Вы находитесь на странице: 1из 4

Present Status of Kyoto Protocol

The Protocol to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) was adopted at the third session of the Conference of the Parties (COP 3) in Kyoto, Japan, on 11 December 1997. In accordance with Article 24, it was open for signature from 16 March 1998 to 15 March 1999 at United Nations Headquarters, New York. By that date the Protocol had signatures. Pursuant to Article 22, the Protocol is subject to ratification, acceptance, approval or accession by Parties to the UNFCCC. Parties to the time. The Protocol entered into force on 16 February 2005 in accordance with Article 23, that is the ninetieth day after the date on which not less than 55 Parties to the UNFCCC, incorporating Parties included in Annex I which accounted in total for at least 55 % of the total carbon dioxide emissions for 1990 of the Parties included in Annex I, have deposited their instruments of ratification accession. Currently, there are 192 Parties (191 States and 1 regional economic integration organization) to the Kyoto Protocol to the UNFCCC.

Important notes on present status of Kyoto Protocol

For the purpose of entry into force of the [Convention/Protocol], any instrument of ratification, acceptance, approval or accession deposited by a regional economic integration organization shall not be counted as additional to those deposited by member States of that Organization. In a communication received on 30 August 2002, the Government of the Peoples Republic of China informed the Secretary-General. With a territorial exclusion to the Faroe Islands. For the Kingdom in Europe.

With the following declaration: ".....consistent with the constitutional status of Tokelau and taking into account the commitment of the Government of New Zealand to the development of selfgovernment for Tokelau through an act of self-determination under the Charter of the United Nations, this ratification shall not extend to Tokelau unless and until a Declaration to this effect is lodged by the Government of New Zealand with the Depositary on the basis of appropriate consultation with that territory. By a communication received on 27 March 2007, the Government of Argentina notified the Secretary-General. On 4 April 2006, the Government of the United Kingdom informed the Secretary-General that the Protocol shall apply to the Bailiwick of Guernsey and the Isle of Man. On 2 January 2007: in respect of Gibraltar. On 7 March 2007: in respect of Bermuda, Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands (Malvinas) and the Bailiwick of Jersey.

Present Status of Stockholm Convention on Persistent Organic Pollutant

Decision SC-3/6 among other things: Took note of the Toolkit Expert Roster Adopted the process for the ongoing review and updating of the Toolkit (annex to decision SC-3/6) Requested the Secretariat to implement the process and report on progress to COP-4 Adequate emphasis be placed on the key sources for which limited monitoring data is available, including sources of hexachlorobenzene and polychlorinated biphenyls, and to support developing countries in their efforts to further verify