
project and provide the basis for detailed project engineering. These are general functional layout, material
flow diagram, production line diagram, utility layout and plant layout.
General functional layout should facilitate smooth and economical movement of raw materials, work-in-
process and finished goods. Material flow diagram presents flow of materials, utilities, intermediate products,
final products, scrap and emissions. Production line diagram establishes the progress of production from one
machine to another with description, location, space required, need for power and utilities and distance from
the next section. Utility layout shows the principal consumption points of power, water and compressed air,
which helps in the installation of utility supply. Finally, plant layout identifies the exact location of each
piece of equipment determined by proper utilisation of space leaving scope for expansion, smooth flow of
goods to minimise production cost and safety of workers.
Cost of Production - Estimates of production costs and projection of profitability is the concluding part of
the technical appraisal. Cost of production is worked out taking into account the build up of capacity
utilisation, consumption norms for various inputs and yields and recovery of by- products. In estimating
production, a general build-up starting with 40 percent and reaching a normal level of 80 percent in three to
four year’s time is provided. In practice capacity utilisation may fall short of estimated levels on account of
defective plant and machinery, inadequate operating skills, inadequacy of raw materials, shortage of power
and lack of demand. The cost of production and profitability estimates take into account the level of
production in different years and product-mix (which are dependent on market potential, prices, marketing
strategy, technical constraints relating to process and plant facilities, and operators' efficiency), norms of raw
material consumption (including provision for wastage), power and fuel requirement, their costs, salaries and
wages, repairs and maintenance, administrative overheads, selling expenses (including product promotion)
and interest on borrowings. Adequate provision is made for higher expenses in the initial years for technical
troubles, higher wastages and lower yields, lower operating efficiency and higher selling costs. Here, too,
comparison with similar projects is useful. The profitability estimates should be on a realistic selling price. In
a competitive market, penetration price for a new producer will have to be lower than the current price of an
established manufacturer.
Chapter 4 - Financial Appraisal
Introduction
Financial appraisal is concerned with assessing the feasibility of a new proposal for investment for setting up
a new project or expansion of existing productive facilities. This involves an assessment of funds required to
implement the project and the sources of the same. The other aspect of financial appraisal relates to
estimation of operating costs and revenues, prospective liquidity and financial returns in the operating phase.
In appraising a project, the project's direct benefits and costs are estimated at the prevailing market prices.
This analysis is used to appraise the viability of a project as well as to rank projects on the basis of their
profitability. It may be noted that financial appraisal is concerned with the measurement of profitability of
resources invested in the project without reference to their source.
For the purpose of appraisal it is necessary to make estimates relating to working results in case of existing
concerns, cost of the project and means of financing. Financial projections for a ten-year period have also to
be made.
Sources of Finance
The usual sources of finance for a project are:
Equity capital, term loan, deferred payment, unsecured loans from promoters and internal accruals in the case
of an existing unit.
A balance has to be struck between debt and equity. A debt equity ratio of 1:1 is
considered ideal but it is relaxed upto 2:1 in suitable cases. Further relaxation in debt
equity is made in the case of capital intensive projects. All long-term loans/deferred
credit are treated as debt while equity includes free reserves. Equity is arrived after
deducting carried forward losses in the case of an existing unit.
It is important that no gap is left in financing patterns. Otherwise it will result in delays in implementation of
the project. A condition is stipulated by financial institutions that the promoters shall arrange for funds to
meet any over run in the cost of the project. While the emphasis of financial institution is on the viability of
the project they generally stipulate by way of security, a first legal charge on fixed assets of the company
ranking pari passu with the charge if any, in favour of other financing institutions.
Financial projections
For the purpose of determining the profitability of the project and the ability of the company to service its loans and give a reasonable
return on the equity capital, estimates of cost of the project, profitability, cash flow and projected balance sheets have to be prepared in
the proforma given in Annexure 1 for ten years. These are inter related and are prepared on the basis of the estimated cost of the project,
sources of finance envisaged and various assumptions regarding capacity utilisation, availability of inputs and their price trends and
selling price. The important assumption that should be scrutinised carefully before making estimates are capacity build up, raw material
cost, estimate of wages and salaries, cost of utilities, estimate of administrative expense, selling price assumed and provisions made for
depreciation and statutory taxes. Verification of profitability is the core of proper appraisal of the project. The entrepreneur may be
naturally tempted to present a bright picture but it is the task of financial appraisal to verify the estimates. It is to be ensured that the
profits projected are realistic. In case of new units, any sharp build up of capacity within a year or two will be unwarranted especially if
the product is new. The quantum of raw materials and utilities estimated to be consumed to obtain a particular quality/quantum of end
product is the core of cost of manufacture estimates and should tally with the performance guarantees furnished by the
collaborators/machinery suppliers. In case of multiproduct firms, the product mix is decided on the basis of contribution of each product,
utilisation of plant capacity as well as market. Annual increases in wages and salaries should be about five percent.
Repairs and maintenance will have to be provided keeping in view the type of industry and the number of
shifts to be worked. Depreciation of fixed assets should be provided as per income tax rules. The selling price
should be fixed keeping in view the present domestic price of the product. The profitability projections are
closely linked to the schedule of implementation. On the basis of profitability projections, cash flow and
projected balance
Evaluation of Cash Flow and Profitability
Financial appraisal uses two popular methods and two discounted cash flow techniques to evaluate the cash
flows and profitability of investment. The methods should have three properties to lead to consistently
correct decisions. First, it should consider all cash flows over the entire life of a project; secondly, it should
take into account the time value of money and finally it should help to choose a project from among mutually
exclusive projects, which maximise the value of the firm’s stock.
The two popular methods are the simple rate of return and pay back period. They employ annual data at their
nominal value. They do not take into account the life span of the project but rely on one year.
The discounted cash flow techniques take into consideration the project's entire life and the time factor by
discounting the future inflows and outflows to their present value.
R = (F + Y)/ I
= Re =F/Q
where
Normal year is a representative year in which capacity utilisation is at technically maximum feasible level
and debt repayment is still under way.
The simple rate of return helps in making a quick assessment of profitability, particularly of projects with short life. Its shortcoming is
that it leaves out the magnitude and timing of cash flows for the rest of the years of a project's life. For evaluation, accurate data is
required. In its absence simple rate of return may be incorrect Simple rate of return method is more suitable for financial analysis of
existing units. It is not suitable for optimising investment
Pay-Back Period
Pay-back period for a project, measures the number of years required to recover a project's total investment
from the cash flows it generates. It is the expected number of years required to recover the original
investment If we consider a project with an investment of Rs. 5,00,000 and an expected cash flow of Rs.
1,00,000 per year for 10 years, the pay-back period is given by,
Payback Period = Initial Investment Outlay / Annual Cash Flow
= 5,00,000/1,00,000
= 5 years
The pay-back period shows that the project's initial investment is recovered in five years. Even if cash flows are not uniform, the pay-
back period can be calculated easily by adding together cash flows until the investment is recovered. The method is easy to calculate and
emphasises the liquidity aspect of investment. The shorter the pay-back period the quicker is the recovery of initial investment But it
leaves out the time pattern of the cash flows within the pay-back period. It leaves out the cash flows after the pay back period. Actually,
it is biased against project which yield higher returns in later years. The payback period method is not suitable for evaluation of
alternatives and to make systematic comparison.
