Вы находитесь на странице: 1из 18

Animal Tissue Extract

Bacon Beer

Capsules

Cholesterol

Cochineal E120

Ethanol(Ethyl Alcohol)

Gin

Ham

Jelly L-Cysteine monohydrochloride E920

Lard

We must consider it haram if no indication or label specifying it from a halal source (zabihah animal, fish) A side of pig meat (pork). It is an alcoholic beverage not permissible in islam whether in small quantities or large. Usually made from gelatine, however vegetarian alternatives are also available in pharmacies which are halal. A type of fat always of animal origin. If extracted from a dhabiha animal, it is halal. Colourant, made from crushed insects.Imparts deep red shade to fruit juices, gelatins, candies(e.g. red smarties), shampoos.Natural carmine dye used in food and cosmetics is unacceptable for Muslims because the dye is extracted from insects. Consumption of alcohol is forbidden in Islam whether it is in small quantities(e.g add flavour) or large (e.g. alcoholic beverage). A strong colorless alcoholic drink distilled from grain and flavored with juniper berries Meat cut from the thigh of the hind leg of a hog after curing by salting or smoking Usually contains gelatine though alternatives are available. Derived from proteins, including animal protein and hair. It is a flour treatment agent that can be extracted from duck and chicken feather. Fat from swine particulaly found in the

Pepsin

Rennet or Rennin

Rum

Shellac E904

abdominal cavity.Absolutely Haram for us. Pepsin a digestive enzyme of gastric juice normally present in human body.It is also obtained from the stomachs of hogs and calves and used as a digestive aid. The common source of animal-based rennet is the abomasum (fourth stomach) of slaughtered, milk-fed, newborn cow calves/goats/lamb etc and is thus haram. Rennet is commonly used in the making of cheese and junket. Recently however halal options are also available sourced from fig tree bark, nettles, thistles, mallow. Commercial so-called vegetable rennets usually contain rennet from the mold Mucor miehei.Thus, Unless stated otherwise, consider it haram. Rum is a distilled beverage made from sugarcane by-products such as molasses and sugarcane juice. Rum may also be used in a number of cooked dishes. It may be used as a flavoring agent in items such as rum balls or rum cakes. Rum is commonly used to macerate fruit used in fruitcakes and is also used in marinades for some Caribbean dishes. Shellac is a brittle or flaky secretion of the lac insect Coccus lacca.It is used as an outer fruit coating to prevent postharvest decay (e.g. apples); in dental technology it is used in the production of custom impression trays.

Tallow

Vanilla Extract

Wine

E120 Cochineal, Carminic acid, Carmines Colouring

E441 Gelatine Emulsifier, gelling agent, [animal origin]

Tallow is rendered beef or mutton fat, processed from suet.It is used in animal feed, to make soap, for cooking, as a bird food, and was once used for making candles.Tallow made from a zabiha animal is ofcourse halal. A flavouring extract made from the vanilla bean and used in candy, ice cream, and perfumes. To obtain Pure Vanilla Extract, cured Vanilla Beans are steeped in alcohol. According to law, Pure Vanilla Extract must be 35 percent alcohol by volume.Hence making it absolutely haram for consumption. Islam forbids the use of alcohol. Some Wine based drinks are Brandy, Calimocho, Mulled wine, Hipocras, Sangria, Spritzer. Colourant, made from crushed insects. This popular colorant is used to impart a deep red shade to fruit juices, gelatins, candies (e. g. red smarties), shampoos. When used as a food additive, the dye must be labelled on packaging labels. Sometimes carmine is labelled as E120. An unknown percentage of people have been found to have allergies to carmine. Natural carmine dye used in food and cosmetics is unacceptable for Muslims because the dye is extracted from insects. Produced from all species of animals. Unfortunately information on origin can only be obtained from the producer. Specific halal gelatin is made from cattle.

