Вы находитесь на странице: 1из 4

Padanadhamsa Dasa

A Phalitha Dasa

By Mahamahopadhyaya Iranganti Rangacharya, India

Copy Editor: Shanmukha

The relevant Jaimini Sutra is

1 --
tatrpi padea dasnte padanavaday pit dinea trikoe v 2-1-29

Iranganti Rangacharya is one of the

oldest authorities on Jaimini alive today, born in 1927, he started astrology at the age of 25 in 1952. Later in 1960 he started meticulous study of Jaimini astrology & thus has 48 rich years of experience in Jaimini at this age of 81. Author of numerous articles since 4 decades, 9 books & an extremely humble soul who in spite of weak health contributes to the cause of Jaimini. His work Jaimini Sutramritam published by Sagar Publications, New Delhi is considered a classic by the serious student of Jaimini Astrology.

But this is named as Padanadhamsa Dasa in Phalaratnamala of Krishna Mishra. Though Padanadhamsa Dasa was mentioned as an ayurdasa in Phalaratnamala, it was used as a phalita dasa also by some scholars of the past. The relevant karika is as follows:

padeastha restu da ney vicakanai care cardi mrgea a adika sthire svpatya bhgyato yugme var naddaodita

Padanadhamsa dasa should be reckoned in the Jaimini Navamsa2 chart.

Jaimini Sutramritam 2-1-29 Copy Editors Note: Readers can refer to Jaimini Sutramritam, M/s Sagar Publications for construction of Jaimini Navamsa Chart.

Step 1: Step 2: Step 3: Step 4:

Find out the Arudha Lagna in the Rasi chart. Find out the sign in the Navamsa chart occupied by the lord of the Arudha Lagna. Padanadhamsa dasa should begin from the sign obtained in the step 2 above. a. If the sign is cardinal and odd, the dasa-signs run regularly, if even, the dasasigns run reversely. b. If the sign is fixed and odd, the dasa- signs run directly in the order of every 6th sign, if it is fixed and even, the dasa- signs run reversely in the order of every 6th sign. c. If the sign is dual and odd, the dasa- signs run directly in the order of 1, 5, 9 signs. If dual and even, the dasa- signs run reversely in the order of 1, 5, 9 signs.

Calculation of Dasa Years:

1. Count the number from the dasa-sign to the lord of the dasa-sign directly if the dasasign is an odd sign. This number is the number of the years of the dasa-sign Count the number from the dasa-sign to the lord of the dasa-sign reversely if the dasa-sign is even. This number is the number of years of the dasa-sign 2. If the dasa-sign is occupied by its lord it gets 12 years 3. If the lord of the dasa-sign occupies its 7th sign, the dasa-sign gets 10years For clear understanding of the Padanadhamsa dasa, the horoscopic chart of Indira Gandhi is illustrated below. D.O.B=19-11-1917, at 11-12PM IST, Allahabad, India. Jaimini Navamsa of Mrs. Indira Gandhi:

Ascendant =Cancer 27d.6mt Sun=7s.4d.8m, Moon =9s.5d.37m, Mars=4s.16d.23m, Mercury=9s.5d.37m, Jupiter=1s.15d.21m, Venus=8s.21m, Saturn=3s.21d.47m.Rahu=8s.10d.33m. Atma karaka Dara karaka = = Saturn. Sun.

Padanadhamsa Dasa in the chart of Indira Gandhi Arudha lagna is Aries the 10th of the ascendant (Cancer) because the Moon, the lord of the Ascendant Cancer is placed in Capricorn, the 7th of the Ascendant Cancer. The lord of the arudha lagna( Aries) is Mars placed in Leo in the Jaimini navamsa chart. Hence the Padanadhamsa dasa begins from Leo. Since Leo is a fixed and odd sign the dasa-signs are Leo, Capricorn, Gemini, Scorpio, Aries, Virgo, Aquarius, Cancer, Sagittarius, Taurus, Libra, Pisces in the order of every 6th directly in the Jaimini navamsa chart as given below.
Sl. No 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Dasa Sign Leo Capricorn Gemini Scorpio Aries Virgo Aquarius Cancer Sagittarius Taurus Libra Pisces Years 11 Years 12 Years 11 Years 10 Years 5 Years 6 Years 12 Years 8 Years 10 Years 8 Years 12 Years 10 Years Duration 1917 - 1928 1928 - 1940 1940 - 1951 1951 - 1961 1961 - 1966 1966 - 1972 1972 - 1984 1984 - 1992 1992 - 2002 2002 - 2010 2010 - 2022 2022 - 2032

Marriage happened on 26-3-1942 i.e. in Gemini-Libra (19-11-1941to19-10-1942). Gemini is occupied by the Dara karaka, Sun and its 7th is occupied by the Moon. Also the bahya (bhoga) of Gemini is Aries, the 7th of which is Libra occupied by Venus. She became a cabinet minister on 9-6-1964 and Prime Minister on 26-1-1966 in the Aries Dasa of 5years. Aries is occupied by Mercury and its 5th house is occupied by its own lord, Mars (Sutra: leyanmeshadhipaha) and the 9th house is occupied by the Moon and 10th house by Saturn in own house. The bahya sign of Aries is Sagittarius. This is occupied by the Moon, its 2nd is occupied by Saturn in own house, the 5th house is occupied by Mercury, the 11th is occupied by Venus, and the 10th is occupied by Jupiter. Note: Aries dasa begins from 19-1-1961 and ends on 19-11-1966, since the dasa-years of Aries are 5years.
Aries Dasa Aries-Aries = 19-11-1961 -5--------------19-4-1962 -5-------------










19-9-1962 -5--------------19-2-1963 -5-------------19-7-1963-5-------------19-12-1963 -5--------------19-5- 1964 -5--------------19-10-1964 -5---------------19-3-1965 -5---------------19-8-1965 -5---------------19-1-1966 ----------------

Indira Gandhi became Cabinet Minister on 9-6-1964 in Aries-Libra and Prime Minister on 26-1-1966 in Aries-Aquarius. (in the bahya sign, Sagittarius). The meaning implied in Padanadhamsa is as follows: Pada means parama pada, nadha means the lord who is Lord Vishnu, amsa means part referring to Goddess Lakshmi, the inseparable amsa (apridhak sambandha). Hence it is quite apt to make use of this phalitha dasa in female nativities preferably. See below the dwara3 & bahya dasa-signs used above in the Aries Dasa of 5 years.
S.No. 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Dwara Aries Taurus Gemini Cancer Leo Virgo Libra Scorpio Sagittarius Capricorn Aquarius Pisces Bahya Aries (1) Gemini (3) Leo (5) Libra (7) Sagittarius (9) Aquarius (11) Aries (1) Gemini (3) Leo (5) Libra (7) Sagittarius (9) Aquarius (11)

Copy Editors Note: Readers are requested to refer the Dwara Bahya Article published elsewhere in this magazine.