DCF Techniques
The discounted cash flow (DCF) methods provide a more objective basis for evaluating investment
proposals. They take into account both the magnitude and timing of expected cash flows in each period of a
project's life. The two methods are the internal rate of return and the present value method. They take into
account time value of money and a rupee today is more valuable than a rupee tomorrow.
IRR for an investment proposal is the discount rate that equates the present value of future cash inflows to the
initial cost of the project. In the IRR method the discount rate is unknown. By definition, IRR is the rate of
discount that reduces net present value of a project to zero. The IRR method finds the specific discount rate
that equates the present value of the expected cash flows to the initial cost of the project. There is a value of
IRR, which will cause the sum of discounted cash flows to equal the initial cost of the project making the
NPV equal to zero. This value is defined as IRR.
IRR is represented by that rate, r, such that
n
∑ [At/ (1 + r)t]
T= 0
= 0
where
At is the cash flow for period t (net inflow or outflow) and n is the last period in which cash flow is expected.
If investment occurs at time 0, the above equation can be expressed as
The future cash flows Al through An are discounted by r to equal the initial investment at time 0, A0.
If initial investment is Rs. 18 lakhs, annual cash flows are Rs. 5.7 lakhs, for five years; the problem can be expressed as:
2 n
A0 = A1/ (1+r) + A2/ (1+r) + … An/ (1+r)
2 3 4 5
18,00,000 = 5,70,000/ (1+r) + 5,70,000/ (1+r) + 5,70,000/ (1+r) + 5,70,000/ (1+r) + 5,70,000/ (1+r)
The internal rate of return, r is 17.57 percent. When IRR is employed, the selection of a project is decided by
comparing it with a required rate of return or cut-off or hurdle rate. The project is accepted only if it exceeds
the required rate of return, leaving a surplus after paying for the capital. This surplus will accrue to the firms
shareholders by increasing the value of the company's stock. If IRR is less than the cost of capital, the project
will impose a cost and results in reduction of the value of the stock.
NPV = ∑
T= 0 At/ (1 + k)
t
where k is the required rate of return. An investment proposal is accepted if the sum of discounted cash flows
is zero or more. If not, it is rejected. The present value of cash inflows should exceed the present value of
cash outflows.
If we use the IRR example, the net present value with an assumed required rate of return of 12 per cent
would be,
2 3 4
NPV = -18,00,000 + 5,70,000/ (1.12) + 5,70,000/ (1.12) + 5,70,000/ (1.12) + 5,70,000/ (1.12) +
5
5,70,000/ (1.12)
= -18,00,000 + 20,54,700
= 2,54,700
When the NPV is zero, the project would cover all required operating and financial costs
but it has no excess returns. When the firm chooses a zero NPV project, the firm
becomes larger but its value does not change. If a project's NPV is zero or positive the
project is acceptable and if the NPV is negative, the project is unacceptable.
The two DCF techniques, the IRR and NPV lead to the same acceptance or rejection decisions. IRR method
is similar to the NPV method. Instead of a minimum acceptable rate of return being defined as an input, a
rate of return is calculated which balances the cash inflows over time with the cash outflows overtime. IRR is
estimated by an iterative process. If IRR is greater than the minimum acceptable rate of return, the project is
deemed to be profitable.
The expected rate of return calculated from the capital asset pricing model
r = rf + β (rm - rf)
(Where r is discount rate, rf interest rate on risk free asset like treasury bill, r m expected return) can be
plugged into standard discounted cash flow formula).
n n
PVT= 0∑ C t/ (1 + r)
t
= T=∑
0
Ct/ [1 + rf + β ( rm - rf )]t
The capital asset pricing model values only the cash flow for the first period C 1. Projects, however, yield cash
flows for several years. If the risk adjusted rate r is used to discount the cash flow, we assume that
cumulative risk increases at a constant rate. The assumption will hold when the project's beta is constant or
risk per period is constant.
Financial Analysis
An integral aspect of financial appraisal is financial analysis, which takes into account the financial features
of a project, especially source of finance. Financial analysis helps to determine smooth operation of the
project over its entire life cycle. The two major aspects of financial analysis are liquidity analysis and capital
structure analysis. For this purpose ratios are employed which reveal existing strengths and weaknesses of
the project
Liquidity Ratios
Liquidity ratios or solvency ratios measure a project's ability to meet its short-term obligations. Two ratios
are calculated to measure liquidity, the current ratio and quick ratio.
Current Ratio: The current ratio is defined as current assets [cash, bank balances, investment in securities,
accounts receivable (sundry debtors) and inventories] divided by current liabilities [accounts payable (sundry
creditors), short term loans from banks, creditors and advances from customers]. It is computed by,
The current ratio measures the assets closest to being cash over those liabilities closest to being payable. It is an indicator of the extent to
which short term creditors are covered by assets that are expected to be converted to cash in a period corresponding to the maturity of
claims.
Acid Test or Quick Ratio: Since inventories among current assets are not quite
liquid, the quick ratio excludes it. The quick ratio includes only assets
which can be readily converted into cash and constitutes a better test of
liquidity.
Quick Ratio = (Current Assets - Inventories)/ Current Liabilities
A quick ratio of 1:1 is considered good from the viewpoint of liquidity.
1,65,000
It may be seen from the above statement that for a sale of Rs. 6,00,000 the variable cost is Rs. 3,60,000 i.e.,
60 per cent of sales. It means that on every rupee of sales, 60 paisa is spent on variable costs and the balance
of 40 paisa (40% ) is left to meet the fixed cost. To find the total sales required to meet the fixed cost of Rs,
1,68,000 tile total fixed cost is divided by 40 per cent.
Break -even sales volume = Total Fixed Cost/ (1 – Total Variable Cost/
Total Sales Volume)
BEP = F/ (1 – V/S)
where
F is fixed cost
V is variable cost S is sales volume.
Substituting the figures mentioned above,
If Rs. 6,00,000 sales can be regarded as normal for a month, (standard sales volume) capacity utilisation rate
at which the project must operate in order to 'break-even' can be calculated. This will be
Breakeven Sales Volume * 100/ Standard Sales Volume
= 4,20,000 *100/ 6,20,000 = 70%
At capacities lower than 70 percent, project is bound to incur losses. On the other hand, it will make profits at
levels above the 70 per capacity utilisation. The 'break- even' capacity represents the capacity utilisation rate
to be achieved to make the project viable. The normal rate for capacity utilisation is about 50 percent.
Chapter 5 - Economic Appraisal
Economic appraisal of a project deals with the impact of the project on economic aggregates. We may classify these under two broad
categories. The first deals with the effect of the project on employment and foreign exchange and second deals with the impact of the
project on net social benefits or welfare.