E542 Bone phosphate Anti-caking agent [animal origin]

E904 Shellac Glazing agent [animal origin]

E920 L-cysteine hydrochloride Improving agent [animal origin]

E921 L-cysteine hydrochloride monohydrate Improving agent [animal origin]

Produced from animal bones. Used as an anti-caking agent, emulsifier and source of phosphorous in food supplements. Main use, however, is in cosmetics (such as tooth paste). Found in dry products and cane sugar. Acceptable daily intake suggested by health authorities is upto 70 mg/kg bodyweight. Phosphates are normal essential salts for the body. In view of the need to avoid calcium deficiency, their use is limited, as they bind to calcium readily. Natural polymer derived from certain species of lice from India . It is used as a coating found in products like Confectionary, fruits. Acceptable daily intake is not determined. An essential amino acid, present in all protein (essential indicates that it is needed by the human body). Derived from proteins, including animal protein and hair. It is a bread enhancer and stabilises the structure of leavened bread. Acceptable daily intake is not determined. An essential amino acid, present in all protein (essential indicates that it is needed by the human body). Derived from proteins, including animal protein and hair. It is a bread enhancer and stabilises the structure of leavened bread. Acceptable daily intake is not determined. E921 can be obtained from animal sources, including pork making it haram for muslims.

Alanine

Aspartic Acid

Ethylene Oxide

A crystalline water-soluble nonessential amino acid. Any proteincontaining food such as meat, poultry, fish, eggs or dairy products is rich in alanine.Some plants also contain alanine.It is important to determine the source of alanine. DL & L Forms; As its name indicates, aspartic acid is the carboxylic acid analog of asparagine.Please consult the manufacturer for details.Until proven otherwise the ingrediant is mushbooh. The chemical compound ethylene oxide is an important industrial chemical used as an intermediate in the production of ethylene glycol and other chemicals, and as a sterilant for foodstuffs and medical

Phospholipids/Phosphatides

Sodium stearate

Uric Acid

Oxysterin

supplies. Phospholipids are a class of lipids formed from four components: fatty acids, a negatively-charged phosphate group, nitrogen containing alcohol and a backbone.One of these components may be haram. Sodium stearate is one of the main compounds in common soap.It is uncertain wether the chemical itself is halal or haram. Uric acid (or urate) is an organic compound of carbon, nitrogen, oxygen and hydrogen.Found in the urine of mammals and as a dry mass in birds and reptiles. Uric acid or urates have antioxidant properties An antioxidant, sequestrant food additive.Used for preventing oil from clouding.

Alpha Carotene (colouring) E160a Animal Fat

Artificial colour

Artificial Flavors

Aspic Savoury

Carotene itself is halal but Glycerince may be used as the carrier. If Halal carrier is used, it is Halal. Animal fats are fats obtained from animal sources, including:blubber, cod liver oil, lard (pork fat), tallow (beef fat), schmaltz(chicken fat).Lard is haram in any case.As for other sources of animal fat they must come from a zabihah animal.Fish oil is also halal. It Adds colour to the food product.In its dry powder or granular form it is halal.However liquid colours have vegetable oil or glycerin added.Glycerin of plant source is halal.Some natural food colours are as follows: Caramel coloring is found in Coca-Cola and other cola products. It is made from caramelized sugar. Annatto is a reddishorange dye made from the seed of a tropical tree. Chlorella is green, and derived from algae. Cochineal is a red dye derived from cochineal insects. Artificial Flavors are usually made from chemical and synthetic raw material. For Halal artificial flavor the synthetic raw material has to be Halal and solvent should not be alcohol.Artificial flavours made from haram raw material(e.g alcohol used as a solvent) is haram. savoury clear jelly prepared from a liquid stock made by simmering the bones of beef, veal, chicken, or fish. The aspic congeals when refrigerated by virtue of the natural gelatin that dissolves into the stock from the

Beta Carotene E160

Bile Salts

Biscuits

Bone

Breakfast cereals

Calcium stearoyl lactylate E482 Cheese

Chelate (Chelation)

tendons; commercial sheet or powdered gelatin is sometimes added to ensure a stiff set. Aspic is used to coat and glaze foods such as cold meats and fish.Doubt arises where the jelly is prepared from the stock obtained from non-zabihah animal. Provitamin A; Halal status depends on the carrier. Pork gelatin may be used as a carrier, in which case it becomes haram. Bile is the yellowish brown or green liquid secreted by the liver. Food industry uses bile salts whenever there is fat to be emulsified so that it can be easily digested and hydrolysed. Since the origin of bile salts is animal, one must, therefore, find out the type of animal used. If the source is pork, then, definitely, it becomes Haram. Quite likely to contain animal fats unless stated otherwise (i.e. indicating suitable for vegetarians). Used in bone china and cutlery handles. Depends if it's from a specified Halal animal source, haram otherwise. Can contain haram ingredients unless stated otherwise (i.e. sign indicating suitable for vegetarians). Similar to E481 but with calcium as the added mineral instead of sodium. Likely to have been produced using animal rennet. Halal if vegetarian rennet is used (either microbial or synthetic). When buying please look for a sign indicating suitable for vegetarians. A complex chemical compound formed through the process of chelation. Its

