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COST-VOLUME-PROFIT ANALYSIS:
A MANAGERIAL PLANNING TOOL
DISCUSSION QUESTIONS
1. CVP analysis allows managers to focus on 8. Packages of products, based on the
selling prices, volume, costs, profits, and expected sales mix, are defined as a single
sales mix. Many different “what-if” questions product. Selling price and cost information for
can be asked to assess the effect of changes this package can then be used to carry out
in key variables on profits. CVP analysis.
2. The units sold approach defines sales 9. This statement is wrong; break-even analysis
volume in terms of units of product and gives can be easily adjusted to focus on target
answers in these same terms. The unit profit.
contribution margin is needed to solve for the
10. The basic break-even equation is adjusted
break-even units. The sales revenue
for target profit by adding the desired target
approach defines sales volume in terms of
revenues and provides answers in these profit to the total fixed costs in the numerator.
same terms. The overall contribution margin The denominator remains the contribution
ratio can be used to solve for the break-even margin per unit.
sales dollars. 11. A change in sales mix will change the
3. Break-even point is the level of sales activity contribution margin of the package (defined
where total revenues equal total costs, or by the sales mix), and thus will change the
where zero profits are earned. units needed to break even.
4. At the break-even point, all fixed costs are 12. Margin of safety is the sales activity in excess
covered. Above the break-even point, only of that needed to break even. The higher the
variable costs need to be covered. Thus, margin of safety, the lower the risk.
contribution margin per unit is profit per unit,
provided that the unit selling price is greater 13. Operating leverage is the use of fixed costs to
than the unit variable cost (which it must be extract higher percentage changes in profits
for break even to be achieved). as sales activity changes. It is achieved by
increasing fixed costs while lowering variable
5. Variable cost ratio = Variable costs/Sales costs. Therefore, increased leverage implies
Contribution margin ratio increased risk, and vice versa.
= Contribution margin/Sales 14. Sensitivity analysis is a “what-if” technique
Contribution margin ratio that examines the impact of changes in
= 1 – Variable cost ratio underlying assumptions on an answer. A
company can input data on selling prices,
6. No. The increase in contribution is $9,000 (0.3 variable costs, fixed costs, and sales mix and
× $30,000), and the increase in advertising is set up formulas to calculate break-even
$10,000. If the contribution margin ratio is
points and expected profits. Then, the data
0.40, then the increased contribution is
can be varied as desired to see what impact
$12,000 (0.4 × $30,000). This is $2,000 above
the increased advertising expense, so the changes have on the expected profit.
increased advertising would be a good 15. A declining margin of safety means that sales
decision. are moving closer to the break-even point.
7. Sales mix is the relative proportion sold of Profit is going down, and the possibility of
each product. For example, a sales mix of 3:2 loss is greater. Managers should analyze the
means that three units of one product are reasons for the decreasing margin of safety
sold for every two of the second product. and look for ways to increase revenue and/or
decrease costs.