Employment effect
While assessing the impact of a project on employment, the impact on unskilled and skilled labour has to be
taken into account. Not only direct employment, but also indirect employment should be considered. Direct
employment refers to the new employment opportunities created within the project and first round of indirect
employment concerns job opportunities created in projects related on both input and output sides of the
project under appraisal. Since indirect employment is to be counted, additional investment needed in projects
with forward and backward linkage effects also should be counted. Total employment effect (direct and
indirect) is,
t
ZTe = JOT / I
where
t
I = total investment (direct and indirect)
A project may be export oriented or reduce reliance on imports. In such cases an analysis of the effects of
the project on balance of payments and import substitution is necessary. The assessment of project on the
country's foreign exchange is done in two stages; first, balance of payments effects of the project and second,
import substitution effect of a project. For this purpose, net foreign exchange flows are calculated as per the
proforma in Annexure 2. The proforma enables the analysis of liquidity of a project in terms of foreign
exchange. The annual net flows as well as the net impact over the economic life of the project have to be
found.
The import substitution effect of a project measures the estimated savings in foreign exchange owing to the
curtailment of imports of the items of production of which has been taken up by the project. CIF values are
used in calculation of import substitution effect.
Net foreign exchange effect of the project includes the net foreign exchange flow in Statement 3 and the
import substitution effect.
The analysis of net foreign exchange effect may be done for the entire life of the project or on the basis of a
normal year. If two or more projects are compared on the basis of their net foreign exchange effect, the
annual figure should be discounted to their present value.
Introduction
To meet 1ong-term requirements for funds, securities are issued to public (issue of capital) by firms in the
corporate sector and public sector. Securities represent claims on a stream of income and/or particular assets.
Debentures are debt securities and there is a wide range of them. Equity shares in corporate sector or
privatised public sector undertakings are ownership securities. Preference share is a hybrid security that
entails a mixture of both ownership and creditorship privileges.
Issue of capital which was regulated by the Capital Issues (Control) Act, 1947 was repealed on May 29,1992.
The issue of capital and pricing of issue have become free of prior approval.
Debentures
Definition and Nature
The issue of debentures by public limited companies is regulated by Companies Act 1956. Debenture is a
document, which either creates a debt or acknowledges it. Debentures are issued through a prospectus. A
debenture is issued by a company and is usually in the form of a certificate, which is an acknowledgement of
indebtedness. They are issued under the company's seal. Debentures are one of a series issued to a number of
lenders. The date of repayment is invariably specified in the debenture. Generally debentures are issued
against a charge on the assets of the company. Debentures may, however, be issued without any such charge.
Debenture holders have no right to vote in the meetings of the company.
Kinds of Debentures
Bearer Debentures:
They are registered and are payable to its bearer. They are negotiable instruments and are transferable by delivery.
Registered Debentures:
They are payable to the registered holder whose name appears both on debenture and in the register of
debenture holders maintained by the company. Registered debentures can be transferred but have to be
registered again. Registered debentures are not negotiable instruments. A registered debenture contains a
commitment to pay the principal sum and interest. It also has a description of the charge and a statement that
it is issued subject to the conditions endorsed therein.
Secured Debentures
Debentures, which create a charge on the assets of the company, which may be fixed or floating, are known
as secured debentures.
Redeemable Debentures
Normally debentures are issued on the condition that they shall be redeemed after a certain period. They can,
however, be reissued after redemption under Section 121 of Companies Act 1956.
Perpetual Debentures
When debentures are irredeemable they are called perpetual.
Convertible Debentures
If an option is given to convert debentures into equity shares at stated rate of
exchange after a specified period, they are called convertible debentures.
In our country the convertible debentures are very popular. On
conversion, the holders cease to be lenders and become owners.
Debentures are usually issued in a series with a pari passu (at the same rate) clause which entitles them to be
discharged rateably though issued at different times. New series of debentures cannot rank pari passu with
old series unless the old series provides so.
New debt instruments issued by public limited companies are participating debentures, convertible
debentures with options, third party convertible debentures, convertible debentures redeemable at premium,
debt equity swaps and zero coupon convertible notes.
Participating Debentures
They are unsecured corporate debt securities, which participate in the profits of a company. They might find
investors if issued by existing dividend paying companies.
Debt-equity Swaps
Debt-equity swaps are an offer from an issuer of debt to swap it for equity. The instrument is quite risky for
the investor because the anticipated capital appreciation may not materialise.
Warrants
A warrant is a security issued by a company granting the holder of the warrant the right to purchase a
specified number of shares at a specified price any time prior to an expirable date. Warrants may be issued
with debentures or equity shares. The specific rights are set out in the warrant. The main features of a warrant
are number of shares entitled, expiration date, and stated price/exercise price. The exercise price is 10 to 30
percent above the prevailing market price. Warrants have a secondary market. The minimum value of a
warrant represents the exchange value between current price of the share and the shares purchased at the
exercise price. Warrants have no floatation costs and when they are exercised the firm receives additional
funds at a price lower than the current market, yet above those prevailing at issue time. New or growing firms
and venture capitalists issue warrants. They are also issued in mergers and acquisitions. Debentures issued
with warrants, like convertible debentures carry lower coupon rates.
Advantages of debentures
From the company point of view:
1. The cost of debentures is lower than that of equity or preference capital because the interest on
debentures is tax deductible. Hence the effective post tax cost of debentures is lower.
2. Debenture financing does not lead to dilution of control since debentures do not carry voting rights.
Irrespective of the price level, debentures carry a fixed financial burden. This
would be attractive to a company which expects its income level to go up
substantially in the future.
From the investor’s point of view:
Disadvantages of debentures
From the company’s point of view
Equity Shares
Equity shares represent proportionate ownership of a company. This right is expressed in the form of
participating in the profits of a going company and sharing the assets of a wound up company. Equity shares
have the lowest priority claim on earnings and assets of all securities issued. A company may pay dividend if
if it generates earnings and has no pressing internal needs for them. The firm has no fixed obligation to pay
periodic dividends. Shares have unlimited potential for dividend payments and share appreciation. They also
provide cushion against losses from the pointof view iof the creditors. To the extent the equity is higher the
credit worthiness of the firm is higher. This should have a favourable effect on the rating of its debentures,
lower its cost of debt and increase its future ability to raise debt. Maintaininig a reserve borrowing capacity is
essential to overcome operating problems. In contrast, owners of debentures and preference shares enjoy an
assured return in the form of interest and dividend. As a result of this risk, investors are unwilling to invest
in equity shares unless they offer a rate of return sufficiently high to induce investors to assume the possible
loss.
Voting rights
The Companies’ Act deals with the voting rights of a shareowner. An equity shareowner has a right to vote
on every resolution placed before the company. The voting rights are proportional to the share owners share
of paid-up capital of the company. All shares carry proportionate rights. No Company can issue shares that
carry voting rights disproportionate to the rights attached to the holders of other issues. Voting rights cannot,
however, be exercised in respect of shares on which a call or any other sum due to the company has not been
paid.
It may be noted that the word 'capital' in share capital is used to mean nominal, authorised or issued or paid-
up capital.
Nominal or Authorised Capital is the maximum capital the Memorandum envisages for the company unless
it is changed. The Memorandum also specifies the division of authorised capital into shares of fixed amount.
Issued capital is the nominal value of shares offered for public subscription. In case all shares offered for
public subscription are not taken up. The portion subscribed, is subscribed capital that is less than issued
capital.