Chewing gum

Chips

Chocolate

Crisps

Di or monoglyceride E471

Edible Fats

source could either be of plants or animals. Five basic ingredients: gum base, sugar or another sweetener, corn syrup, softener, and flavorings. Sugar sweetens the gum, corn syrup makes it fresh and flexible, and vegetable oil keeps the ingredients blended by retaining moisture. Often contains glycerine. Wrigleys use a vegetable glycerine. Depending upon the flavours added(e.g. beef tallow is haram) and the oil (e.g. vegetable oil is halal, animal fat is haram) used in frying. Whey and emulsifiers in chocolates affect their credibility as halal.Please read the chocolate wrapper for ingredients and watch out for Whey and certain emulsifiers as they are haram. Often use whey as a flavour carrier, ready salted are the only clearly vegetarian flavour, though some beef crisps are flavoured with yeast extract and are therefore suitable.Always read the packaging to confirm the presence of halal ingredients. It is an Emulsifier which can be of vegetable or animal origin. There are two ways of finding out : either the wrapper says "suitable for vegetarians" or you have to ask the manufacturer (this has been done for the manufacturers listed above). If of animal origin it should be suspected till the source is known(whether zabiha animal or not). Can mean both vegetable or animal fats.Check the packaging for the source

Emulsifiers

Enzyme

Enzyme treated starches Fatty Acids

Folic Acid

Gelatine, Gelatin, Jello Gelatine E441

of fat. Food additive used to keep oils dispersed and in suspension, in products such as mayonnaise and peanut butter. Egg yolk is a naturally occurring emulsifier, but most of the emulsifiers in commercial use today are synthetic chemicals which May not be vegetarian. A protein substance produced in living cells, that influences a chemical reaction within a plant or animal without being changed itself; an organic catalyst. Enzymes help break down food so that it can be digested.Some enzymes are halal while others are haram. thickener, vegetable gum, the enzyme with which it is treated is in question. May be of animal(lard) or vegetable origin(coconut oil, olive oil, palm oil, sunflower oil etc). Folic acid in flour enrichment is from vegetable or chemical synthetic source and the whole enrichment for flour is kosher certified and halal. But folic acid and other vitamins in vitamin supplements or other vitamin fortified foods may not use the vegetable source all the time. A product obtained (by boiling in water) from the partial hydrolysis of collagen derived from cartilage, bones, tendons and skin in animals. Vegetable gelatine is similar to animal gelatine in its function and is obtained from gluten of wheat or other cereals. Fish gelatine also exists. Concerned Muslims should find out the source of gelatine used. Alternatives such as Agar Agar,

Glycerol monostearate

Glycine

Gravy Vegetarian

Histamine

Ice Cream

Carrageen and Gelozone exist. Used as emulsifying agents in many products, such as baked goods, whipped cream, and ice cream.It maybe halal or haram depending upon its source. Sweetener, flavour enhancer, Dietary supplement, rancidity retardant. Source may be derived from, or contain ingredients of, animal origin Gravy mixes available in supermarkets.Read the packaging carefully for presence of any non-veg ingrediant.Incase of ordering in a restaurant lookout for a sign indicating suitable for vegetarians or ask the manager. There are many foods that contain histamine or cause the body to release histamine when ingested.These food maybe halal or haram, veg or non-veg. Some food containing histamine are Anchovies, Avocados, Beer, Canned Foods, Cheeses, Cidars, Eggplant, Fermented Beverages, Fermented Foods, Fish, Herring, Jams and Preserves, Mackerel, Meats, Processed Meats, Salami, Sardines, Sauerkraut, Sausage, Some Oriental Foods, SourCream, Spinach, Tomatoes, Tuna, Vegetables, Vinegars, Wines, Yeast extract, Yogurt. Also prepared synthetically. Different brands and flavours have different ingredients.Read carefully for non dairy fats and haram E numbers. L-Cysteine was available from hydrolisis of molecules in human