3. Head-First Company
Contribution Margin Income Statement
For the Coming Year
Total Per Unit
Sales ($70 × 5,000 helmets).................................. $350,000 $70
Total variable expense ($49 × 5,000) ................... 245,000 49
Total contribution margin .................................... 105,000 $21
Total fixed expense............................................... 29,400
Operating income ................................................ $ 75,600
$29,400
=
($70 - $49)
= 1,400 helmets
2. Head-First Company
Contribution Margin Income Statement
At Break-Even
Total
Sales ($70 × 1,400 helmets)....................................................... $98,000
Total variable expense ($49 × 1,400) ........................................ 68,600
Total contribution margin ......................................................... 29,400
Total fixed expense.................................................................... 29,400
Operating income ...................................................................... $ 0
= $49
$70
= 0.70, or 70%
= ($ 7 0 - $ 4 9 )
$70
= 0.30, or 30%
3. Head-First Company
Contribution Margin Income Statement
For the Coming Year
Percent
of Sales
Sales ($70 × 5,000 helmets).................................. $350,000 100%
Total variable expense ($49 × 5,000) ................... 245,000 70
Total contribution margin .................................... 105,000 30
Total fixed expense............................................... 29,400
Operating income ................................................ $ 75,600
$29,400
=
0.30
= $98,000
2. Head-First Company
Contribution Margin Income Statement
At Break-Even
Total
Sales ........................................................................................... $98,000
Total variable expense ($98,000 × 0.70) ................................... 68,600
Total contribution margin ......................................................... 29,400
Total fixed expense.................................................................... 29,400
Operating income ...................................................................... $ 0
($29,400 + $81,900)
=
($70 - $49)
= 5,300 helmets
2. Head-First Company
Contribution Margin Income Statement
At 5,300 Helmets Sold
Total
Sales ($70 × 5,300 helmets)....................................................... $371,000
Total variable expense ($49 × 5,300) ........................................ 259,700
Total contribution margin ......................................................... 111,300
Total fixed expense.................................................................... 29,400
Operating income ...................................................................... $ 81,900
= ($29,400 + $81,900)
0.30
= $371,000
2. Head-First Company
Contribution Margin Income Statement
At Sales Revenue of $371,000
Total
Sales ........................................................................................... $371,000
Total variable expense ($371,000 × 0.70) ................................. 259,700
Total contribution margin ......................................................... 111,300
Total fixed expense.................................................................... 29,400
Operating income ...................................................................... $ 81,900
1. Any package with 5 bicycle helmets for every 1 motorcycle helmet is fine; for
example, 5:1, or 10:2, or 30:6. Throughout the rest of this exercise, we will use
5:1.
Fixed cost
2. Break-even packages =
Package contribution margin
= $54,600
$182
= 300 packages
3. Head-First Company
Contribution Margin Income Statement
At Break-Even
Total
Sales [($70 × 1,500) + ($220 × 300)] .......................................... $171,000
Total variable expense [($49 × 1,500) + ($143 × 300)] ............. 116,400
Total contribution margin ......................................................... 54,600
Total fixed expense.................................................................... 54,600
Operating income ...................................................................... $ 0
= 0.3193
2. Head-First Company
Contribution Margin Income Statement
At Break-Even Sales Dollars
Total
Sales ........................................................................................... $170,999
Total variable expense ($170,999 × 0.6807) ............................. 116,399
Total contribution margin ......................................................... 54,600
Total fixed expense.................................................................... 54,600
Operating income ...................................................................... $ 0
$105,000*
= = 1.4
$75,600
* 5,000 × ($70 - $49)
Exercise 4–12
1. Direct materials .......................................................................... $ 5.85
Direct labour ............................................................................... 2.10
Variable overhead ...................................................................... 3.15
Variable selling and administrative expense ........................... 2.40
Unit variable cost ....................................................................... $13.50
Unit contribution margin = Price – Unit variable cost
= $24.00 – $13.50
= $10.50
Exercise 4–13
Exercise 4–14
Sales $1,575,000
Variable costs 1,222,500
Contribution margin 352,500
Fixed costs 183,300
Operating income $ 169,200
Exercise 4–16
= $150,000
$0.80
= 187,500
($131,650 + $18,350 + $12,600)
3. Units to earn $12,600 =
($2.45 - $1.65)
= 203,250
Exercise 4–17
*Rounded
(Note: Calculated break-even units that include a fractional amount have been
rounded to the nearest whole unit.)
Exercise 4–19
1. Variable cost ratio: Variable cost/Sales revenue = $303,885/$675,300 = 45%
Contribution margin ratio = CM/Sales = $371,415/$675,300 = 55%
Revenue $450,200
Variable expenses 202,590
Contribution margin 247,610
Fixed expenses 247,610
Operating income 0
1. Sales mix is 2:1 (twice as many DVDs are sold as equipment sets).
1. Sales mix is 2:1:4 (twice as many DVDs will be sold as equipment sets, and four
times as many yoga mats will be sold as equipment sets).