Paid-up Capital is the share capital paid-up by shareowners or which is credited as paid-up on the shares.
Par Value is the face value of a share. It does not tell anything about the value of shares.
Book Value is determined by deducting total liabilities including preference shares from total assets and the
difference, which is equal to shareholder equity with the number of equity shares outstanding.
Cash Dividends
A stable cash dividend payment was believed to be the basis for the increase in company's share prices. A
growth-oriented firm retains as much capital as possible for internal financing. Capital appreciation rather
than dividends is what an investor has to look for in their case. Old established firms tend to pay out large
proportion of their earnings as dividend.
Bonus Shares (or stock dividends)
Bonus shares are dividends paid on shares instead of cash. Bonus shares are issued by capitalising reserves. While net worth remains the
same in the balance sheet its distribution between shares and surplus is altered.
Composite Issues
Composite issues consist of rights and public issues. The SEBI guidelines provide for issues to public by
existing companies being tI priced differentially as compared to rights share holders.
Advantages of equity
From the company’s point of view
1. It represents permanent capital. There is no obligation for repayment.
2. There is no fixed obligation for payment of dividends.
3. It increases the creditworthiness of the company. In general, the larger the equity base of the company,
the higher is the ability to obtain credit.
Disadvantages of equity
From the company’s point of view
1. The cost of equity capital is usually the highest.
2. Equity dividends are not tax deductible
3. The cost of issuing equity is higher than the cost of issuing other types of securities due to expenses like
brokerage, underwriting commission, advertisement, etc.
4. It results in dilution of control over the company.
Preference shares
Nature
Preference shares carry preferential rights in comparison with ordinary shares. As a rule, preference
shareholders enjoy a preferential right to dividend. As regards capital, it carries on the winding up of a
company a preferential right to be repaid the amount of capital paid- up on such shares.
Cumulative and Non-cumulative
Preference shares are of two types, cumulative and non- cumulative. In the case of cumulative preference
share, if there is no profit in any year, the arrears of dividend are carried forward and paid in the following
years out of profits, before any dividend is paid on ordinary shares. No such carry forward provision exists
for non- cumulative preference shares.
The dividend on fully convertible cumulative preference share is fixed and paid on the Part B of the share.
Upon conversion of each part of the equipref shares, the face value of it will stand reduced proportionately
and the equipref shares are deemed to have been redeemed to the extent of each part on the respective dates
of conversion.
Preference Shares with Warrants Attached
Each preference share carries a certain number of warrants entitling the holder to apply for equity shares for cash at 'premium' at any
time in one or more stages between the third and fifth year from the date of allotment. If the warrant holder fails to exercise his option,
the unsubscribed portion will lapse. The holders of warrants will be entitled to all rights/bonus shares that may be issued by the
company. From the date of allotment, the preference shares with warrants attached would not be transferred/sold for a period of three
years.
Transfer of Shares
A transfer of shares is complete as soon as the name of the transferee is substituted in place of transferor in
the register of members. The procedure on transfer of share or debenture has been laid down in Sections 108,
110 and 111 of the Companies Act.
There are two kinds of transfer: (a) a transfer under a proper instrument of transfer duly stamped and
executed by the transferor and transferee and (b) transmission by operation of law. Transfer means a
transaction by the act of the parties whereas transmission means a transaction by operation of law.
Transmission occurs on death or bankruptcy of owner.
Another form of transfer of shares is blank transfer. It must be made in prescribed form and delivered to the
company for registration within the prescribed time.
Term loans, also referred to as term finance, represent a source of debt finance which is usually payable in more than a year but less than
ten years. They are employed to finance acquisition of fixed assets and working capital margin.
Investment Institutions
Institutions like UTI, LIC and GIC and its subsidiaries also provide term loans.
Commercial Banks
Apart from these financial institutions, commercial banks also can sanction term loans.
Capital Incentives
They are part of equity. The viability of the project should however, be judged
independent of the quantum and availability of capital incentives.
Application for Term Loans
Having determined the promoters' contribution, the approximate amount of term loan has to be determined. Assume that the project cost
is Rs. 1 crore and promoters contribution is at 22.5 percent The debt equity ratio, of let us say, 2:1 is to be applied That would give debt
of Rs. 66 lakhs and equity of 33 lakhs. Out of equity of Rs. 33 lakhs, promoters' contribution of 22.5 percent of project cost or Rs. 22.5
lakhs should be deducted. That would leave equity to be raised at Rs. 10.5 lakhs and loan to be raised at Rs. 66 lakhs.
The merchant banker has also to ensure that the project adheres to the guidelines for financing of industrial
projects.
After verification that the project would be eligible for term loan, a preliminary meeting should be fixed with the financial institution. If
the DFI agrees to consider the proposal, the application for term loan along with the check list of information to be supplied, has to be
obtained.
The loan application requires details of promoters, background, technical skills, relevant experience and
financial soundness. The market research study for the project has to establish the contribution of the project
to existing and estimated demand. Aspects on technical, financial and economic appraisal are covered. Cash
flow statement for a seven to ten year period is required. The land for the project, plans for building and
quotations for the machinery from two manufacturers have to be obtained. The actual production process has
to be depicted. Finally, working capital requirements have to be estimated and a commercial bank should be
approached. Some preliminary understanding with the bank would be necessary before going ahead with the
application for term loan.
The, merchant banker's involvement would also enable him to state that he has exercised due diligence in the
exercise of his obligation under various regulations. Along with the loan application, memorandum, articles
of association, certificate of incorporation, latest annual report and statement of accounts if any, have to be
filed.
Similarly, documents are to be enclosed for the guarantor company if the loan is guaranteed.
The final structure of financing emerges after taking into account debt-equity ratio, debt service coverage
ratio and security margin. The debt equity ratio is 3: 1 for Small industrial units and 2: 1 for medium and
large units. While computing debt equity ratio, unsecured loans from friends and relatives and capital
incentives are considered a part of equity. Debt equity ratio by and large constitutes an upper limit. The
financial institution determines the proportion of debt in capital structure on the basis of the nature of the
project (capital intensive or otherwise), the ability of the project to service debt in reasonable time and the
priority of the industry in government policy into which the project falls.
Debt Service Coverage Ratio (DSCR)
The payment of interest and repayment of principal within the stipulated time is measured by DSCR. Gross
cash accruals are related to project liability in respect of interest and payment of installment towards
principal. The gross cash accruals should normally be 1.6 to 2 times to assure that the project has inherent
strength and potential to service debt.
Security Margin
The term loan is sanctioned against the security of fixed assets. Security margin represents the excess value of fixed assets over the term
loan. Normally, the term loan is 75 percent of the value of fixed assets. The security margin is 25 percent.
Term loans are granted subject to the following terms and conditions.
1. Clean title to land as security.
2. Insurance of assets, building and machinery separately.
3. Scrutiny of Articles of Association to ensure that it does not contain any restrictive clause against
covenants of the financial institutions.