L-Cysteine E910

Lactic Acid E270

hair.Other sources included pig bristles and feathers which are clearly haram until 2001 when a German company introduced a production route via fermentation (non-human, non-animal origin) which is halal. A bitter-tasting acid that forms when certain bacteria combine with lactose (milk sugar). Lactic acid is used to impart a tart flavor, as well as in the preservation of some foods. It occurs naturally in the souring of milk and can be found in foods such as cheese and yogurt. It's also used in the production of acid-fermented foods such as pickles and sauerkraut. Muslims should be aware that as it is a naturally occurring animal product, it could conceivably be of animal origin. Halal if it is from soy fat or egg yolk; haram if it is from animal fat.In bread and bakery products it increases volume and also acts as an anti-staling agent.Only the producer can provide details of origin. It is a flavour enchancer, an enzyme produced by the liver, pancreas, or stomach, or by plant seeds, that breaks down fats. Lipase derived from pigs or cattle are Haram. Lipase from cattle slaughtered according to Islamic requirements or lipase produced by micro-organisms is Halal. Bacterial lipase is also Halal. Lipids are essential fatty acids found in fish, plant and animals. If source is animal it is haram unless the cattle is

Lecithin E322

Lipases E1104

Lipids

Magnesium stearate

Margarines

Marshmallow

slaughtered according to Islamic requirements.Fish and plant sources are halal. It is an emulsifier, lubricant, binder, anti-caking agent.A common ingrediant in baby powders. When used as a filling agent in the manufacture of capsules and tablets, such as vitamins, the source of this ingredient is typically beef. However, there is an increasing number of vegetarian options in which the product specifically indicates it contains magnesium stearate from vegetable sources. A fatty solid butter substitute consisting of a blend of hydrogenated vegetable oils mixed with emulsifiers, vitamins, coloring matter, and other ingredients. Depending upon the various brands available in the market these ingredients can be animal fats, fish oils, vitamin D3, E numbers, whey and gelatine. The marshmallow is a confection that, in its modern form, consists of sugar or corn syrup, beaten egg whites, gelatin that has been pre-softened in water, gum arabic, and flavorings, whipped to a spongy consistency.In muslim countries halal gelatin is used but one must be careful in non-muslim countries where even pork gelatin may be used. These Flavorings may be from an animal sourse or plant source. Fatty acids occurring widely in animal fats and vegetable oils. The best source in plants is olive oil whereas in animals

Natural Flavoring (or Flavors)

Oleic Acid

Pasta

Pastry

Phenyl Alanine

Quinoline yellow E104 Shortening

it is lard. All macaroni products that fall under the FDA's standard of identity are considered halal. Pasta products made with flavors or macaroni products used in dinners are not considered halal unless the flavors in pasta or other products in the dinner meet halal requirements. Pastry is the name given to various kinds of dough made from ingredients such as flour, butter, shortening, baking powder and/or eggs.One must make sure the source of butter and shortening is vegetable or incase of animal halal. Phenylalanine is an essential amino acid contained in most protein rich foods, but especially good sources are dairy products (curd, milk, cottage cheese), avocados, pulses and legumes (particularly peanuts and lima beans), nuts (pistachios, almonds), seeds (piyal seeds), leafy vegetables, whole grains, poultry, fish and other seafoods. Quinoline Yellow is a yellow/lime green dye.It is halal in its 100% dry form.In liquid form the solvent must be halal. Shortening is a semisolid fat used in food preparation, especially baked goods.Both animal and vegetable shortenings are available.The term "shortening" can be used more broadly to apply to any fat, such as butter, lard, or margarine, used in baking, but as used in recipes it refers to a hydrogenated vegetable oil that is solid at room temperature hence one must confirm the source before eating.