3. Switzer Company
Income Statement
For the Coming Year
Sales ........................................................................................... $555,000
Less: Total variable costs ......................................................... 330,000
Contribution margin ............................................................. 225,000
Less: Total fixed costs .............................................................. 118,350
Operating income ................................................................. $106,650
$225,000
Contribution margin ratio = = 0.405, or 40.5%
$555,000
1. Sales mix is 3:5:1 (three times as many small basics will be sold as carved
models and five times as many large basics will be sold as carved models).
3. Sonora Company
Income Statement
For the Coming Year
Sales ........................................................................................... $25,650,000
Less: Total variable costs ......................................................... 18,520,000
Contribution margin ............................................................. 7,130,000
Less: Total fixed costs .............................................................. 669,750
Operating income ................................................................. $ 6,460,250
$7,130,000
Contribution margin ratio = = 0.2780, or 27.80%
$25,650,000
$669,750
Break-even revenue = = $2,409,173
0.2780
35,000
30,000
Revenue and Cost ($)
25,000
X
20,000
15,000
10,000
X
5,000
0
0 500 1,000 1,500 2,000 2,500 3,000 3,500
Units Sold
Break-even point = 2,500 units; + line is total revenue, and X line is total cost.
40,000
X
35,000
30,000
Revenue and Cost ($)
25,000
20,000
15,000 X
10,000
5,000
0
0 500 1,000 1,500 2,000 2,500 3,000 3,500 4,000
Units Sold
50,000
40,000
Revenue and Cost ($)
X
30,000
20,000
X
10,000
0
0 500 1,000 1,500 2,000 2,500 3,000 3,500 4,000
Units Sold
60,000
50,000
Revenue and Cost ($)
40,000
30,000
20,000 X
10,000
X
0
0 500 1,000 1,500 2,000 2,500 3,000 3,500 4,000
Units Sold
70,000
60,000
Revenue and Cost ($)
50,000 X
40,000
30,000
20,000 X
10,000
0
0 1,000 2,000 3,000 4,000 5,000 6,000 7,000
Units Sold
Exercise 4–24
$2,610,000
*Contribution margin ratio = = 0.58, or 58%
$4,500,000
Contribution margin
3. Degree of operating leverage =
Operating income
$2,610,000
=
$776,700
= 3.36
Exercise 4–26
Exercise 4–27
$6,720,000
1. a. Variable cost per unit = = $19.20
350,000
$1,680,000
b. Contribution margin per unit = = $4.80
350,000
$1,680,000
5. Degree of operating leverage = = 10.0
$168,000
Problem 4–28
1. Break-even point in units = Fixed costs/Contribution margin per unit
= $3,213,924/$21 = 153,044 units
*rounded up
Fixed cost
1. Break-even units =
(Price - Unit variable cost)
$96,000
=
($10 - $5)
= 19,200 units
($96,000 - $13,500)
2. Break-even units =
($10 - $5)
= 16,500 units
3. The reduction in fixed costs reduces the break-even point because less
contribution margin is needed to cover the new, lower fixed costs. Operating
income goes up, and the margin of safety also goes up.
Problem 4–30
$5,760,000
6. = 2.09 (operating leverage)
$2,760,000
20% × 2.09 = 41.8% (profit increase)
Problem 4–31
1. Sales mix:
Squares: $300,000 = 10,000 units
$30
$100,000
* = $10
10,000
$500,000
= $10
50,000
2. New mix:
Variable Contribution Sales Total
Product Price – Cost = Margin × Mix = CM
Squares $30 $10 $20 3 $ 60
Circles 50 10 40 5 200
Package $260
Break-even packages = $1,628,000 = 6,262 packages
$260
Break-even squares = 6,262 × 3 = 18,786
Break-even circles = 6,262 × 5 = 31,310
Kenno would gain $55,000 by increasing advertising for the squares. This is
a good strategy.
