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Slide 9.

Chapter 9
Marketing communications
using digital media channels

Chaffey and Ellis-Chadwick, Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 6e © Pearson Education Limited 2016
Slide 9.2

Learning objectives

• Distinguish between the different types of digital


media channels
• Evaluate the advantages and disadvantages of
each digital media channel for marketing
communications
• Assess the suitability of different types of digital
media for different purposes.

Chaffey and Ellis-Chadwick, Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 6e © Pearson Education Limited 2016
Slide 9.3

Questions for marketers

• Which digital communications media should we


select for different types of market?
• What are the success factors for using digital media
that will make our campaigns more effective?

Chaffey and Ellis-Chadwick, Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 6e © Pearson Education Limited 2016
Slide 9.4

Figure 9.1 Average percentage of traffic from different sources referred to a website
Source: Smart Insights (2011a)

Chaffey and Ellis-Chadwick, Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 6e © Pearson Education Limited 2016
Slide 9.5

Percentage who consider different information sources as important


Figure 9.2
when researching or purchasing a product or service
Source: Nielsen (2013)

Chaffey and Ellis-Chadwick, Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 6e © Pearson Education Limited 2016
Slide 9.6

Search engine results pages in Google (www.google.co.uk) illustrating


Figure 9.4
the natural and paid listings
Source: Reprinted by permission of Google, Inc. Google™ search engine is a trademark of Google, Inc.

Chaffey and Ellis-Chadwick, Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 6e © Pearson Education Limited 2016
Slide 9.7

Figure 9.5 Click-through rates depending on position in the natural search results
Source: Optify (2011)

Chaffey and Ellis-Chadwick, Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 6e © Pearson Education Limited 2016
Slide 9.8

Which SEO ranking factors should I focus on?

• On page optimisation:
– <title> tag = 4.9/5
– Keyword frequency and density = 3.7/5
– Keyword in headings = <h1> = 3.1, <h2> = 2.8
– Keyword in document name = 2.8
– Meta name description = 2/5
– Meta name keywords = 1/5
• Off-page optimisation:
– More backlinks (higher PageRank)= 4/5
– Link anchor text contains keyword = 4.4/5
– Page assessed as a hub = 3.5/5
– Page assessed as an authority = 3.5/5
– Link velocity (rate at which changes) = 3.5/5
– Social media signals (newer ranking signal).
See http: //www.seomoz.org/article/search-ranking-factors
Chaffey and Ellis-Chadwick, Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 6e © Pearson Education Limited 2016
Slide 9.9

Which factors affect returns from paid search?

• Distribution of daily budget

• Amount bid (Max CPC)

• Clickthrough rate

• Creative quality including creative testing

• Campaign structure

• Match types especially negative matches

• Use of content network

• Time-of-day (day parting)

• Landing page quality

• Click fraud!

• * In Google AdWords, Live Search and Yahoo! Quality Score


especially important. Chaffey and Ellis-Chadwick, Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 6e © Pearson Education Limited 2016
Slide 9.10

Online PR
• What it?
– ‘The management of reputation – the planned and
sustained effort to establish and maintain goodwill
and mutual understanding between an organisation
and its publics.’
The UK Institute of PR (IPR)
– ‘The managed process of communication between
one group and another … (it) is the method of
defining messages and communicating them to
target audiences in order to influence a desired
response.’
Public Relationships Consultants Association (PRCA)

Chaffey and Ellis-Chadwick, Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 6e © Pearson Education Limited 2016
Slide 9.11

The key areas of online PR

E-PR activities E-PR activities


o Inbound link-building g 2. o Surveys and polls
o Content creation t in gh E o Audience research:
c u & ng
o Blogs tt ra thro D ag o Social media inc
o Feeds (RSS) A h ia e user-generated content
o Press releases 1. itors arc lo m
gu en o Own blog
s se
o Influencing media vi e t o Influencing media owners
owners
Online
E-PR activities PR
E-PR activities
o Propagating 3 o Brand protection
‘big idea’ C . Bu s iv
e
o Monitoring
am il
o Web editorial d
Bu pa ing f en is and response:
e s
contacts
zz ign . D Cri o Social media
o Viral agents 4 / o Influencing media
o Seeding viral owners
o Press releases
o Influencing media
owners

Chaffey and Ellis-Chadwick, Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 6e © Pearson Education Limited 2016
Slide 9.12

Figure 9.3 Use of search engines for finding information related to product purchase
Source: Performics (2010)

Chaffey and Ellis-Chadwick, Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 6e © Pearson Education Limited 2016
Slide 9.13

Figure 9.6 Stages involved in producing a search engine listing for the natural
listings
Chaffey and Ellis-Chadwick, Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 6e © Pearson Education Limited 2016
Slide 9.14

Figure 9.9 AdWords campaign structures (a) Clothing retailer; (b) Restaurant chain

Chaffey and Ellis-Chadwick, Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 6e © Pearson Education Limited 2016
Slide 9.15

Figure 9.10 Gatorade social media command centre video

Chaffey and Ellis-Chadwick, Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 6e © Pearson Education Limited 2016
Slide 9.16

Smart Insights blog (www.smartinsights.com) showing content available


Figure 9.11
from within a category of ‘social media marketing’
Chaffey and Ellis-Chadwick, Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 6e © Pearson Education Limited 2016
Slide 9.17

The affiliate marketing model (note that the tracking software and fee
Figure 9.13
payment may be managed through an independent affiliate network manager)
Chaffey and Ellis-Chadwick, Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 6e © Pearson Education Limited 2016
Slide 9.18

Figure 9.14 Distribution of length of time against purchase


Source: Prussakov (2011b)

Chaffey and Ellis-Chadwick, Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 6e © Pearson Education Limited 2016
Slide 9.19

Figure 9.15 Ad buying ecosystem

Chaffey and Ellis-Chadwick, Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 6e © Pearson Education Limited 2016
Slide 9.20

Figure 9.16 Behavioural ad targeting process

Chaffey and Ellis-Chadwick, Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 6e © Pearson Education Limited 2016
Slide 9.21

Figure 9.17 Combination of touchpoints giving rise to sales


Source: ecircle (2011)

Chaffey and Ellis-Chadwick, Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 6e © Pearson Education Limited 2016
Slide 9.22

Sky spend by medium compared with market share of UK internet


Figure 9.18
searches, 5 June–6 March
Source: The Hitwise UK Media Impact Report, September 2006

Chaffey and Ellis-Chadwick, Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 6e © Pearson Education Limited 2016
Slide 9.23

Summary of the strengths and weaknesses of different communications


Table 9.4
tools for promoting an online presence
Chaffey and Ellis-Chadwick, Digital Marketing: Strategy, Implementation and Practice, 6e © Pearson Education Limited 2016