4. Lien on all fixed assets.
5. Personal and corporate guarantees of major shareholders and associates concerns.
6. Undertaking from promoters to finance shortfalls in funds/cost over-run.
7. Approval of appointment of managerial personnel by DFI.
8. Further capital expenditure only on the approval of DFI.
9. Payment of dividend and issue of bonus shares subject to the approval of financial institution.
10. Undertaking for non-disposal of promoters' shareholding for a period of 3 years.
After the loan is sanctioned the requirements to be met are,
1. Acceptance of terms and conditions of loans
2. Deposit of legal charges
3. Details of plot of land for project
4. Search report and title deeds for the land
5. General body resolutions for creation of charge over assets; 6. pollution clearance
7. Legal documents to create a charge on proposed assets
8. Personal guarantees and undertakings along with income tax and wealth tax clearance of the prompters
and directors
9. Architect and auditor's certificate for civil construction.
Before the loan is disbursed, documents have to be executed and submitted. Stamp duty and registration fees
have to be paid, subscribed and paid-up capital to be brought in by the promoters as required by the DFI and
creation and registration of charge on the present and future assets of the company.
After these requirements are complied with, disbursements are made on the basis of assets created at site.
There has to be a security matching every disbursement starting with land and buildings. Balance after
security margin is paid by the DFI. As machines arrive term loan is disbursed at 75 percent of their value, the
cheque being made in the name of the supplier. In the case of large projects, disbursements are need-based.
In such cases, promoters have to bring in their entire contribution first.
In some cases after the term loan is sanctioned, a bridge loan is granted against a bank guarantee. The bank,
in turn, disburses the loan in parts ensuring that machines or assets are on site. This is done in special cases
where it is physically not possible to inspect each machine as it arrives because of locational factors or to
overcome procedural problems such as establishing clean title, pollution clearance, which require time.
Advantages of Term Loans
From the Company point of view:
1. In post tax terms, the cost of term loans is less than that of equity or preference capital.
2. Term loans do not lead to dilution of control, as the lenders do not have voting rights.
From the lender’s point of view:
1. Term loans carry fixed rate of interest and have a definite maturity period.
2. Term loans represent secured lending
3. Term loans carry several restrictive covenants to protect the interest of the lender.
1. Companies may have capital demands that outstrip the availability of financing at home. It gives more
US exposure and allows them to tap into the rich North American equity markets.
2. Increasing the size of the market for its shares that may increase or stabilise the share price.
3. They also enhance the image of the company's products or services.
4. For those companies who are truly global, it allows buyers of the company's products and services to
also invest in the company.
The following are a few Indian companies whose ADRs are being traded on the American Exchanges.
Clearance Requirements
a.) "In Principle Approval" by DEA for issue of GDR/FCCB.
b.) Approval by FIPB in the case of Industries/activity that is outside the purview of Annex
III items or cases involving foreign equity beyond 51% foreign equity after the proposed
GDR issue.
c.) Approval from Department of Company Affairs under the provisions of Companies
Act, if necessary.
d.) Any other mandatory approval under Government Laws, if any, like IMC approval for
joint venture, Cabinet approval etc.
e.) "Final Approval" by DEA for issue parameters where other mandatory approvals are involved, DEA's
final approval will be granted only after other approvals are obtained by the GDR issuing company.
Use of GDRs
The proceeds of the GDRs can be used for financing capital goods imports, capital expenditure including
domestic purchase/installation of plant, equipment and building and investment in software development,
prepayment or scheduled repayment of earlier external borrowings, and equity investment in JVs in India.
Restrictions
However, investment in stock markets and real estate will not be permitted. Companies may retain the
proceeds abroad or may remit funds into India in anticipation of the use of funds for approved end uses. Any
investment from a foreign firm into India requires the prior approval of the Government of India.
Advantages of GDR for the Issuer: The share price of the company may stabilise because of the widening
of the market. The image of the issuer is also enhanced in the global market. Euro issues cost less than
domestic rights issue. Companies making Euro issues may have understanding with depository bank
resulting in certain voting pattern. The Indian Company does not bear any foreign exchange risk since the
securities are denominated in rupees. On the other hand, it receives the proceeds of Euro-issue in foreign
currency. Euro-issues are easier to administer since dealings are with a single shareholder, the custodian
depository bank.
Advantages to the Investor: In regard to the investors, they enjoy the benefits of international
diversification while avoiding long delays in settlement and transfer of shares, confusing trade and tax
practices. GDRs are quoted in dollars and dividends are paid in dollar, free of foreign exchange risk. They
enable the foreign investor to avoid restriction on purchase and holding of individual company's shares.
GDRs are quite as liquid as the underlying shares and they can be exchanged for shares. GDR transactions do
not involve the foreign investor in SEBI approval as a foreign investor. Finally, GDRs are attractive to
foreign investors because the returns are large.
Chapter 9 - Lease Finance
Introduction
Lease finance has emerged as a source of financing project cost over the last few years. Lease finance is a
cheap and flexible means of financing as compared to term loans from financial institutions. While the
investor or lender in conventional financing looks to the cash flow from the issuers' overall business to
provide the return on investment or loan, in lease finance, the investor or lender looks principally to the cash
flow from the specific assets or collection of assets in which their funds are invested, for these returns.
Leasing industry consists mainly of finance and leasing companies who are lessors. Several banks have
added leasing activity to their business. Finance companies undertake leasing as one of their activities.
Types of Leases
There are four kinds of leases:
Sale and Lease Back
Under this lease a firm that owns the asset (building, land and equipment) sells the asset and simultaneously
executes an agreement to lease the asset back for a specified period on specific terms. The sale and lease
back instrument is an alternative to mortgage. The firn which sells the assets is the lessee. It receives the
purchase price put by the buyer or the lessor. The seller-lessee retains the use of the assets. The lease
payments under sale and lease back are set so as to return the full purchase price to the investor-lessor while
Operating Lease
They are also called service leases and provide for the lessor to maintain and service the leased asset and the
cost of such maintenance is built into the lease payment. Operating leases are frequently not fully amortised.
The lessor expects to recover the full investment costs through subsequent rental payments, leases or sale of
leased equipment. Operating leases frequently contain a cancellation clause which gives the lessee the right
to cancel the lease.
Structuring of the Operating Lease
The equipment leased under an operational lease has an established use or an active second hand market. The
equipment is leased for relatively short periods of around six months to a year or two years. Longer duration
is adopted for ships and aircraft. In view of these factors, the cost of equipment is not sought to be fully
recovered by the lessor through rental from a single lessee. The equipment may be given on lease to a
succession of lessors over the economic life of the equipment The lessor may also sell the equipment in
second hand market. Finally, in cases where the lessor activities are restricted to a given range of equipment,
he may be able to offer attractive lease terms reflecting his purchase discounts, lower maintenance cost and
expertise in the range of equipment he specialises.
Financial or Capital Lease
Financial or capital lease involves a long term commitment between lessor and lessee. The lease duration is
generally equal to half of the expected life of the asset. But financial lease differs from operating lease in
three respects:
• They do not provide for maintenance service
• They can not be cancelled
• They are fully amortised.
The equipment is selected by the firm that uses it (lessee) and negotiates the price and delivery terms with the manufacturer. The user
firm negotiates with the leasing unit to buy the equipment from the manufacturer or distributor and after purchase the lease agreement is
executed by the user.