Problem 4–32
1. Break-even point in units = Fixed costs / Unit contribution margin per
unit
Contribution margin per unit = $0.90 - $0.63 = $0.27
Break-even = $210,600 / $0.27 = 780,000 bottles
Margin of safety = Sales volume – Break-even volume
830,000 bottles – 780,000 bottles = 50,000 bottles
Problem 4–33
$302,616
1. Contribution margin ratio = = 0.54, or 54%
$560,400
$332,878
Contribution margin ratio = = 0.54
$616,440
$285,804
New contribution margin ratio = = 0.51
$560,400
Problem 4–34
Fixed cost
1. Revenue =
(1 - Variable rate)
$150,000
=
(1/3)
= $450,000
= $150,000
$16.67
= 8,998 packages
Contribution margin
3. Operating leverage =
Operating income
$200,000
=
$50,000
= 4.0
2. Contribution margin:
($3 × 20,000) + ($3 × 40,000) $180,000
Less: Fixed costs 146,000
Operating income $ 34,000
Fixed costs
1. Break-even in units =
Contribution margin per unit
$604,800
Contribution margin per unit = = $16.80
36,000
$504,000
Break-even in units= = 30,000 units
$16.80
Fixed costs
Break-even in dollars =
CM%
$604,800
CM = = 40%
$1,512,000
$504,000
Break-even in dollars = = $1,260,000
.4
$1,260,000
Proof: = 30,000 units
$42
Revenue $1,512,000
Variable costs (45%) 680,400
Contribution margin 831,600
Fixed costs 754,000
Operating income $ 77,600
Fixed costs
Break-even in units =
CM/unit
$831,600
CM per unit = = $23.10
36,000
$754,000
Break-even in units = = 32,641 units *
$23.10
$754,000
Break-even in dollars = = $1,370,909 *rounded up
.55
Revenue $180,000
Variable costs
Direct 66,000
Indirect 17,500
Contribution margin 96,500
Fixed costs
Direct 88,000
Indirect 110,000
Operating income/(Loss) (101,500)
Income tax (27.5%) 0
Net loss $(101,500)
Fixed costs
1. Break-even revenue =
Contribution margin ratio
Contribution margin
Contribution margin ratio =
Revenue
$96,500
= 53.61%
$180,000
($88,000 + $110,000)
= $369,334 *rounded
0.5361
3. At $350 per hour, it would appear that this target is not reasonable. Based
on a 40-hour week and 50 working weeks of the year, there are 2,000
hours in a normal work year. Kissick would have to bill 2,158 hours per
year to achieve his objective. If he raised his rate to $380, his goal would
be realized.
$44,800
5. Break-even in units = = 22,400 boxes
($6.20 - $4.20)
New operating income = $6.20(31,500) – $4.20(31,500) – $44,800
= $195,300 – $132,300 – $44,800 = $18,200
Yes, because operating income will increase by $14,000 ($18,200 – $4,200).
Problem 4–40
$100,000
1. Company A: =2
$50,000
$300,000
Company B: =6
$50,000
X = $50,000 X = $250,000
0.2 0.6
X = $250,000 X = $416,667
Company B must sell much more than Company A to break even because it
must cover $200,000 more in fixed costs (it is more highly leveraged).
Problem 4-41
Variable
Target units are calculated by taking the fixed costs plus the target pre-tax profit
divided by the contribution margin per package and then calculating the number
of each unit in a package.
Revenue $7,940,000
Less: Variable costs 5,558,000
Contribution $2,382,000
$2,429,200
Revised break-even in revenues: = $10,561,739
.23
$2,429,200
Revised packages to break even: = 133 packages (rounded)
$18,262
2. Revised sales revenue = ($500 x 900) + ($1,800 x 400) + ( $9,200 x 500) + ($36,000
x 200) = $12,970,000
Revised contribution
$23,910
May of current year = = 0.549, or 54.9%
$43,560
$23,400
May of prior year = = 0.561, or 56.1%
$41,700
4. Clearly, the sharp rise in fixed costs from the prior year to the current year has
had a large impact on the break-even point and the margin of safety. Bissonette
will need to ensure that tight cost control is exercised since the margin of safety
is much slimmer. Still, the decision to go with the OEM investment program
could pay large dividends in the future. Note that the margin of safety and break-
even point give the company important information on the potential risk of the
venture but do not tell it the upside potential.