Soap

Soap is a surfactant used in conjunction with water for washing and cleaning. Soap is derived from either oils or fats. Sodium tallowate, a common ingredient in many soaps, is in fact derived from rendered beef fat which makes it haram.However, Soap can also be made of vegetable oils, such as olive oil.Vegetable oil based soaps are widely available in market. Sorbitan monostearate is an ester of sorbitan and stearic acid and is sometimes referred to as a synthetic wax. It is primarily used for emulsifying water and oils together. Sorbitan monostearate is used in manufacture of food and healthcare products, and is a nonionic surfactant with emulsifying, dispersing, and wetting properties.It's important to determine its source which could be both animal or vegetable. Commercial sour cream, is made out of heavy cream, and gets its characteristic tang from the lactic acid created by the bacteria. Sour cream often contains additional ingredients such as gelatin, rennin, and vegetable enzymes.One must make sure that the additional ingredient is halal or from a vegetable source. A salt or ester of stearic acid.It usually comes in the form of _calcium stearate_, and it is found in hard candies like Gobstoppers and Sweetarts as well as other places.Stearic acid present in it maybe derived from tallow, or animal fat hence making it haram to consume

Sorbitan monostearate E491

Sour Cream Solids

Stearates

Stearic Acid E570

Suet

unless the animal is zabihah. Stearate is also used in vinyls (like car seats) and plastics. Stearic acid is prepared by treating animal fat with water at a high pressure and temperature, leading to the hydrolysis of triglycerides. It can also be obtained from the hydrogenation of some unsaturated vegetable oils. Common stearic acid is actually a mix of stearic acid and palmitic acid, although purified stearic acid is available separately.Depending on the source of this acid it maybe halal or haram.Stearic acid is useful as an ingredient in making candles, soaps, plastics, oil pastel, cosmetics and for softening rubber. Stearic acid is used to harden soaps, particularly those made with vegetable oil, that otherwise tend to be very soft. Suet is raw beef or mutton fat, especially the hard fat found around the loins and kidneys. The type sold in supermarkets is dehydrated suet.Vegetarian suet is readily available in supermarkets in the United Kingdom. It is made from fat such as palm oil combined with rice flour. It resembles shredded beef suet, and is used as a substitute in recipes.Vegetarian suet is halal to eat.Whereas, beef suet must be from a zabiha animal. Usually made from animal fat, vegetable versions are available. Tofu, also called bean curd (literal translation), is a food of Chinese origin,

Tofu

Toothpaste

Torula Yeast

Vitamin A, D, E, K

made by coagulating soy milk, and then pressing the resulting curds into blocks.Tofu in its simplest form is halal.However a wide variety of processed tofu is available in the market.Some haram ingrediants maybe used in processing which makes the tofu itself haram to consume(e.g. frying in lard, fermenting in alcohol). In a toothpaste Ingredients such as baking soda, enzymes, vitamins, herbs, calcium, mouthwash, are often combined into base mixes and marketed as being beneficial.Calcium used in toothpaste can be derived from animal bones or from lime.Similiarly the enzymes may also be from an animal source.Confirm from the packaging or the manufacturer that its suitable for vegetarians. Torula, in its inactive form, is widely used as a flavouring in processed foods and pet foods. It is produced from wood sugars, as a by-product of paper production.It is halal if grown on sugar cane or halal sulfite waste but Haram if grown on liquor. Animal gelatin is required to microencapsulate Fat soluble Vitamins (A, D, E, K). This gelatin maybe from Pork and Bovine sources making the vitamins haram. MaltoDextrins, Food Starch, and Acacia gum based raw materials are halal replacements for microencapsulation.When buying the vitamins please make sure it indicates suitable for vegetarians'.Incase there is present E471 please confirm it is from

Whey and Whey Powder

Yeast

a vegetable source. Whey or milk plasma is the liquid remaining after milk has been curdled and strained; it is a by-product of the manufacture of cheese or casein. It is used as an additive in many processed foods, including breads, crackers and commercial pastry. The most commonly used milk curdling agent is the animalderived rennet which may not be from a halal source.Vegetable-source rennet or lemon juice, citric acids or sulfuric acid to separate milk into curds and whey is also available in the market hence one must confirm before purchasing. Many types of yeasts are used for making many foods: Baker's yeast in bread production, brewer's yeast in beer fermentation, yeast in wine fermentation and for xylitol production. Baker's yeast is Halal while the yeast in wine and beer fermentation are haram.

Похожие интересы