The lease payment is a fixed obligation of the lessee and apart from amortising the cost of asset, leaves a
return to the lessor.
Financial Lease
A financial lease is a long term agreement, generally extending over the estimated economic life of the asset.
Under the agreement, the lessor agrees to finance the use of the equipment by the lessee over a time period
and is generally not subject to cancellation by the lessee before the end of the base lease period. Financial
lease is a source of finance for the acquisition of the equipment. Signing a financial lease contract is like
borrowing money. Financial leases are also called full payout leases as they enable a lessor to recover his
investment in the lease and make a profit.
Leveraged lease
A leveraged lease is arranged when the equipment is very costly. Leveraged leases are financial leases in
which the lessor borrows a part of the purchase price of the leased asset, using lease contract as the security
of the loan. In the leveraged lease, the cost of the leased asset is financed by issuing debt and equity claims
against the asset and the future lease payments. The leveraged lease has a longer maturity owing to its high
value.
Generally, there are three parties in the leveraged lease, which include the lessor, the lessee and the lender of
funds. The lessor provides equity funds and is generally termed as equity participant and the lender is called
the debt participant. While the lessee pays rentals without much difference of the nature of the lease, the
lessor receives leveraged lease rentals after debt service, taxes and other expenses. The lessor obtains
maximum tax shelter under the leveraged lease such as complete tax benefits of depreciation as owner of the
equipment despite limited equity participation.
The funds borrowed to finance the cost of the assets are of nonrecourse nature i.e. the debt is secured by a
first charge on the equipment or lien on lease rentals beyond which the lessor is not liable for the debt
obligation. The agreement may, however, create a lien on other assets for realisation of debt from the lessor.
The cost of the lease depends upon the weighted cost of the capital.
Requirements for a leveraged lease are,
a) The existence of a large value equipment providing for substantial depreciation,
b) The inability of either the lessee or a single lessor to utilise depreciation in good time,
c) The availability of a lender willing to extend funds to the user on the strength of user's credit rating
d) The existence of equity investors (lessors) with potentially large tax outflow.
Advantages of Leasing:
Short Term: Operating leases are short term which constitute a convenient means of obtaining the use of an
asset for a relatively short period of time. They also relieve the lessee of product obsolescence.
Full Funding: Leasing provides 100 percent of equipment finance.
Simplicity: A leasing agreement is simple to negotiate and administer. The documentation is quicker as
compared to 'security tied' credits such as term loans. The procedure for lease financing is much simpler than
any other form of asset-backed financing.
Reduced cost of borrowing: Lease finance is highly cost effective source of funds for smaller companies. A
large leasing company may be able to borrow more cheaply than a smaller operating company. Transaction
costs are also lower for lessors of readily saleable assets.
Swapping Tax Shields: In situations where the lessor is in tax paying position vis-a-vis the lessee, the lessor
can pass on a part of the benefit to the lessee through a lowering of the lease rental.
New Source or Funds: Lease financing may permit a lessee to tap a new source of funds such as finance
companies.
Lease Rentals: Lease rental can be structured to accommodate the operational cash-flow pattern of the lessee
and aid tax planning of the lease rental. As a result, lease funding may work out cheaper than a term loan.
Restrictive Covenants: Lease agreements are free of restrictive covenants and conditionalities as compared
to term-loan agreements. Lease financing is more comprehensive.
Expenses: Most of the expenses associated with the leased equipment can be built into the lease and
amortised over the lease period. These expenses include delivery charges, interest on advance payments,
taxes and installment payments. These expenses are generally not financed under a term loan. Leasing can
also be used in project financing with the rentals structured so as to defer lessee's payment obligation till the
asset is in commercial operation. Further, lease rentals can be structured to get maximum tax benefit. In view
of the accelerated amortisation of equipment, the risk of obsolescence is minimised under a lease.
Dilution of Equity: Dilution of equity by the issuance of equity or convertible term finance can be avoided
in lease financing.
Disadvantages or Leasing
The principal disadvantages are lessee's forfeiture of the tax benefits of ownership and loss of residual value.
In opting for a lease, the lessee may have to accept some restrictions. The lessee also assumes a higher
financial obligation in the event of equipment being found operationally unsuitable or if lessee opts for an
early termination of the lease agreement Incentives and grants available to owners of assets who are also end
users are lost in the case of a lease by both lessor and lessee. Finally, in several states of the Indian Union,
sales tax is applicable on lease rentals rendering lease finance, cost ineffective.
Chapter 10 - Working Capital Financing
Introduction
Working capital refers to current assets and liabilities. Strictly, it is not a part of Project Finance, which deals with financing of fixed
assets. But working capital has to be dealt with under project finance for two reasons: first, the margin money for working capital has to
be financed by long term sources and, secondly, it is seen that many a unit flounders because of inadequate working capital. Promoters
have to ensure adequate working capital to reach breakeven point and step up capacity utilisation, if available. It is essential that such
estimates are available and resources are tied up to meet the working capital requirements of the project.
Gross working capital refers to the firm’s investment in the current assets and includes cash, short term
securities, debtors, bills receivables and stock (inventories).
It is necessary that the investment in the current assets should be neither excessive nor inadequate.
WC requirement of a firm keeps changing with the change in the business activity and hence the firm must
be in a position to strike a balance between them. The financial manager should know where to source the
funds from, in case the need arises and whereto invest in case of excess funds.
Net working capital refers to the difference between the current assets and the current liabilities. Current
liabilities are those claims of outsiders, which are expected to mature for payment within an accounting year
and include creditors, bills payable, bank overdraft and outstanding expenses.
When current assets exceed current liabilities it is called Positive WC and when current liabilities exceed
current assets it is called Negative WC.
The Net WC being the difference between the current assets and current liabilities is a qualitative concept. It
indicates:
The liquidity position of the firm
Suggests the extent to which the WC needs maybe financed by permanent sources of funds
DEBTORS
CASH DEBTORS
STOCK OF
FINISHED GOODS
Operating cycle of non-manufacturing firm like the wholesaler and retail includes conversion of cash into
stock of finished goods, stock of finished goods into debtors and debtors into cash. Also the operating cycle
of financial and service firms involves conversion of cash into debtors and debtors into cash.
Thus we can say that the time that elapses between the purchase of raw material and collection of cash for
sales is called operating cycle whereas time length between the payment for raw material purchases and the
collection of cash for sales is referred to as cash cycle.
The operating cycle is the sum of the inventory period and the accounts receivables period, whereas the cash
cycle is equal to the operating cycle less the accounts payable period.
CASH RECD.
ORDER PLACED STOCK ARRIVES STOCK GOES
OPERATING CYCLE
CASH CYCLE
Operating Cycle and Cash Cycle
Factors influencing the working capital requirement
All firms do not have the same WC needs .The following are the factors that affect the WC
needs:
1. Nature and size of business: The WC requirement of a firm is closely related to the
nature of the business. We can say that trading and financial firms have very less
investment in fixed assets but require a large sum of money to be invested in WC. On
the other hand Retail stores, for example, have to carry large stock of variety of goods
little investment in the fixed assets.