2. $440,000 / $1.60
= 275,000 boxes
4. CM = $4 - $2.70 = $1.30
CM ratio = $1.30 / $4 = 32.5%
Desired operating income = $110,400 / .6 = $184,000
* © CPA Ontario.
Case 4–45
1. Let X be a package of 3 Grade I cabinets and 7 Grade II cabinets.
0.3X($3,400) + 0.7X($1,600) = $1,600,000
X = 748 packages
Grade I: 0.3 × 748 = 224 units
Grade II: 0.7 × 748 = 524 units
$225,000
= 56 packages
$4,046
Grade I: 3 × 56 = 168 units
Grade II: 7 × 56 = 392 units
Grade I: 3 × 54 = 162
Grade II: 7 × 54 = 378
If the new break-even point is the revised break-even point for the current year,
therefore total fixed costs must be reduced by the contribution margin already
earned (through the first five months) to obtain the units that must be sold for
the last seven months. These units would then be added to those sold during
the first five months:
Contribution margin earned = $600,000 – (83* × $2,686) – (195* × $1,328)
= $118,102
*224 – 141 = 83; 524 – 329 = 195
X = ($225,000 + $44,000 - $118,102) = 27 packages
$5,612
From the first five months, 28 packages were sold (83/3 or 195/7). Thus, the
revised break-even point is 55 packages (27 + 28)—in units, 165 of I and 385 of
II.
Effect on profits:
Change in contribution margin:
$714(260 – 141) – $272(329 – 260) $66,198
Increase in fixed costs:
$70,000(7/12) 40,833
Increase in operating income $25,365
Fixed cost
X =
(Price - Variable cost)
= $295,000
$986
= 299 packages (or 299 of each cabinet)
The break-even point is computed as follows:
X = ($ 2 9 5 ,0 0 0 - $ 1 1 8 ,1 0 2 )
$986
= $176,898
$986
= 179 packages (179 of each)
To this, add the units already sold, yielding the revised break-even point:
I: 83 + 179 = 262
II: 195 + 179 = 374
Jackets
Revenue to achieve target = profit fixed costs plus pre-tax target / Contribution
margin %
Units: 73,205 t-shirts (14,641 x 5); 43,923 sweatshirts (14,641 x 3); 29,282 fleece
jackets (14,641 x 2)
Case 4–47
Fixed expense
1. Break-even point =
(Price - Variable cost)
$100,000
First process: = 5,000 cases
($30 - $10)
$200,000
Second process: = 8,333 cases
($30 - $6)
The manual process is more profitable if sales are less than 25,000 cases; the
automated process is more profitable at a level greater than 25,000 cases. It is
important for the manager to have a sales forecast to help in deciding which
process should be chosen.
3. The right to decide which process should be chosen belongs to the divisional
manager. Donna has an ethical obligation to report the correct information to
her superior. By altering the sales forecast, Donna would unfairly and
unethically influence the decision-making process. Managers certainly have a
moral obligation to assess the impact of their decisions on employees, and
every effort should be taken to be fair and honest with employees. Donna’s
behaviour, however, is not justified by the fact that it would help a number of
employees retain their employment. First, Donna has no right to make that
decision. Donna certainly has the right to voice her concerns about the impact
of automation on the employees’ well-being. In so doing, perhaps the divisional
manager would come to the same conclusion, even though the automated
system appears to be more profitable. Second, the choice to select the manual
system may not be the best for the employees anyway. The divisional manager
may possess more information, making the selection of the automated system
the best alternative for all concerned, provided the sales volume justifies its
selection. For example, if the automated system is viable, the divisional
manager may have plans to retrain and relocate the displaced workers in better
jobs within the company. Third, her motivation for altering the forecast seems
more driven by her friendship with Hussan Khalil than any legitimate concerns
for the layoff of other employees. Donna should examine her reasoning
carefully to assess the real reasons for her behaviour. Perhaps in so doing, the
conflict of interest that underlies her decision will become apparent.