Also a firm with a large scale of operations will obviously require more WC than the smaller firm.
The following table shows the relative proportion of investment in current assets and fixed assets for certain
industries:
Current assets Fixed assets Industries
(%) (%)
10-20 80-90 Hotel and restaurants
20-30 70-80 Electricity generation and Distribution
30-40 60-70 Aluminum, Shipping
40-50 50-60 Iron and Steel, basic industrial chemical
50-60 40-30 Tea plantation
60-70 30-40 Cotton textiles and Sugar
70-80 20-30 Edible oils, Tobacco
80-90 10-20 Trading, Construction
2. Manufacturing cycle: It starts with the purchase and use of raw materials and completes with the
production of finished goods. Longer the manufacturing cycle larger will be the WC requirement, this is
seen mostly in the industrial products.
3. Business fluctuation: When there is an upward swing in the economy, sales will increase also the firm’s
investment in inventories and book debts will also increase, thus it will increase the WC requirement of
the firm and vice-versa.
4. Production policy: To maintain an efficient level of production the firm’s may resort to normal
production even during the slack season. This will lead to excess production and hence the funds will be
blocked in form of inventories for a long time, hence provisions should be made accordingly. Since the
cost and risk of maintaining a constant production is high during the slack season some firm’s may resort
to producing various products to solve their capital problems. If they do not, then they require high WC.
5. Firm’s Credit Policy: If the firm has a liberal credit policy its funds will remain blocked for a long time
in form of debtors and vice-versa. Normally industrial goods manufacturing will have a liberal credit
policy, whereas dealers of consumer goods will a tight credit policy.
6. Availability of Credit: If the firm gets credit on liberal terms it will require less WC since it can always
pay its creditors later and vice-versa.
7. Growth and Expansion Activities: It is difficult precisely to determine the relationship between
volume of sales and need for WC. The need for WC does not follow the growth but precedes it. Hence,
if the firm is planning to increase its business activities, it needs to plan its WC requirements during the
growth period.
8. Conditions of Supply of Raw Material: If the supply of RM is scarce the firm may need to stock it in
advance and hence need more WC and vice-versa.
9. Profit Margin and Profit Appropriation: A high net profit margin contributes towards the WC pool.
Also, tax liability is unavoidable and hence provision for its payment must be made in the WC plan,
otherwise it may impose a strain on the WC.
Also if the firm’s policy is to retain the profits it will increase their WC, and if they decide to pay their
dividends it will weaken their WC position, as the cash will flow out. However this can be avoided by
declaring bonus shares out of past profits. This will help the firm to maintain a good image and also not part
with the money immediately, thus not affecting the WC position.
Depreciation policy of the firm, through its effect on tax liability and retained earning, has an influence on
the WC. The firm may charge a high rate of depreciation, which will reduce the tax payable and also retain
more cash, as the cash does not flow out. If the dividend policy is linked with net profits, the firm can pay
fewer dividends by providing more depreciation. Thus depreciation is an indirect way of retaining profits and
preserving the firms WC position.
Usually, banks insist that the permanent portion of the working capital requirement be brought by the promoters from long term sources
– either equity or debt.
Pursuant to the provisions of the Act, the company cannot invite, or allow any other person to invite or cause
to be invited on its behalf, any deposit unless –
It is in accordance with the prescribed rules.
An advertisement is issued showing the financial position of the company and
The company is not in default in the repayment of any deposit or interest.
In case of non banking and non financial companies, the Central Government has issued `Companies (Acceptance of Deposits) Rules,
1975’ and in case of non banking financial companies, the Reserve Bank of India has issued `Non Banking Financial Companies
Acceptance of Public Deposits (Reserve Bank) Directions, 1998’ which have to be complied with along with the provisions of Section
58A of the Act.
For its short term requirements, companies normally prefers to accept fixed deposits instead of taking loans from banks as the rate of
interest for deposits is generally less as compared to interest charged by banks. Normally, listed companies come out with the schemes
of fixed deposits. Response to such listed companies from public is better as compared to unlisted companies.
"Free Reserves" mean the balance in the share premium account, capital and debenture redemption reserves
and any other reserves shown in the balance-sheet of the company and created by appropriation out of the
profits of the company, but does not include (i) the balance in any reserve created for repayment of any
future liability or for depreciation in assets or for bad debts; and (ii) by the revaluation of any assets of the
company.
Period of accepting deposits
A Company can invite/accept deposits for a period not less than 6 months and not more than 36 months from
the date of acceptance of such deposits or from the date of its renewal.
Therefore, a company can accept/invite deposits for a period between 6-36 months.
However, a company may accept deposits upto 10% of its paid up capital and free reserves which are
repayable after three months, from the date of such deposits or renewal thereof to meet any of its short term
requirements.
6. Short-Term Loans From Financial Institutions: The LIC, GIC and UTI provide short-term loans to
manufacturing companies that have a good track record. The following are the eligibility conditions if
obtaining the loans:
Declared an annual dividend of 6 % for the past 5 years, in some cases it is 10 % over last 3 years
The debt equity ratio should not exceed 2:1
The current ratio should be at least 1:1
The average of the interest cover ratios for the past three years should be at least 2:1
The important features of the short-term loans provided by the financial institutions include:
They are unsecured and given on the basis of a demand promissory note
The loan is given for a period of 1 year and can be renewed for two consecutive years if the eligibility
conditions are satisfied
The company has to wait for at least 6 months after its repayment in order to avail of a fresh loan
7. Rights Debentures For Working Capital: In order to get long term resources for working capital, the
public limited companies can issue ‘rights’ debentures to their shareholders. The key guidelines to be
followed include:
The amount of debenture issue should not exceed 20 % of the gross current assets, loans and advances
minus the long term loans presently available for financing working capital OR 20 % of paid up share
capital, including preference capital and free reserves, whichever is the lower of the two
The debt - equity ratio including the proposed dividend issue should not exceed 1:1
They shall be first offered to Indian resident shareholders of the company on a pro rata basis
8. Commercial Paper: Large firms who are financially strong issue commercial paper .It represents a short-
term unsecured promissory note issued by firms of high credit rating. Its important feature include:
Maturity ranges from 60-180 days
It is sold at a discount from its face value and redeemed at its face value. Thus the implicit interest rate is
a function of size of the discount and the period of maturity
Either directly placed with investors or sold through dealers
Usually bought by investors who keep it till the maturity and hence no well developed secondary market
Procedure of issuing CP
Every issuer must appoint an IPA for issuance of CP. The issuer should disclose to the potential investors its
financial position as per the standard market practice. After the exchange of deal confirmation between the
investor and the issuer, issuing company shall issue physical certificates to the investor or arrange for
crediting the CP to the investor’s account with a depository. Investors shall be given a copy of IPA certificate
to the effect that the issuer has a valid agreement with the IPA and documents are in order
9. Factoring:
A factor is a financial institution set up to provide services related to management and financing of debt
The factor charges a commission which may be 1-2 % of the face value of the debt factored.
Advantages of factoring:
Ensures definite pattern of cash inflows from credit sales
Continuous factoring may virtually eliminate the need for the credit and the collection department
Disadvantages of Factoring
Comparatively an expensive form of financing
The factoring debt may be perceived as a sign of financial weakness
Findings:
The project:
The Konkan Railway is the missing link between India's commercial capital, Mumbai and Mangalore. The
760 Km. line now connects Maharashtra, Goa and Karnataka - a region of criss-crossing rivers, plunging
valleys and mountains that soar into the clouds.
With a total number of 2,000 bridges and 92 tunnels to be built through this mountainous terrain containing
many rivers, the project is the biggest and perhaps most difficult railway undertaking during this century, at
least in this part of the world. The various problems, had been carried out efficiently and in a very short time.
The largest railway project in this part of the world in the last five decades threw up a whole range of
difficulties technical, financial, emotional and psychological. The rocky Sahyadris had to be bored through,
1,500 rivers had to be forded, a railway line had to be built out of nowhere. And sometimes, poisonous
snakes and tigers had to be faced.
The Appraisal
Before the project was handed over to the KRC, it was being handled by the Southern Railway.
A two level appraisal was followed:
1. A rough estimate of the returns from the project was made. The project was expected to generate an
internal rate of return (IRR)of 14 percent.
2. A Detailed Project Report was prepared. This report consisted of two parts:
The Engineering Survey aimed at studying the land terrain to arrive at the optimum alignment between the
starting and the end points of the rail network. For this, the following two factors were kept in mind:
1) The land acquisition had to be minimum. That is, not too many inhabited areas were to be affected by
the project. Hence, emphasis was laid on laying the track from around the inhabited areas.
2) Arriving at the optimum path to minimise the cost of levelling the land. To level the land for laying the
track, three things could be done:
- Building bridges
- Boring tunnels through the mountain
- Earthwork, i.e., either ‘cutting’ the land or ‘filling’ the land
The Traffic Survey consisted of Origin-Destination Study (OD). The OD consisted of studying the industries
in the catchment area, through the questionnaire method. It is essentially the ‘end use’ method of demand
forecasting. It aimed at finding out the movement of raw materials and finished goods into and through the
project area. Estimates were also made regarding future bulk traffic on account of the establishment of Essar
Steel in Ratnagiri, Usha Ispat, etc. Similarly, cement plants were expected to be established at Saurashtra and
hence increase the flow of traffic.
The project had not taken off for two years. In 1991, the KRC took the project over from the Southern
Railway. This was on a BOT basis. Providing for the inflation for two years @10%, the project cost went up
to Rs. 1043 crore from Rs. 861 crore earlier.
The equity was fixed at Rs. 250 crore and the debt (only bonds) at Rs. 750 crore. The central government
roped in four state governments to subscribe to the equity. Accordingly, the ownership pattern of the KRC
was now as follows:
Ministry of Railways : 51%
Maharashtra: 22%
Karnataka: 15%
Goa: 6%
Kerala: 6%
The interest rate on the bonds, which were tax free, was fixed at 9%. This was raised to 10.5% by the
Ministry of Finance in 1992. The interest was payable even during the construction period. Thus the cost of
the project rose to Rs 1600 crore.
There was a need for further funds, but the securities scam of 1992 depressed the primary market for bonds
too. Hence, KRC resorted to External Commercial Borrowings of $115 million (Rs. 409 crores).
Sale and Lease Back was another source of finance that KRC resorted to. It sold off the already constructed
railway tracks to Infrastructure Leasing and Financial Services (IL & FS) and raised Rs. 100 crore.
Time and Cost overruns
Two important factors led to time and thus cost overruns for the project:
1) Objection from environmental groups in Goa: The Prime Minister ordered stoppage of work till the
enquiry by the Justice Ojha Committee was completed. This delayed the project by 7 to 8 months.
2) Unexpected terrain: The soil structure turned out to be much more difficult than expected. Instead of the
laterite soil that was expected, it turned out to be fractured rock. This delayed the project by two years.
This led to major expenses by way of interest.
By now the estimated project cost had gone up to Rs. 2520 crore. This was over and above the interest
burden of Rs. 1030 crore. Thus the total cost of the project worked out to Rs. 3550 crore.
Breakeven Point
KRC expects to breakeven in the next 20 years. The reason for such a long gestation is the nature of the
demand for railways. The demand being derived demand, it is very sensitive to the state of the economy and
the rate of growth in basic industries. But the bulk traffic in the form of transport of coal, steel, cement, etc is
not coming as expected. Infact it has reduced due to an overall slowdown in the economy.
The cement units expected to start at Saurashtra did not start their operations. Infact, now the cement is
milled and packed at different locations. Hence the expected traffic did not materialise.
1. Air India acquired two B747-400 aircraft in Oct/Nov 1996. The Government of India had at that time
categorically stated that no guarantee would be forthcoming for the financing package for these aircraft.
Air India, therefore, arranged asset based financing with a US Eximbank’s guarantee.
2. Normally the US Eximbank does not allow government owned airlines to undertake asset based
financing. However as the Government of India was firm in its decision of not providing a guarantee,
the US Eximbank agreed to do an asset based financing structured as a Finance Lease.
3. Under this structure a Special Purpose Company (SPC) was set up in a tax-free haven (Bermuda) to own
the aircraft and subsequently lease the aircraft to Air India. This enabled the US Eximbank to control
directly the SPC (i.e. the Lessor) as the shares of this SPC were pledged to US Eximbank.
4. As this structure was asset based, the aircraft acquired under this financing structure together with two
additional B747-400 aircraft acquired earlier were required to be mortgaged to the US Eximbank as
security for their guarantee.
5. Unlike a Japanese Leveraged Lease structure, there is no equity contribution from the lessor as owner of
the aircraft and therefore Air India could not derive any upfront benefit.
6. The US Exim guaranteed lenders provided the funds to the SPC to enable the SPC to purchase the
aircraft from the manufacturer. The outgo to Air India under this finance lease structure was exactly the
same as under a vanilla loan.
7. The interest rate on the US Exim tranche of this financing was very attractive (three-month LIBOR in
US dollars plus a spread of 0.08%).
8. The title to the aircraft will pass on to Air India on expiry of the lease term of 12 years without payment
of any purchase price.
9. The US Eximbank insisted on a Letter of “Comfort” from the Government of India. This letter was
provided after protracted negotiations with the Ministry of Finance, the Ministry of Civil Aviation and
the Ministry of Law.
10. In view of a 100% Government ownership, Air India had not faced any problem in getting guarantees
from the US Eximbank and the export credit agencies of the UK, France and Germany. This enabled Air
India to arrange loans at competitive rates.
Outflows Year
0 1 2 3 4 5 ...10
1. Land and building
2. Plant and machinery
3. Working capital
Total outlay
Annexure 2: Proforma for Estimate of Foreign-Exchange Flows or a Project (In foreign exchange)
Item Year
0 1 2 3 4 5
I. Foreign-exchange inflows (FI)
A. Direct inflow
1. Foreign equity capital
2. Term loan
3. Foreign aid or grant
4. Goods or equipment on deferred payment
5. Exports of goods or Services
6. Others
B. Indirect inflow
(For linked projects)
7. Capital
8. Term loans in cash and in kind
9. Foreign aid or grant
10. Export of goods or services
11. Others